Home
Verdict: 
Pants to be pampered in: luxury merino boxers that perform well, eat odour and leave a hole in your wallet
Weight: 
90g
Contact: 
www.rapha.cc
Rapha Merino Boxers
8 10

Rapha's Merino Boxers are pants that really pamper your parts.

Merino is one of those finer things in life, literally: the super fine fibres of merino wool are one of the properties that make it work so well for cycling and also make it feel very nice against your skin.

What better use for this luxurious fabric than having pants made from it; it's like having your goolies cupped by the soft hands of an angel. The fine wool is very absorbent and does wonders at wicking sweat from your nether regions and along with the flatlock stitching throughout helps reduce chaffing even when sodden. These aren't going to make you feel like your genitals are being dragged across an acrylic carpet when things get moist while you are frantically bashing your legs up and down on the pedals. Merino wool is like having climate control in your underwear, it keeps you warm but also does a good job of stopping the thermostat being turned up to 'tropical'.

 

These trunks are figure hugging and the material is very elastic. The polyester in the mix helps the material keep its shape better than 100% wool. They're not too tight against the skin, still allowing unrestricted movement but there's no jostling about in the barracks: everything is kept in its place.

Another great quality of merino is it's reluctance to pick up a pong. If you have got sweaty and these undercrackers have got damp they aren't going to smell like you have just lifted the blanket off a wet horse. If you are commuter who stays in the gear you rode in on all day, these are made for you. They do feel a little odd at first because they take your sweat away and spread it over the fabric initially making you feel damper than normal, but then it does its magic and starts wicking it away.

What better way of storing your prize cargo than to have them contained in a pair of merino pants? Of course, this amount of luxury comes at a cost, and at £35 it is double what you would pay for a pair of Calvin Klein boxers but they won't offer you the comfort and performance of Rapha's premier division underwear. If I could afford it, my top drawer would be stocked with these for every day of the week. Or you could by one pair and wash them before going to bed because they dry very quickly.

If your ride's a bit too long to go padless, Rapha also offers these with a thin pad, tri-suit style, for an extra tenner.

Verdict

Pants to be pampered in: luxury merino boxers that perform well, eat odour and leave a hole in your wallet.

road.cc test report

Make and model: Rapha Merino Boxers (no pad)

Size tested: Medium Black

Tell us what the product is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

Provide all-day comfort for city riders - they did this admirably.

Tell us some more about the technical aspects of the product?

Comfortable merino/polyester fabric

Flatlock stitching

Foldover fly

Distinctive styling

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
9/10
Rate the product for performance:
 
9/10

Great for sweaty people, I am a sweaty person and these work well.

Rate the product for durability:
 
8/10

They will outlast cotton pants.

Rate the product for weight, if applicable:
 
8/10

They aren't going to boil your spuds but are warmer than loose cotton boxer shorts.

Rate the product for comfort, if applicable:
 
10/10

If you like things tucked in rather than loose these are as comfortable as you can get without being fur lined.

Rate the product for value:
 
6/10

They are competitively priced for merino pants from equivalent brands but it is a lot of money to spend on pants.

Tell us how the product performed overall when used for its designed purpose

Very well.

Tell us what you particularly disliked about the product

At first they feel like they are more damp than normal pants then they get to work getting rid of any moisture. The price is high.

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes and I still am.

Would you consider buying the product? Definely, this is the beginning of my collection.

Would you recommend the product to a friend? Yes, to those who have healthy salaries.

Anything further to say about the product in conclusion?

These are a luxury that are also a performance garment if you cycle to work and stay in the same clobber all day.

Overall rating: 8/10

About the tester

Age: 40  Height: 179  Weight: 75

I usually ride: Condor pista  My best bike is: Condor Pista fixed. Look KG241, Jean Thomann vintage

I've been riding for: Over 20 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Expert

I regularly do the following types of riding: commuting, touring, club rides, sportives, fixed/singlespeed, bare back

 

39 comments

Avatar
fast as fupp [27 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

£35 for a pair of skids?

hahahahahahahahahahahaha.........(forever)!!!  41 41 4

Avatar
rich22222 [164 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

But will they make me faster? I think it's my boxers holding me back.... sold

Avatar
farrell [1950 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

If youve ever taken off your boxers and the only comparison with a horse you can make is the smell you are going wrong somewhere.

Avatar
farrell [1950 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

If youve ever taken off your boxers and the only comparison with a horse you can make is the smell you are going wrong somewhere.

Avatar
NickK123 [93 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

As above, astounded by cost. I hesitate to ask the question who would pay that price? I am also a keen climber/mountaineer and there are much cheaper mountaineering alternatives. (Indeed, in the winter weather, I have worn a number of mountaineering jackets/gilets on the bike whilst out on group training runs.)

Avatar
Bobbinogs [191 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

To be fair to Rapha, this isn't the most laughably overpriced item they have on offer  1

Avatar
Jack Osbourne snr [437 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

If only it had been a merino performance knob n balls warmer for under ones rapha longs on those chillier than chilly days...

Avatar
tourdelound [157 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Err.......just no.

Avatar
zzgavin [193 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

I bought a pair on sale iirc, they are amazingly comfortable =)

Avatar
Flying Scot [918 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

They look pants.........

