Home
Verdict: 
Great multi-use all-rounder with a proven frame and dependable discs, but too heavy for fast fun
Weight: 
10,850g
Contact: 
www.genesisbikes.co.uk
Genesis Equilibrium Disc road bike
7 10

Genesis Equilibrium bikes come in many guises these days: different grades of steel; titanium; and now with disc brakes. This latest incarnation feels solid and the ride is planted and predictable. It's a great bike for bashing out the miles on, although the overall weight detracts a bit at times from the springy fun we associate with one of our favourite frames. I'd question the choice of fork and the need for wheels as hefty as the ones specced, too, considering Genesis pitch this as 'the next generation of road bike'

We tested the original Equilibriumthen a Reynolds-520-framed beast, back in 2010 and we loved it. I still have one of those grey and red frames and to my mind there are very few bikes I'd rather be sat on for a big ride. It's comfortable, responsive '' fun, basically. Later versions switched to pricier 725 steel, and there's an 853 bike now, and a titanium version. We've tried them all; they're all good.

And this one's good too. Genesis have picked Reynolds 631 this time, an air-hardened tubeset that's long been a favourite of the touring and audax builders. It's rugged, but not quite as heavy as the likes of 520 for a given frame stiffness. This incarnation shares the same geometry as its siblings, save for 2mm added to the chainstays to ensure crisp shifts on the wider 135mm rear hub. As with the Reynolds 853 frameset Genesis have specced a steel fork too, although obviously this time it's a disc-compatible one.

The disc to the rear is placed on the seatstay, rather than the currently-more-popular chainstay position, because Genesis see the Equilibrium as more of a sporty all-rounder than a tourer/commuter. They've never added rack mounts to the Equilibrium frame and this one is no exception, so if you want to fit a rack you'll need to swap out the seat clamp for one with a rack mount, and double up on the rear eyelets, or use a Thule Pack 'n Pedal rack. It's definitely designed for mudguards though, and the frame and fork will take a 28mm tyre and a full length 'guard for all-winter duties.

The disc brakes are mechanical Hayes CX Expert callipers running from Shimano 105 levers. I've had these callipers on a few bikes now and I've never been disappointed with their performance; they have plenty of bite and they're easy to modulate. Adjusting the pad positions is fairly simple too, there's a barrel adjuster on the callliper to pull in the moving pad and the static one just requires the twist of an allen key. Genesis have specced 160mm rotors at both ends.

Transmission-wise you get mostly 105, save for a non-series chainset to save a bit of money. Some of that saved money goes into the wheels, which are H+ Son Archetype rims laced to dependable Shimano XT 6-bolt disc hubs. That doesn't make for a lightweight wheelset by any means but they should be pretty durable. More on that later though. They're shod with wire-bead Continental Grand Sport 25mm tyres, which is a cost-saver I could well do without, personally. Finishing kit is Genesis-branded alloy gear, with an own-brand saddle too.

The first thing I wanted from the Equilibrium Disc was that it should be fun to ride, like the non-disc bike is. And good news: it's definitely that. I've commuted on this bike, ventured out for club runs, snuck off-road, done a bit of everything, really. And it's a lot of fun. It's comfortable and assured, with a refined feel. The frame rides in a similar way to the other incarnations of this bike that I've tried. The fork tracks well and steering is positive. Planted. That's the best word to describe it, really. It's especially good going downhill: with a bit of heft in the wheels and the assurance of disc stoppers at hand, it's a bike that you feel you can really push on the downhill sections, and it doesn't disappoint. It's masses of fun at speed.

The brakes are excellent. I've been riding this bike on alternate days with the 853 version that has Ultegra-level long-drop callipers, and the difference is very, very marked, especially when battering down a steep descent with a main road at the bottom, in the hosing rain. Anyone who's not yet convinced of the efficacy of disc brakes on road bikes can come over and I'll get them to repeat the exercise.

The Hayes CX Expert callipers fitted to the Equilibrium Disc are one of the best of the new crop of mechanical discs coming to market. They're simple and effective. But it's incumbent on me, as always, to point out that it's not the extra power – and they are more powerful – on offer that's the swinger. It's the simplicity and predictability of the braking. They always work, and it takes less effort. It's not quite the perfect experience: it is possible, under heavy front braking, to make the fork flutter a bit. Not enough to be an issue, but it's not as confident as it could be when you really haul on the anchors.

