Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Newbie nutrition

Hi all, another newbie here, can anyone give me advise on nutrition, what, how and when to use it  7 . I am in my late 50s and many years ago took part in duathlons and seemed to get by with Isostar and pasta so the 'modern' selection seems a bit baffling  39 At the moment the furthest I have ridden is 30 miles and I am working to my first sportive in March (45 miles). I have just taken delivery of a High 5 pack which is full of goodies, gels, pre, during and post event drinks but when do I start using them? Sorry if that sounds a bit stupid but if I am going out for a weekend ride of 2 hours + should I start taking the High 5? If I am only going out for an hour do I just take juice. Because of the weather yesterday I did 2 hours on the turbo should I have done the pre, during and post thing  39 . When out on a ride, training, turbo or event does taking a gel take the place of fluids, energy bar or do they supplement them? I understand that the one thing to avoid is the 'bonk' so do you take your gel, food at certain times throughout the ride or are there certain signs I should look for? What happens if you take the nutrition on board and your body doesn't use it? I think you can all see that I am fairly banboozled by the nutrition thing so any advice would be really appreciated. Many thanks.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

3 comments

Leviathan | 11 years ago
0 likes

If I am hungry I eat food, if I am thirsty I drink water or other fluid beverages. I don't think you can go far wrong.

Not very insightful, I had to get up early to watch the tennis.  37

Simon E replied to Leviathan | 11 years ago
0 likes
bikeboy76 wrote:

If I am hungry I eat food, if I am thirsty I drink water or other fluid beverages. I don't think you can go far wrong.