Avatar
STATO [501 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Ive had a pair of the padded version for a few years, get used every day on the commute under winter tights or baggy shorts. Bloody comfy things they are. I did a tour in the US and didnt want to use bib short so took these and a pair of endura 'underwear' with pad, those were so awful they went in the bin and I used the rapha boxers for 10 days straight, with only the occasional chance for a wash. I know they are expensive but they are some of the best cycling boxers ive worn, better than many cycle shorts.

Avatar
GoingRoundInCycles [133 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Bunch of skinflints, the lot of you!

Now these are what I call luxury pants:

http://www.derek-rose.com/otis-5-mult-boxershort.html  24

Don't forget to get the matching pyjamas, they're at a knock down price too .....  3

Avatar
Northernbike [229 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Superman has a pair of these. That's why he wears them outside his clothes; it's nothing to do with being a superhero, just letting everyone know how much he spends on his pants

Avatar
russyparkin [570 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

ha ha love the comments here, to be fair £35 is a lot but then its also not in the sense of im about to boff £50 at the bar.

i just think it sounds amazing, hey im wearing wooly pants ba ha ha ah

Avatar
paulmcmillan [96 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

I suppose being rapha these will attract a used resale value of at least £20 above the original price to those crazy ebay buyers.

Avatar
Nick Squier [6 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Are we supposed to wear these under our bibs? Apologies if this is already pointed out in the review, couldn't be arsed to read it.

Avatar
ChairRDRF [308 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

I have used the Rapha merino boxers ones with a pad which are no even more eye-wateringly expensive at £45.

I use them under trousers for round town riding and they are the most comfortable underpants for this purpose. They really make a difference for your nether regions.

So I just pay up and shut up.

Avatar
notfastenough [3685 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Bought some in the Manchester sample sale, I'll let you know how good they are!

Avatar
don simon [763 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

I'll take a dozen pairs 'cos I'm considerably richer than you......

Avatar
lightboxuk [6 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

You can buy perfectly adequate base layers in Aldi for a tenner - I'm still wearing various items I've had for several winters - this stuff is aimed at those with more money that sense who think the answer to everything is to buy more expensive kit - when was the last time anyone really thought "I'd be enjoying this ride far more if I was wearing a pair of 35 quid Rapha skivvies?"

Alternatively, try saying it out loud next time you're out on a club run....

Avatar
stenmeister [274 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

I like a bit of Lidl, sometimes a bit of Castelli but Rapha is just ridiculously priced. No thanks (again).

Avatar
alexhamps [7 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

I got a pair for Christmas and they are very comfortable. Only worn once, save them special occasions  8

Avatar
ajmarshal1 [411 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Icebreaker merino underwear = £36.99. Finisterre = £35. These are priced the same as other high end merino dung hampers.

lightboxuk wrote:

You can buy perfectly adequate base layers in Aldi for a tenner......

I bet you buy all your 'perfectly adequate' clothes from George at Asda too. Damn people for spending their money on whatever they want. Some people prefer nice, desirable things and I'm glad they do. Otherwise we'd all be walking around in 'perfectly adequate' boring crap.

These cost less than half a tank of petrol (although I don't drive a 'perfectly adequate' car, it could be considered dangerously ostentatious by the crusader for the adequate I suppose) and if they make someone's commute or audax feel better whilst enjoying the hobby they like spending money on, good luck to them.

Avatar
MrBAW [48 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

I have just ordered my 4th pair. Love them, have a handfull of Icebreaker, and they are about the same price. You pay for quality and comfort  3

Avatar
ajmarshal1 [411 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

I've think I'll buy some of the ludicrously bright orange ones for no other reason than I fancy some besties for the colder commutes. Merino pants are great in winter.

Avatar
TR McGowran [15 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

If these were labeled as a 'base layer' would they be considered as better value? You can get a matching merino vest (base layer) for double the price from most bicycle clothing manufacturers than these boxers, check out the review of the deFeet Merino base layer http://road.cc/content/review/110023-defeet-undwool-merino-base-layer that review only has one comment...

Avatar
lightboxuk [6 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
ajmarshal1 wrote:

I bet you buy all your 'perfectly adequate' clothes from George at Asda too.......(although I don't drive a 'perfectly adequate' car, it could be considered dangerously ostentatious by the crusader for the adequate I suppose)

Rather a lot of extrapolation from my post there - if you want to lash out £35 on a pair of boxers in the pursuit of possessing lots of "nice, desirable things", be my guest, obviously anything is preferable to "walking around in 'perfectly adequate' boring crap".

Crusader for the Adequate

Avatar
herohirst [71 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Bought a bundle of these cheaply at a Rapha sample sale a couple of years ago and they are so comfortable both on & off the bike that I now wear them all the time. Mine are the padded ones - there was no padless option until recently - and they make everything work on the bike; jeans or bibs. Had a pair of their winter tights in the same sale for £40 and they make a brilliant winter combo with these keks.
Find an opportunity to buy them at the right price & you can't get any better to be honest.

Avatar
Martin Thomas [380 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

You had me at "it's like having your goolies cupped by the soft hands of an angel." Where do I sign?  1

Avatar
Sudor [186 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

hand it to Rapha - they're always good for a laugh

Pages