The wheels, generally speaking, are excellent. I say generally speaking because three of the spokes in the front wheel loosened over the first couple of rides, and I had to bung it in the jig and re-tension it. Not the end of the world, but you'd be cross if you'd just forked out £1,500.

Since that they've been fine and they're great all-purpose wheels which should be very durable. The H+ Son Archetype rims won't get ground down, of course, and having completed the length of Chile fully loaded on effectively the same hubs as the XT ones used here, I'd expect them to last a very long time indeed. The 23mm rim bed means that you get a wider profile on the 25mm tyres specced which advocates claim gives a better feel from the tyre and a wider contact patch. I'd struggle to notice the difference, I think.

They're not light wheels, though, and the overall weight of the Equilibirum (10.85kg/23.9lb for our 58cm bike) means it's more of a cruiser than a racer. That's not to say it's not capable of long rides, or going fast, just that it's a struggle to do both and it feels most at home at a slightly more leisurely pace. The extra weight over a standard Equilibrium is noticeable, especially when you're hauling it up a climb or pushing off from the lights, but that doesn't mean it's not a fun bike to ride. It is. And it's comfortable, too, like all the other Equilibriums have been.

What all this boils down to is that the Equilibrium Disc, as specced, is great as a winter bike, or an all-purpose bike, or an Audax bike. But it's not really a disc-braked racer. It's too heavy, and the wheels especially so. As such, it's not 'the next generation of road bike' as Genesis claim on their website. At least not in this build. You wouldn't swap your full-on road bike for this bike, as specced, and expect to do the same sort of riding. Whereas with the non-disc Equilibrium, that's very much an option.

I'd like to see how the bike performed with a lighter, carbon, fork, sporty wheels and some fancier finishing kit. It's probably possible to get the bike to around 9-9.5kg without too much effort; at that weight it could be a different proposition entirely, although it would add significantly to the cost, and the Equilibrium Disc isn't the cheapest bike around to start with.

It's £200 more than the similarly-specced non-disc Equilibrium 20; that's a fair premium to be paying for better stoppers although with the steel fork you're not quite comparing like for like. The Charge Plug 5 is only £100 more to get SRAM's hydraulic brakes, although you'll have to wait until they've replaced all the recalled ones. Again, that bike has very heavy wheels (and tyres) and could be made a lot lighter, although even as specced it's lighter than the Equilibrium.

The bottom line: If you bought this bike as a solid, all-purpose machine with the extra dependability of disc brakes, then you won't go far wrong. It's capable, comfortable and fun. If you're looking to switch to discs for fast road riding, then this build is a bit too heavy to be a serious contender for your money.

Verdict

Great multi-use all-rounder with a proven frame and dependable discs, but too heavy for fast fun.

road.cc test report

Make and model: Genesis Equilibrium Disc

Size tested: 58cm

About the bike

State the frame and fork material and method of construction. List the components used to build up the bike.

Frame and Fork

Frame

Reynolds 631 Disc-specific w/ mudguard eyelets

Fork

Reynolds 631 Lugged Disc-specific w/ mudguard eyelets

Headset

M:Part Elite Sealed Cartridge Bearing 1-1/8"

Colour

Gloss Black

Weight

23lbs 10oz / 10.7kg (56cm)

Sizes

50, 52, 54, 56, 58, 60cm

Transmission

Shifters

Shimano 105 ST-5700 10sp

Rear Derailleur

Shimano 105 RD-5701 10sp

Front Derailleur

Shimano 105 FD-5700 10sp

Chainset

Shimano FC-R565, 50/34T

Bottom Bracket

Shimano HollowTech II

Chain

Shimano CN-4601 10sp

Freewheel

Shimano CS-4600 12-28T 10sp

Wheels and Braking

Hubs

Shimano Deore XT M756, 6-Bolt, 32H

Rims

H Plus Son Archetype, 32H

Spokes

Double-Butted Stainless Silver w/ Brass Nipples

Tyres

Continental Grand Sport Race 25c (wire)

Brakes

Hayes CX Expert w/ L1 160mm Lightweight Rotor

Brake Levers

Shimano 105 ST-5700

Contact Zones

Handlebars

Genesis 0.3 Road Compact, 125mm drop x 70mm reach

Stem

Genesis 0.3 Road, 31.8mm, +/-7

Grips

Microfiber Anti-Slip w/ Silicon Gel

Saddle

Madison Prime

Seatpost

Genesis 0.3 Road, 27.2 x 350mm

Pedals

N/A

Compare

Tell us what the bike is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about the bike?

