Asgard Annexe bike shed  £525.00

9/10

Solid and secure with space for three bikes, the Asgard is a good investment for storing your bicycles

Weight 103000g   Contact  www.asgardsss.co.uk

by David Arthur   January 20, 2014  

The Annexe Bike Shed from storage specialists Asgard is designed specifically to house three bicycles in complete security.

Storing bicycles is a problem for a lot of cyclists. Lack of space is one issue, especially for city dwelling cyclists, and security is another. If you can't keep your pride and joy in the house, and don't have a garage, where are you to store it? A rickety old shed in the garden? Rather you than me.

The Annexe though is one solution. I've been using this one for about six months. I first started using it when I lived in a London ground floor flat. No garage, just a sliver of outside space, just big enough for the Annexe to squeeze into. It fitted the bill perfectly, taking three bikes and providing a high level of security such that I felt happy leaving expensive bikes inside it.

It is as solid as it looks. It's made from 1.2mm thick galvanised steel panels and weighs an impressive 103kg. It's not going anywhere easily, and for further security the metal base can be bolted to the floor. There's a three-point locking system, and the main lock is a Euro cylinder claimed to be pick and drill resistant.

It arrived flat packed on the back of a lorry. There's quite a few pieces, and the biggest bag of bolts I've ever seen in my life. Fortunately my fear at constructing it proved unfounded, the instructions are easy to follow and it goes up easily in a short space of time.

The trickiest part is fitting the roof. It's mightily heavy and you while you can do it yourself, if you're confident of your strength, you're better getting a friend to help you lift it up. If you prefer, Asgard will, for a small cost, install it for you.

Measuring 1832mm wide by 1444mm high and 924mm deep, it swallows three road bikes with ease. The twin doors open up to provide huge access to the shed, making it really easy to insert the bikes and position them carefully to avoid scratching. There are optional hooks that can be fitted to the ceiling, providing a handy place to hang such items as helmets, and optional shelves that can be used for storing other accessories. There's also enough free floor space for storing cycling shoes and a track pump. You can basically use it to store most of your cycling paraphernalia.

It's the ideal size for space poor residents: the narrow footprint takes up little space despite the capacity for three bikes, and the twin doors make access easy. Even for people with more space and bigger gardens, the Annexe is preferable to a regular wooden shed, providing a far higher level of security. Garden sheds are cheaper, I found a similarly sized one for about £200, but a window and flimsy door lock didn't inspire confidence. The Asgard is just far more robust and secure, and feels it to use on a regular basis as well.

Yes, it's more expensive than a shed, but the security it offers is far superior and if you want somewhere safe to keep your pride and joy, it's clearly the better choice.

Asgard provide a 10 year warranty, and they're designed and made in the UK as well. You get free delivery and they offer an assembly service too.

Verdict

Solid and secure with space for three bikes, the Asgard is a good investment for storing your bicycles.

road.cc test report

Make and model: Asgard Annexe Bike Shed

Size tested: green

Tell us what the product is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

The Annexe bike shed is an all metal storage unit, providing bike storage for 3* bikes and cycling equipment. As this 3 bike shed is made from tough metal, this unit offers excellent bike security and is the ideal secure store for all your mountain bikes, road bikes and general cycling equipment. The Annexe bike shed is built from our thick, galvanised (weather proof) steel panels and feature an integral metal floor and convenient large double door access (which you can hand for Left or Right opening).

Tell us some more about the technical aspects of the product?

103kg in weight (that's 16.2 stone) - compare us to the "light weight" competition!

Secure and versatile storage unit - providing excellent weather proof protection for your bikes.

Our bike storage units have been tried and tested - by the UK's leading bike magazines.

As with all our products this all metal bike shed is made from strong, thick, galvanised steel.

Designed and made in the UK - free 10 Year Warranty - a quality product, built to last.

Our Asgard ventilation system - minimizes the build up of condensation inside the bike shed.

Fitted with our tough three point bike shed lock system - secure bike storage.

Offering excellent bike security as seen in this clip.

Pick resistant Euro cylinder lock - an excellent shed locking system.

Large double door access - easy to wheel your bikes in and out.

Door handing can be changed by the user to suit your location - total flexibility!

Integral weather guard - keeping even the strongest wind and rain out.

Full metal base - complete with free fixings for securing the bike shed to your concrete base.

An additional wooden subfloor is also available - protect the built in metal floor from scratches.

Asgard extra strong shelves - can be fitted to hold your bike equipment.

Our extra strong bike hook packs - are great for hanging helmets and back packs.

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
9/10

It's built like a bunker, with hundreds of bolts securing the thick metal panels together.

