Schwalbe One V-Guard tyres  £44.99

9/10

Very fast, supple and durable tyres with great puncture protection

Weight 214g   Contact  www.schwalbe.co.uk

by David Arthur   May 23, 2014  

Schwalbe One V-Guard tyres

Germany company Schwalbe makes the bold claim that its brand new One tyres are the fastest they've ever manufactured. In testing it certainly lived up that heady claim. I found it a tyre that feels extremely rapid with good traction in a range of conditions and boasting impressive puncture protection and durability.

The new tyre is made with Schwalbe's new OneStar triple compound rubber, which they've developed solely to reduce rolling resistance. The development process involved some 50 prototypes before it was rolled out publicly for the first time at last year's Tour de France. They're now available to the public in a wide range of sizes, up to 28mm and in clincher, tubular and tubeless.

I tested the 23mm clincher version. Testing tyres, especially when it comes to assessing their speed and rolling resistance, isn't exactly easy. Away from the controlled envireoment of a lab, I did some simple coast down tests and compared the One against Michelin's Pro4 Service Course and Continental GP4000S II of the same width, on the same wheels in the same conditions and using the same section of road. Though basic this simple test did show the One to just edge ahead in speed.

In normal use, riding the tyres daily in training, the 167km Liege-Bastogne-Liege sportive and a road race, the tyres really impressed. It's the sensation of speed and lack of resistance that is most noticeable. In a range of conditions too they show incredible performance, from sun-baked to rain-sodden roads.

As well as impressing with their speed, the One tyres also demonstrate assured traction, whether the road surface is dry or wet. The tread compound shows good grip when cornering, especially high speed banking corners and steep narrow descents where you place a lot of faith in your tyres to do their job well.

The Schwalbe Ones have a supple feel too, and have noticeably more give in the carcass than other tyres at similar pressures. They're rated up to 145psi, but you'd be daft to inflate to such pressures if riding on most typical UK roads. A more modest 85-95psi, depending on conditions, proved the best pressure for my weight. This showed them to cope well with all manner of road surfaces, and despite the small 23mm volume, they provided good bump absorption on rougher roads.

They're light at 214g on the road.cc scales, and interestingly they are heavier than Schwalbe's own Ultremo ZX tyresThe gains in rolling resistance compared to those outweigh the slight weight penalty though. In reality you're not going to notice such a negligible weight difference.

Underneath the tread is a V-Guard break strip and, touch wood, I've not yet had one puncture in about 600km of riding. The tread shows little sign of abuse; there are no cuts or holes to speak of. Considering this is a racing tyre, designed for competition use, that they've coped with daily training in all weathers is impressive. The wear rate appears to be following a good trajectory so far.

The tyre is also available in 25 and 28mm widths, and Schwalbe do a tubeless version in each of those widths too. They also offer tubular version in 22, 24, 26 and 28mm widths. I've been so impressed with this 23mm non-tubeless tyre, and based on my positive experience of the Ultremo ZX Tubeless, that I look forward to testing the wider tubeless versions.

Verdict

Very fast, supple and durable tyres with great puncture protection

road.cc test report

Make and model: Schwalbe One V-Guard

Size tested: 23-622 folding

Tell us what the product is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

The new racing tyre is called Schwalbe One. The name alone indicates how significant this new tyre is for the bicycle tyre manufacturer based in the German town of Reichshof. It is produced by Schwalbe in a high-end factory set up exclusively for the manufacture of this new top-class tyre. The Schwalbe One will make its debut appearance at the Tour de France, where Teams RadioShack Leopard Trek, AG2R and FDJ will be equipped with it as they line up at the start.

With its Schwalbe One the company is underlining its major objectives in cycle racing. "Schwalbe One is the fastest and at the same time the most reliable competition tyre we have ever produced," emphasized Holger Jahn, Managing Director Technology at Schwalbe. From September it will be available as a folding tyre, tubular tyre and in a tubeless version.

Tell us some more about the technical aspects of the product?

Schwable's fastest and at the same time most reliable competition tyre

Manufactured in a separate facility built exclusively for the production of this new tyre

Schwalbe One has been used RadioShack Leopard Trek, AG2R and FDJ

Available in 700C x 23, 25, 28mm

Weighs: 225g

Evolution line

V-Guard puncture protection

OneStar triple tyre compound

Folding tyre

Max PSI ratings: 85 - 130

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
9/10

Solid construction.

Rate the product for performance:
 
10/10

Fantastic speed and performance, very low rolling resistance.

Rate the product for durability:
 
9/10

After some 600km they show no signs of cuts or holes.

Rate the product for weight, if applicable:
 
8/10

There are lighter tyres if weight is a big concern, but they're certainly not heavy.

Rate the product for comfort, if applicable:
 
8/10

For a 23mm tyre they offered a surprisingly high level of comfort.

Rate the product for value:
 
8/10

£45 is top-end money but this is a high performance race tyre and you get stonking performance for the money.