A new and exciting category for us, and with it, the arrival of a dedicated road-disc frame platform. Controversial as the concept might be for some, we think road disc has a definite place, and brings with it some real tangible benefits for the masses. It is the ideal partner to our Equilibrium frame where the emphasis is a little less on 'race' and more on 'ride'.

With the increased braking power offered by disc brakes comes also a far greater degree of control. Less of the 'on/off' feeling sometimes associated with rim brakes, and ultimately less force at the lever needed for normal braking. Other benefits include zero rim wear (and therefore longer lasting wheels) and consistent braking performance regardless of the elements, wheel trueness or rim imperfections.

We plumped for Reynolds air-hardened 631 tubing for both the frame and lugged fork; providing us with the necessary strength and durability to withstand the increased braking forces, whilst enabling us to retain that classic skinny-tubed steel aesthetic.

Proven Equilibrium geometry and practicality combines with a traditional steel frame and lugged fork combo and modern mechanical disc brakes to create what we believe is the next generation of road bike.

Frame and fork

Overall rating for frame and fork
 
9/10

Tell us about the build quality and finish of the frame and fork?

Very nicely made, stealthy finish.

Tell us about the materials used in the frame and fork?

Reynolds 631 tubing

Tell us about the geometry of the frame and fork?

567mm top tube, 72° head angle, 73.5° seat angle

How was the bike in terms of height and reach? How did it compare to other bikes of the same stated size?

I'm between sizes on the Equilibrium; for the type of riding it's good for I'd probably size up rather than down.

Riding the bike

Was the bike comfortable to ride? Tell us how you felt about the ride quality.

Very comfortable.

Did the bike feel stiff in the right places? Did any part of the bike feel too stiff or too flexible?

Steel frame is springy but not flexy, wheels are stiff.

How did the bike transfer power? Did it feel efficient?

It felt efficient although it takes a while to get up to speed.

Was there any toe-clip overlap with the front wheel? If so, was it a problem?

A little bit but not an issue.

How would you describe the steering? Was it lively, neutral or unresponsive? Just on the lively side of neutral.

Tell us some more about the handling. How did the bike feel overall? Did it do particular things well or badly?

The handling of the bike is one of its best features. It's very capable and planted.

Rate the bike for efficiency of power transfer:
 
7/10
Rate the bike for acceleration:
 
7/10
Rate the bike for sprinting:
 
5/10
Rate the bike for high speed stability:
 
9/10
Rate the bike for cruising speed stability:
 
10/10
Rate the bike for low speed stability:
 
9/10
Rate the bike for flat cornering:
 
8/10
Rate the bike for cornering on descents:
 
9/10
Rate the bike for climbing:
 
6/10

The drivetrain

Rate the drivetrain for performance:
 
7/10
Rate the drivetrain for durability:
 
7/10
Rate the drivetrain for weight:
 
6/10
Rate the drivetrain for value:
 
7/10

Wheels and tyres

Rate the wheels and tyres for performance:
 
7/10

Wheels are good, tyres are average

Rate the wheels and tyres for durability:
 
9/10
Rate the wheels and tyres for weight:
 
5/10
Rate the wheels and tyres for comfort:
 
8/10
Rate the wheels and tyres for value:
 
7/10

Controls

Rate the controls for performance:
 
8/10
Rate the controls for durability:
 
8/10
Rate the controls for weight:
 
7/10
Rate the controls for comfort:
 
8/10
Rate the controls for value:
 
7/10

Your summary

Did you enjoy riding the bike? Yes.

Would you consider buying the bike? As an all-rounder, yes.

Would you recommend the bike to a friend? Yes.