Rate the product for performance:
 
9/10

It's really nice to use, a solid feeling lock and heavy doors, and there's ample space for three bikes plus shoes, helmets, track pump and other bits and bobs.

Rate the product for durability:
 
9/10

No concerns with durability.

Rate the product for weight, if applicable:
 
9/10

You'd need a crane to remove it.

Rate the product for value:
 
8/10

Tricky one this. Yes it is expensive, but it's custom designed specifically to store bicycles with impressive security, and trumps a wooden shed.

Tell us how the product performed overall when used for its designed purpose

I've been living with this shed, using it daily, for the past six months and I can't imagine not having it now, it's utterly dependable.

Tell us what you particularly liked about the product

Solid and impressive security.

Tell us what you particularly disliked about the product

There's nothing I can fault about it at all, and it's even discounted at the moment.

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes.

Would you consider buying the product? Yes.

Would you recommend the product to a friend? Yes.

Anything further to say about the product in conclusion?

A serious investment for securely storing bicycles.

Overall rating: 9/10

About the tester

Age: 31  Height: 180  Weight: 67

I usually ride:   My best bike is:

I've been riding for: 10-20 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Expert

I regularly do the following types of riding: road racing, time trialling, cyclo cross, commuting, touring, mtb,

 

27 user comments

Oldest firstNewest firstBest rated

Is there any way of ground anchoring the bikes when they are in there? Or chaining them to something other than themselves?

posted by farrell [1580 posts]
20th January 2014 - 16:15

23 Likes

As good as this is, I was nervous about the locks. I cut a hole in the floor and, prior to building set a Y-Anchor embedded in a cement block beneath the bike shed. I then ran a 19mm motorcycle chain through the ground anchor and used a Squire padlock to form a solid loop. The bikes are then locked to the cycle chain using sold secure gold rated d-locks - two per bike. Sounds over the top, but at the end of the day, anyone opening the door is likely to move on for easier pickings, which is the main purpose. And a photo to prove how the bikes are stored has already gone to the insurance company - so hopefully if i get burgled by a sod with full power tools, there will be no arguments. The Y-Anchor and chain cost £70 - and only the Y-anchor will get left behind if I move. The d-locks were needed anyway.

Why is there never a tailwind?

posted by What Mid Life Crisis [17 posts]
20th January 2014 - 16:33

20 Likes

What Mid Life Crisis wrote:
As good as this is, I was nervous about the locks. I cut a hole in the floor and, prior to building set a Y-Anchor embedded in a cement block beneath the bike shed. I then ran a 19mm motorcycle chain through the ground anchor and used a Squire padlock to form a solid loop. The bikes are then locked to the cycle chain using sold secure gold rated d-locks - two per bike. Sounds over the top, but at the end of the day, anyone opening the door is likely to move on for easier pickings, which is the main purpose. And a photo to prove how the bikes are stored has already gone to the insurance company - so hopefully if i get burgled by a sod with full power tools, there will be no arguments. The Y-Anchor and chain cost £70 - and only the Y-anchor will get left behind if I move. The d-locks were needed anyway.

Not sure I'd want to put any of my valuable bikes in one of these without your added security. I imagine wielding power tools inside the box trying to cut out the bikes would create quite a lot of noise and attention.

posted by AyBee [85 posts]
20th January 2014 - 17:07

28 Likes

AyBee wrote:
Not sure I'd want to put any of my valuable bikes in one of these without your added security. I imagine wielding power tools inside the box trying to cut out the bikes would create quite a lot of noise and attention.

I've got an Asgard shed (an access 4-bike store), and to be honest, sometimes just unlocking it and opening the doors creates quite a lot of noise and attention, especially if the doors slam in the wind! Confused

Sturdy and secure though!

posted by EH14 [2 posts]
20th January 2014 - 17:21

14 Likes

May be a stupid question, but this seems good for people who rent and might move regularly - can it be disassembled (From the inside!!!)

Asolare

posted by Goldfever4 [170 posts]
20th January 2014 - 17:35

25 Likes

Impressive. If it can be bolted to a concrete floor then I am in!

Its big brother looks like quality too:

http://youtu.be/eY3WJY4Bkzw

Should deter the opportunist thief looking to raise easy money for the Gap Yah. Smile

Never in a hurry on a bicycle.

posted by GoingRoundInCycles [134 posts]
20th January 2014 - 17:35

20 Likes

I kept 6 bikes in an 1100 square foot condo in addition to a grand piano, king size bed, and furniture. If you get your priorities straight and put your bikes inside where they belong, you don't need to buy a storage shed that you're afraid someone is going to cut open so as to steal your bikes.

pedalpowerDC's picture

posted by pedalpowerDC [252 posts]
20th January 2014 - 17:47

18 Likes

Goldfever4 wrote:
May be a stupid question, but this seems good for people who rent and might move regularly - can it be disassembled (From the inside!!!)