Tell us how the product performed overall when used for its designed purpose

A brilliant tyre for fast riding and racing.

Tell us what you particularly liked about the product

Speed, durability and comfort.

Tell us what you particularly disliked about the product

I can't think of anything.

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes.

Would you consider buying the product? Yes.

Would you recommend the product to a friend? Yes.

Overall rating: 9/10

About the tester

Age: 31  Height: 180  Weight: 67

I usually ride:   My best bike is:

I've been riding for: 10-20 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Expert

I regularly do the following types of riding: road racing, time trialling, cyclo cross, commuting, touring, mtb,

 

20 user comments

Oldest firstNewest firstBest rated

Are these a replacement for the Ultremo DD? I get the impression Schwalbe are phasing out the Ultremo range in favour of the Ones.

posted by pirnie [184 posts]
22nd May 2014 - 16:47

like this
Like (34)

Tubeless ONEs are great. 2500miles on 23c Tubeless and starting to wear, however IT IS A RACE TYRE. Probably shouldn't be used for training.

Unfortunately only problem - I can't seem get them in 25c as stock is low. Does anyone know where to get 25c tubeless from?

posted by janesy [5 posts]
23rd May 2014 - 8:45

like this
Like (24)

I have these. Descending Spanish mountains last week was like being on a motorbike. Brilliant.

posted by deblemund [89 posts]
23rd May 2014 - 10:31

like this
Like (29)

I've tried to buy Schwalbe tubeless tyres a few times, but they are never in stock. Even at the Excel show in London, Schwalbe had ONE pair. And what happened to the previous tubeless Schwalbe? Never seemed to be available to buy, then disappeared. I'll stick with Hutchinsons for now...

Ride your own ride

posted by CanAmSteve [126 posts]
23rd May 2014 - 11:30

like this
Like (27)

janesy wrote:
Tubeless ONEs are great. 2500miles on 23c Tubeless and starting to wear, however IT IS A RACE TYRE. Probably shouldn't be used for training.

Unfortunately only problem - I can't seem get them in 25c as stock is low. Does anyone know where to get 25c tubeless from?

Nothing at the moment from the usual suspects - closest i've seen is from Bike Discount who reckon they'll have some in at the end of June (currently listed at 35 euro, may be different when they have stock).

http://www.bike-discount.de/en/buy/one-evo-osc-tubeless-25-622-108025/wg...

fukawitribe's picture

posted by fukawitribe [376 posts]
23rd May 2014 - 11:59

like this
Like (24)

I used the 23mm clincher One's for about 2000KM. The feel is great, but I did experience quite fast wear on them; on the front tyre I had some big cuts in them without passing through glass or anything (as far as i know of course Wink. Besides this, they were still rounded enough and did have enough rubber left, but due to the cuts I switched. I am now on the Conti GP4000S2's. Regarding grip/speed I have the feeling the conti's are a bit more grippy but indeed have a little less speed. I do feel these are more durable, but we'll see that in the next 1500KM's Wink

posted by Kimtw [2 posts]
23rd May 2014 - 13:09

like this
Like (29)

CanAmSteve wrote:
I've tried to buy Schwalbe tubeless tyres a few times, but they are never in stock. Even at the Excel show in London, Schwalbe had ONE pair. And what happened to the previous tubeless Schwalbe? Never seemed to be available to buy, then disappeared. I'll stick with Hutchinsons for now...

The Bontrager R3s seem to be well liked (and they're not too pricey and are generally available). Not tried them but on my list, especially as they'd be going on Bontrager rims.

fukawitribe's picture

posted by fukawitribe [376 posts]
23rd May 2014 - 19:47

like this
Like (28)

I had a pair of these. Quite disappointed - toll ok and quite comfy but the front had a sidewall split at about 150 miles. The rear is still in use after about 1000 miles but a few cuts.

Prefer them to continental gp4000 or PRO 4

I think that the Ultremo feels as good.- so I'll save some cash in future.
Nick

posted by nickdodo [4 posts]
23rd May 2014 - 21:55

like this
Like (23)

I had a pair of these. Quite disappointed - roll ok and quite comfy but the front had a sidewall split at about 150 miles. The rear is still in use after about 1000 miles but a few cuts.

Prefer them to continental gp4000 or PRO 4.

I think that the Ultremo feels as good.- so I'll save some cash in future.
Nick

posted by nickdodo [4 posts]
23rd May 2014 - 21:57

like this
Like (28)

Interesting - i'll move them down the list a tad.

fukawitribe's picture

posted by fukawitribe [376 posts]
23rd May 2014 - 23:47

like this
Like (23)

nickdodo wrote:
I had a pair of these. Quite disappointed - roll ok and quite comfy but the front had a sidewall split at about 150 miles.
Nick

To be fair, that could happen to any tyre, these aren't any more susceptible to split sidewalls

David Arthur's picture

posted by David Arthur [1492 posts]
23rd May 2014 - 23:49

like this
Like (20)

Fair comment - probably just unlucky.
Nick

posted by nickdodo [4 posts]
24th May 2014 - 21:59

like this
Like (23)

never really got on with this brands of tyres but will have to have a go with them.

posted by markwill [20 posts]
26th May 2014 - 10:35

like this
Like (23)

fukawitribe wrote:
janesy wrote:
Tubeless ONEs are great. 2500miles on 23c Tubeless and starting to wear, however IT IS A RACE TYRE. Probably shouldn't be used for training.