Rate the bike overall for performance:
 
7/10
Rate the bike overall for value:
 
7/10

Overall rating: 7/10

About the tester

Age: 40  Height: 190cm  Weight: 102kg

I usually ride: whatever I'm testing...  My best bike is: Genesis Equilibrium 853

I've been riding for: 10-20 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Experienced

I regularly do the following types of riding: commuting, club rides, sportives, general fitness riding, fixed/singlespeed, mtb, Mountain Bike Bog Snorkelling, track

 

Dave is a founding father of road.cc and responsible for kicking the server when it breaks. In a previous life he was a graphic designer but he's also a three-time Mountain Bike Bog Snorkelling world champion, and remains unbeaten through the bog. Dave rides all sorts of bikes but tends to prefer metal ones. He's getting old is why.

49 comments

Avatar
gw [44 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

I've also got the older 520 version which has served me really well for commuting, weekend rides and jogle. Have been considering the disc model as a replacement but this makes it sound like it would be a little too dull as my only road bike.

Did you try it with lighter wheels and tyres at any point to see how it handled?

Avatar
bobcdc [22 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

10.85 kg is a bit heavy, I wonder what the Ti version weighs? If it can drop a couple kilos that would help (as well, I need the same!).

Avatar
russyparkin [570 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

hmm, the fork.. i get it for a retro look, just feel a carbon fork would have topped it off nicely

Avatar
nostromo [55 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Too much emphasis on weight. Weight is not an issue for this bike. Get a grip.
I weigh north of 17 stone, I love riding my bike, I would love to ride this bike. So instead of giving it to some weightweenie-obsessed media studies graduate, give it to someone who knows what it is for.
"too heavy for fast fun" - will you listen to yourselves.

....................

"What all this boils down to is that the Equilibrium Disc, as specced, is great as a winter bike, or an all-purpose bike, or an Audax bike. But it's not really a disc-braked racer."

.....................

Get over yourself and get a life. Who Races? Very few, so yes, this bike is not for them. Who knew? Everyone except the moron reviewing this bike for road.cc it seems.

When you weigh over 80 kilos the weight of a bike ceases to be an issue. Unless you are too weak to "push off from the lights" ffs.

This is the worst review of a bike I have ever read on this site. Sheesh even the fact that the brand new wheels needed attention is a negative - in my day, a visit to the LBS would have been standard after a few miles, not cause for criticism.

Seriously road.cc - do better.

Avatar
Ush [723 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
nostromo wrote:

the moron reviewing this bike

You might have some points in there, but you lost me at the personal abuse. No need for it. No call for it. Detracts from you and your argument.

Avatar
dave atkinson [6251 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
nostromo wrote:

Too much emphasis on weight. Weight is not an issue for this bike. Get a grip.
I weigh north of 17 stone, I love riding my bike, I would love to ride this bike. So instead of giving it to some weightweenie-obsessed media studies graduate, give it to someone who knows what it is for.
"too heavy for fast fun" - will you listen to yourselves.

....................

"What all this boils down to is that the Equilibrium Disc, as specced, is great as a winter bike, or an all-purpose bike, or an Audax bike. But it's not really a disc-braked racer."

.....................

Get over yourself and get a life. Who Races? Very few, so yes, this bike is not for them. Who knew? Everyone except the moron reviewing this bike for road.cc it seems.

When you weigh over 80 kilos the weight of a bike ceases to be an issue. Unless you are too weak to "push off from the lights" ffs.

This is the worst review of a bike I have ever read on this site. Sheesh even the fact that the brand new wheels needed attention is a negative - in my day, a visit to the LBS would have been standard after a few miles, not cause for criticism.

Seriously road.cc - do better.

okay, so as the moron in question i should probably answer your points
i'm 1.90m and 100kg, i'm 41 years old. i've never done media studies.

i'm reviewing the bike based on what madison say it is for. they say it's a new generation of road bike. i say it's a fun bike, but it's not what they say it is. not built like this. it's not a replacement for a lightweight non-disc road bike, whether you race on it or not. i don't race but i do like a good, light, responsive road bike. i'm well over 80kg, and i can tell the difference just fine.

a visit to the LBS is fine. three spokes loosening on one wheel straight out of the box isn't fine. it's especially not fine on a disc wheel, where there's no brake rub to warn you that the rim's out of alignment. i only found out because i have a habit of checking.

i'm all for constructive criticism. but you haven't made a single point that stands up here. read the review again: i liked it. it's a fun bike to ride. but if you were sold on discs and traded in your fast bike for this build, you'd be disappointed. and that's what genesis are saying this is.