Yes it's ideal. I first had it in the garden of my London flat, and when I moved out to the sticks, I dismantled it and took it with me. You have to get inside to undo all the screws, of which there are quite a few

David Arthur's picture

posted by David Arthur [1762 posts]
20th January 2014 - 18:28

25 Likes

pedalpowerDC wrote:
I kept 6 bikes in an 1100 square foot condo in addition to a grand piano, king size bed, and furniture. If you get your priorities straight and put your bikes inside where they belong, you don't need to buy a storage shed that you're afraid someone is going to cut open so as to steal your bikes.

What did your wife and small children think of that arrangement?

thought not Big Grin

cactuscat's picture

posted by cactuscat [303 posts]
20th January 2014 - 18:34

27 Likes

My bikes have to go on the conservatory, because the front room is where she keeps hers.

That's the priorities in my house

posted by GREGJONES [142 posts]
20th January 2014 - 19:53

15 Likes

pedalpowerDC wrote:
I kept 6 bikes in an 1100 square foot condo in addition to a grand piano, king size bed, and furniture. If you get your priorities straight and put your bikes inside where they belong, you don't need to buy a storage shed that you're afraid someone is going to cut open so as to steal your bikes.

and the last time you got laid was in 2012?

Really, though?

posted by workhard [389 posts]
20th January 2014 - 20:08

21 Likes

And it only weights 103 grams ... wow Laughing

Extra bike? What extra bike dear?

goggy's picture

posted by goggy [116 posts]
20th January 2014 - 20:25

18 Likes

cactuscat wrote:
pedalpowerDC wrote:
I kept 6 bikes in an 1100 square foot condo in addition to a grand piano, king size bed, and furniture. If you get your priorities straight and put your bikes inside where they belong, you don't need to buy a storage shed that you're afraid someone is going to cut open so as to steal your bikes.

What did your wife and small children think of that arrangement?

thought not Big Grin

+1
I'm fortunate in being able to keep the best bike inside (with the rest in various outbuildings), but I'm not so solipsistic to think that everyone can or would choose to do so. Were I still back in London, I'd certainly have one of these, with the extra ground anchor arrangement mentioned above. By the time one has attempted to thief-proof a £200 cheap wooden shed, it would have been cheaper & far easier to have bought an Asgard.

posted by Dr_Lex [154 posts]
20th January 2014 - 20:54

10 Likes

Are there no vents in that or are they not shown?

Also, at 110kg with no lifting points, there isn't really any need to bolt that down in a fenced area!

Be careful of saying on tinternet that you keep your bikes in a shed, it's all too easy to find that shed on Strava or Garmin!

All Campag

posted by Flying Scot [682 posts]
20th January 2014 - 20:59

10 Likes

David Arthur wrote:
Goldfever4 wrote:
May be a stupid question, but this seems good for people who rent and might move regularly - can it be disassembled (From the inside!!!)

Yes it's ideal. I first had it in the garden of my London flat, and when I moved out to the sticks, I dismantled it and took it with me. You have to get inside to undo all the screws, of which there are quite a few

Nice one, cheers

Asolare

posted by Goldfever4 [170 posts]
20th January 2014 - 22:56

17 Likes

Shame it's not a bit taller, if it was, you could get your Turbo Trainer set up in there for the when the snow comes.

posted by mikem22 [13 posts]
20th January 2014 - 23:12

12 Likes

These look brilliant, I can't seem to find many stockists at a good price though. Bodes well however when I ask the misses if I can get one, she says no it's hideous and I say, better than in the bedroom? And she agrees. On the right track!

Canyon Roadlite Centaur/ Veloce groupset, Shamal wheels

Miles253's picture

posted by Miles253 [205 posts]
21st January 2014 - 7:40

19 Likes

I got mine from Halfords of all places, use your BC membership (if you've got it) or wait for a deal on cycle accessories, which the Asgard counts for. Reduced from £499 to £399 for my 4 bike store.

posted by Rob PC [11 posts]
21st January 2014 - 17:42

11 Likes

I've got the four bike version. That one comes with bolts for securing to concrete. It takes a bit of building but is very sturdy and secure once up. Ours has three everyday bikes in it, my best ones are still on the wall in the spare room, just because I like seeing them everyday!

posted by richn [4 posts]
21st January 2014 - 22:07

8 Likes

pedalpowerDC wrote:
I kept 6 bikes in an 1100 square foot condo in addition to a grand piano, king size bed, and furniture. If you get your priorities straight and put your bikes inside where they belong, you don't need to buy a storage shed that you're afraid someone is going to cut open so as to steal your bikes.

