Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Slowly upgrade or save for new bike?

What should I do:

1. upgrade my current bike slowly: Mavic Ksryium Elites this year, new saddle and bars next year, Ultegra shifters and brakes two years from now, and finally a new frameset three years from now, or

2. put aside about $600 canadian each year for the next three years and sell my current bike for at least $600, leaving me with $2400 to buy a new complete bike on sale that would thus be better overall than if I go with option 1.

I am riding a Cannondale CAAD8 right now with a mix of 105 and cheap FSA components (crankset, brakes). The way I see it, if I go with option 1, then I get to build my way up to a better bike as I become an increasingly experienced rider, whereas with option 2, I am riding an absolute beginner bike for the next three seasons but I will get more bang for my buck when I do upgrade to a brand new complete in three years. Which option would you suggest?

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

11 comments

HowardR | 6 years ago
0 likes

WHEELS! - Tyres & (if your a grumpy sod like me -  tubes - latex preferably).

Once you get past a certain stage of O.Kness in the frame it's the wheels & tyres that give a bike it's feel.

If you can, try to borrow the lightest wheels you can blag & see what that does to your CAAD8.

As to most of the other parts..... It in part depends on what sort of terrain you generaly ride through but   for a lot of the time most parts are just hanging there adding a bit of mass & drag. The biggest difference between a £20 pair of handlebars and a £200 pair is the price  & if the £20 modle fits you better than that's the pair to go for.

After that - maybe keep an eye out for last years Super-Whizzo frame being sold off cheap.....

pedalpowerDC | 6 years ago
1 like