Avatar
dave atkinson [6251 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
gw wrote:

Did you try it with lighter wheels and tyres at any point to see how it handled?

i haven't yet, because at the time of testing i didn't have any lightweight disc wheels to throw at it; they're not exactly common at them moment. now we have a set of reynolds assault slg discs at 1600g so i'll give it a go with them. they're a bit of a spendy upgrade though  3

Avatar
hh [4 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Great review. Confirms my suspicions when I saw (and picked up!) the bike recently, but didn't get to ride - that it wasn't really an Equilibrium as we know it, with discs.

Would be great to see a Mk2 version with carbon forks and lighter wheels. As it stands don't really see it's too different to a Croix de Fer with slicks?

(and agree you don't need to be sub-80kg and racing to appreciate the handling of a light bike)

Avatar
bendertherobot [1146 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Lovely but, again,

Frame £450. Build similar wheels for about £350 (or save more and get the Kinesis ones). That's £800. Apex group set £300. (£1100).

Leaves £399 for brakes and finishing kit.

Less of a big margin than that applied to the Volare but still reckon you could do it slightly better and a bit lighter.

Avatar
Metjas [362 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
nostromo wrote:

...media studies graduate...

I take it from your carefully worded comment that you did not personally consider/complete said degree?

Avatar
nostromo [55 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

So you don't race - fine. But you make a point of saying it is not a race bike, so what's the point?. Has Madison said it is a race bike? Does anyone think this is a race bike?

Err, no.

Even taking the marketing hyperbole into account, what does: "new generation of road bike" really mean? In fact, does Madison actually say this is a "new generation of road bike"?

I look at the Genesis website and I really can't see that claim being made. Maybe you have access to PR or promo material that we don't. So what: I'm going off the public face of the brand which states:

........
A new and exciting category for us, and with it, the arrival of a dedicated road-disc frame platform. Controversial as the concept might be for some, we think road disc has a definite place, and brings with it some real tangible benefits for the masses. It is the ideal partner to our Equilibrium frame where the emphasis is a little less on 'race' and more on 'ride'.
.........

So, no mention of it being a race bike. Doesn't stop you saying people would be disappointed if they traded their 'fast' bike in for it though. Well, blow me, that's it done then. And even though it's designed for the 'masses', the fact it's not lightweight makes it "too heavy for fast fun" according to road.cc. Jeez, how do you get away with making such a definitive, yet totally subjective statement like that? And how out of touch do you need to be?

As for wheels. Meh. Wheels can be great out of the box and they can be cack. That's the modern way in full-build-retail. You win most, you lose some. So you had a problem with the wheels ... awright, but does that mean everyone buying this bike is going to have a problem with the wheels? No, of course not. Are H+Son rims and XT hubs inherently risky? No, of course not, so you were unlucky - in which case why bag an entire bike range on the basis of one wheelset?

I regret calling you a moron, that was uncalled for, I apologise. But I think you have not been objective in this review.

Avatar
mrmo [2088 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
nostromo wrote:

When you weigh over 80 kilos the weight of a bike ceases to be an issue. Unless you are too weak to "push off from the lights" ffs.

And if you weigh less than 70kgs....

Avatar
Sarah Barth [86 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
nostromo wrote:

some weightweenie-obsessed media studies graduate

Yep, Dave in a nutshell  1

Avatar
hh [4 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Flippin' heck, will you calm down! I read it as, if you ride an Equilibrium at the moment, and enjoy the fast ride feel of it, you might be a bit disappointed if you buy this. There are probably plenty of Equilibrium owners that were considering this bike, including myself, and appreciate an honest review like this to avoid an expensive mistaken purchase - surely that's the whole point of the reviews!?

Avatar
nostromo [55 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
Metjas wrote:
nostromo wrote:

...media studies graduate...

I take it from your carefully worded comment that you did not personally consider/complete said degree?

No, I decided not to go to university and took an apprenticeship instead.

Avatar
dave atkinson [6251 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
nostromo wrote:

Even taking the marketing hyperbole into account, what does: "new generation of road bike" really mean? In fact, does Madison actually say this is a "new generation of road bike"?

well...

the genesis website, a bit below where you stopped reading when you thought you had enough to make your point wrote:

Proven Equilibrium geometry and practicality combines with a traditional steel frame and lugged fork combo and modern mechanical disc brakes to create what we believe is the next generation of road bike

what genesis are saying with the bit you did read, and the bit you didn't read, is that they're pointing this at the same market, and same type of riding, as the non-disc equilibrium. the non-disc equilibrium is a sportive bike. you could make it pretty light. you could, if you really wanted to, race on it, although most people wouldn't. it's the kind of bike you can have as your 'fast' bike. the disc version doesn't feel like that.

