Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Advice needed

Hi All
I'm an amateur road cyclist. 39 and overweight. Cycling and dieting to lose weight. I am commuting to work daily and since the start of the year I have done 15 weekend rides. Started with 10 miles and this Saturday just gone I have done my first 60miles.
First 30 mile ride caused some backside pain, I had to keep adjusting. 2nd 30 miles wasn't that bad, still not comfortable but better. During the 60 mile ride backside was hurting and my testes went numb. Now I know that my weight plays big part here, but what shall I do. Just because I wasn't comfortable on the ride means my saddle is wrong? Or carry on and as I get fitter and my form improves I'll find that it was me all along and the saddle is fine. How long have you dealt with any saddle issues before you changed it? And did you get the results you wanted?
Thank you for your time.
Best
M

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

16 comments

HeadDown | 10 months ago
0 likes

Quick point I'd add: some (many?) bike shops will offer 'try before you buy' with a new saddle. It might be that they are tied to only one or two brands and put you through the fitting system it stipulates, but chances are high you'll come out with something half decent.

IanMSpencer | 10 months ago
5 likes

Firstly, get a saddle with a trough or hole down the middle. Most recent saddles copy this design and numb willies should be entirely avoidable.