Obviously not married then...

posted by kitsunegari [24 posts]
22nd January 2014 - 11:02

1 Like

Sadly I don't have a 1100 foot condo replete with grand piano and shagpile carpet. So I am the proud owner of this bike shed, I've had it for four months and I keep three bikes in it. I opted for the manufacturer to assemble it, they had it up in 30 mins, great service and great product!!

Crimea03's picture

posted by Crimea03 [12 posts]
22nd January 2014 - 17:13

11 Likes

Anyone got an views on how these are with condensation and dryness? I'm looking for an outdoor store for a bike with a high end steel frame and I'm a bit concerned about rust.

posted by mulletizer [2 posts]
22nd January 2014 - 20:58

6 Likes

Forget it, determined thieves will cut a hole in the side to get to what's inside. Believe me they would....my company recently got called out to a building of Sainsburys where on a petrol forecourt thieves had literally cut a two foot square hole through the wall cladding into the cigarette gantry stole the fags.
Chain it up or even better remove a wheel and take it indoors.

We're all entitled to a reasonable opinion!

posted by Guyz2010 [291 posts]
22nd January 2014 - 21:24

7 Likes

Guyz2010 wrote:
Forget it, determined thieves will cut a hole in the side to get to what's inside. Believe me they would....my company recently got called out to a building of Sainsburys where on a petrol forecourt thieves had literally cut a two foot square hole through the wall cladding into the cigarette gantry stole the fags.
Chain it up or even better remove a wheel and take it indoors.

Why bother even doing that as surely they could just cut a hole in the wall of your house and take it?

posted by farrell [1580 posts]
23rd January 2014 - 9:52

4 Likes

I've not had a problem with mine in terms of dampness. The design is very good at keeping water from getting in and there's little air vents under the upper edge to allow moisture to escape. Only time there's been any sign of damp getting in is when I've left damp items in it, eg, gardening gloves, wet kit. I've got a plastic tub in at the moment as a veg store and there's a negligible buildup of moisture off the veg, no more than in the veg box of a fridge.

Even with the worst of the weather over last couple of years, I've not had any experience of water getting in. But I suppose you could always stick one of those damp traps in as extra measure.

http://www.chasingwheels.com - Chasing Wheels, the journal of Britain's least competitive cyclist

posted by leguape [40 posts]
24th January 2014 - 9:09

6 Likes

ive got one and so far very pleased with the results, i havnt had any dampness at all, and no rusting on bolts.

posted by blablablacksheep20 [50 posts]
26th January 2014 - 23:14

5 Likes

pedalpowerDC wrote:
I kept 6 bikes in an 1100 square foot condo in addition to a grand piano, king size bed, and furniture. If you get your priorities straight and put your bikes inside where they belong, you don't need to buy a storage shed that you're afraid someone is going to cut open so as to steal your bikes.

I keep my spare bike locked in an Asgard, the best bike inside the grand piano, and the wife and kids locked in the basement.

ConcordeCX's picture

posted by ConcordeCX [14 posts]
7th December 2014 - 15:11

0 Likes

road.cc reviews

Latest reviews

9/10
£79.99
December 26, 2014
8/10
£34.99
December 26, 2014
6/10
£22.00
December 26, 2014
8/10
£16.78
December 25, 2014
7/10
£19.99
December 25, 2014
2/10
£36.99
December 25, 2014
8/10
£20.99
December 24, 2014
7/10
£70.00
December 24, 2014
8/10
£109.99
December 24, 2014
9/10
£89.99
December 23, 2014
7/10
£16.99
December 23, 2014
6/10
£60.00
December 23, 2014
9/10
£99.99
December 22, 2014
9/10
£73.99
December 22, 2014
9/10
£160.00
December 21, 2014
8/10
£275.00
December 21, 2014
9/10
£165.00
December 21, 2014
8/10
£49.99
December 20, 2014
4/10
£32.00
December 20, 2014
6/10
£69.99
December 19, 2014
6/10
£125.00
December 18, 2014
6/10
£149.95
December 18, 2014
8/10
£35.00
December 18, 2014
8/10
£175.00
December 17, 2014
8/10
£10.14
December 17, 2014
9/10
£2200.00
December 17, 2014
7/10
£32.99
December 15, 2014
9/10
£1499.00
December 15, 2014
9/10
£12.99
December 15, 2014
 
1