Quote:

why bag an entire bike range on the basis of one wheelset?

i don't remember saying that everyone would have a problem with the wheels. what i said was that 1) they were heavy, and 2) mine came loose at the front, which wasn't a major issue but would probably make you cross if you'd just forked out a grand and a half.

I also don't remember saying all equilibriums were tarnished by the wheelset on this one bike. that's something you've kind of just made up.

in fact, while we're talking about what i *actually* said, the word 'race' is never used in the review in the sense of an actual racing bike, a bike that you'd buy specifically to race. you wouldn't buy this bike to race on. that'd be silly, and it's not what i mean. for a start you couldn't, because it's not UCI legal.

Quote:

more of a cruiser than a racer

to wit, on the scale of quickness from one to the other, nearer to the former

Quote:

it's not really a disc-braked racer

here i'm saying 'racer' in the sense of 'fast bike', not the sense of 'bike you buy to race on'. apologies if that's not clear. but you seem to be hanging your whole argument on that one word, rather than reading the review as a whole. and you've misunderstood.

you seem to think that's my whole point. it's not. even if i'd made no mention of the word 'fast' or the word 'racer', this bike would still be a 7. it's good, which is what 7 means round here. other equilibriums i've ridden are better.

apology accepted, by the way

interestingly enough, talking to Genesis it seems the 2015 bike will be specced with a carbon fork, not a steel one.

and don't anyone start on the pluralisation of equilibrium. just don't.

Avatar
Andy Spencer [3 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
russyparkin wrote:

hmm, the fork.. i get it for a retro look, just feel a carbon fork would have topped it off nicely

I agree, I would like to see a carbon fork too. Genesis explained their reasoning on their website blog:

Quote:

With road disc being a fairly recent addition there are still a very limited number of carbon fork offerings (particularly in non-tapered, 1-1/8" steerer versions). Rather than compromise with having to go with a carbon fork we weren't 100% happy with we plumped for a steel fork that allowed us to retain the skinny tubed aesthetic of the Equilibrium, have it built to our own spec, and, most importantly, as proven with the recent Equilibrium 853 frameset - the steel fork rides superbly and provides the perfect compliment to the Equilibrium frame.

Furthermore, they recently wrote on their Facebook page:

Quote:

The response to Equilibrium Disc has blown us away; so much so that we're unfortunately now starting to run short in some sizes (it was only really designed to test the road disc water so to speak). Never fear though, there are plans afoot for a complete range of them next model year (this summer). There's even been glimpses of a nice carbon road disc fork in the office...

To me it sounds like they'd like a carbon fork too and maybe they'll be one next year...  1

Avatar
Rob Simmonds [251 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Interesting that you thought the wheels were a bit on the heavy side. The Hewitt Alpine I'll be testing soon has those rims, although not in a disc flavour. It's a fast audax bike, so the wheels need to be a sensible trade-off between weight and strength. We'll see.....  39

Avatar
Hoester [68 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Having ridden this bike since October I would wholly concur with the reviewer.*

*Other opinions are available. Spoke tension excepted. Mine are ok.

Avatar
Dobbsy [55 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

11g and too heavy for fast fun?  39

How light is your other bike!?

Avatar
Dobbsy [55 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

11g and too heavy for fast fun?  39

How light is your other bike!?

Avatar
ajmarshal1 [414 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Heavy bikes just train you up to be faster on your lighter bikes. Everyone should own at least one chunker.

Avatar
mrmo [2088 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
Rob Simmonds wrote:

Interesting that you thought the wheels were a bit on the heavy side. The Hewitt Alpine I'll be testing soon has those rims, although not in a disc flavour. It's a fast audax bike, so the wheels need to be a sensible trade-off between weight and strength. We'll see.....  39

XT hubs are not light, durable and functional most definitely just not light. Looking at the pictures they are 6 bolt which add even more weight.