Unfortunately only problem - I can't seem get them in 25c as stock is low. Does anyone know where to get 25c tubeless from?

Nothing at the moment from the usual suspects - closest i've seen is from Bike Discount who reckon they'll have some in at the end of June (currently listed at 35 euro, may be different when they have stock).

http://www.bike-discount.de/en/buy/one-evo-osc-tubeless-25-622-108025/wg_id-8922

Tubeless available from Bike24 in all sizes - 54,90 €

posted by southdownswolf [5 posts]
26th May 2014 - 13:23

like this
Like (29)

I've only just got around to fitting some Ultremo ZX tubeless, glad to hear there's a natural continuation of them in the one range and a good choice of sizes too. The zx tubeless are like being glued to the road, utterly fantastic.

G-bitch's picture

posted by G-bitch [302 posts]
28th May 2014 - 9:48

like this
Like (24)

fukawitribe - Nope. they have tubs though.

posted by janesy [5 posts]
28th May 2014 - 17:04

like this
Like (22)

I have Ultremo ZX's on my best bike and have always run at max psi of 145, i was led to believe this is best as they run faster and are surely less likely to get a puncture if they are full! I havent noticed and harshness in the ride quality anyway.

posted by timrichardson82 [11 posts]
23rd June 2014 - 6:20

like this
Like (21)

timrichardson82 wrote:
I have Ultremo ZX's on my best bike and have always run at max psi of 145, i was led to believe this is best as they run faster and are surely less likely to get a puncture if they are full!

Back in the day (70's in this case) I used to think the more air in, the faster i'd go. Needless to say, i've changed that stance ( thankfully). Current thinking and test results seems to suggest that unless you're running on the boards or very, very smooth tarmac then with clinchers at that sort of pressure you're almost certainly going to be slower (less important) and have less grip (arguably more important) than if you lowered it - perhaps significantly from 145psi. Construction will effect whatever the sweet spot is, so your 320 tpi, Durex walled open-tubs will probably take a higher pressure than your 60tpi, double PPS with concrete breaker strip commuter shells - but i'd definitely try lower for a bit... if you don't like it, you can always pump them up again after all.

One very real thing in the favour of high pressures is resistance to pinch flats, but then again roads with pot-holes tend not to be glass smooth inbetween them anyway - so might not be worth it.

timrichardson82 wrote:
I havent noticed and harshness in the ride quality anyway.

Fair enough - although if you've always run them high are you comparing them against some other tyres ? In the end it's your bike I guess, so entirely up to you how you want to enjoy it. Might be worth thinking about though. Have fun.

fukawitribe's picture

posted by fukawitribe [376 posts]
23rd June 2014 - 8:46

like this
Like (25)

Thanks for the advice I will certainly take it in to consideration and might just have an experiment with the pressures a little bit.

posted by timrichardson82 [11 posts]
24th June 2014 - 6:15

like this
Like (21)

Well, mostly because I didn't have time to put my tyres on my best wheels, I rode the RideLondon 100 on a set of these that have done a few hundred kms. You'll remember what the conditions were like. No punctures, and plenty of grip. I think that's pretty impressive.

posted by deblemund [89 posts]
12th August 2014 - 17:58

like this
Like (0)

road.cc reviews

Latest reviews

8/10
£24.99
August 30, 2014
9/10
£115.00
August 29, 2014
8/10
£50.00
August 29, 2014
7/10
£41.00
August 28, 2014
9/10
£44.99
August 28, 2014
6/10
£49.99
August 27, 2014
8/10
£1250.00
August 27, 2014
5/10
£54.99
August 26, 2014
7/10
£29.99
August 26, 2014
9/10
£155.00
August 25, 2014
8/10
£34.99
August 24, 2014
8/10
£2299.00
August 24, 2014
3/10
£124.99
August 23, 2014
8/10
£149.99
August 23, 2014
8/10
£20.99
August 22, 2014
8/10
£31.99
August 22, 2014
8/10
£100.00
August 21, 2014
9/10
£24.99
August 21, 2014
8/10
£14.99
August 20, 2014
9/10
£2999.00
August 20, 2014
6/10
£21.99
August 19, 2014
8/10
£329.99
August 18, 2014
7/10
£44.99
August 18, 2014
6/10
£7.99
August 17, 2014
8/10
£2899.00
August 17, 2014
9/10
£15.99
August 16, 2014
8/10
£117.00
August 16, 2014
7/10
£35.00
August 15, 2014
2/10
£9.99
August 15, 2014
8/10
£49.99
August 14, 2014
8/10
£180.00
August 13, 2014
 
1