I guess if the frame is 135 at the back you can run any manner of mtb hub, Should be able to easily save 1 lb there.

Avatar
Rob Simmonds [251 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
mrmo wrote:
Rob Simmonds wrote:

Interesting that you thought the wheels were a bit on the heavy side. The Hewitt Alpine I'll be testing soon has those rims, although not in a disc flavour. It's a fast audax bike, so the wheels need to be a sensible trade-off between weight and strength. We'll see.....  39

XT hubs are not light, durable and functional most definitely just not light. Looking at the pictures they are 6 bolt which add even more weight.

I guess if the frame is 135 at the back you can run any manner of mtb hub, Should be able to easily save 1 lb there.

I can't remember what hubs it is going to have. But anyway, the weight of the hubs, being in the middle, won't make a big difference to the way the wheel feels. If the rims are heavy then the wheel will be slow, even with featherweight hubs.

Avatar
dave atkinson [6251 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
Rob Simmonds wrote:
mrmo wrote:
Rob Simmonds wrote:

Interesting that you thought the wheels were a bit on the heavy side. The Hewitt Alpine I'll be testing soon has those rims, although not in a disc flavour. It's a fast audax bike, so the wheels need to be a sensible trade-off between weight and strength. We'll see.....  39

XT hubs are not light, durable and functional most definitely just not light. Looking at the pictures they are 6 bolt which add even more weight.

I guess if the frame is 135 at the back you can run any manner of mtb hub, Should be able to easily save 1 lb there.

I can't remember what hubs it is going to have. But anyway, the weight of the hubs, being in the middle, won't make a big difference to the way the wheel feels. If the rims are heavy then the wheel will be slow, even with featherweight hubs.

H+SON state the rim weight as 470g, which isn't super light but it's not hugely heavy either, about the same as an Open Sport. the equlibriums wheels are built with heavy gauge spokes on to weighty disc hubs though and they have wire bead tyres on, as a package they don't roll that well

Avatar
bendertherobot [1146 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

There's some weight to be lost by speccing lighter hubs. Mine are Novatech 811/812 with DT swiss spokes. Come out at about 1650g or so. Not heavy by any stretch.

But, again, it's relative. Being a disc wheel means it's likely to be on a winter bike. Mine's on a Croix de Fer. So, that means weight everywhere else including mudguards and 32c tyres. So what the wheels weigh is broadly irrelevant as one item of the whole. But it can add up.

Excellent wheels though. Really excellent wheels.

Avatar
bendertherobot [1146 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
Dave Atkinson wrote:
Rob Simmonds wrote:
mrmo wrote:
Rob Simmonds wrote:

Interesting that you thought the wheels were a bit on the heavy side. The Hewitt Alpine I'll be testing soon has those rims, although not in a disc flavour. It's a fast audax bike, so the wheels need to be a sensible trade-off between weight and strength. We'll see.....  39

XT hubs are not light, durable and functional most definitely just not light. Looking at the pictures they are 6 bolt which add even more weight.

I guess if the frame is 135 at the back you can run any manner of mtb hub, Should be able to easily save 1 lb there.

I can't remember what hubs it is going to have. But anyway, the weight of the hubs, being in the middle, won't make a big difference to the way the wheel feels. If the rims are heavy then the wheel will be slow, even with featherweight hubs.

H+SON state the rim weight as 470g, which isn't super light but it's not hugely heavy either, about the same as an Open Sport. the equlibriums wheels are built with heavy gauge spokes on to weighty disc hubs though and they have wire bead tyres on, as a package they don't roll that well

Yep. You could lose 70g per wheel and be in the realms of fairly light wheels but it's not a huge difference.

FWIW, these rims running something like GP4000S in 25c are really very nice.

Avatar
mrmo [2088 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes
bendertherobot wrote:

Yep. You could lose 70g per wheel and be in the realms of fairly light wheels but it's not a huge difference.

change the hubs, the spokes and the rims, and the saving mounts up. More weight can come off the rotors as well. Still carrying weight over a calliper version but room to save plenty.

Obviously costs more to do though.

Avatar
bendertherobot [1146 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Oh, and, on the carbon fork point, they seemed happy enough to spec one they like on both the Vapour and Fugio.

Avatar
mrmo [2088 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Anyway, not convinced by discs, but show me a disc volare and i might be interested.

Pages