Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Chain length/smoothness questions

Yes, I did search the forum and looked a lot on YouTube and Google, but I'm still not sure what (assuming anything) I did wrong, so any quick help after looking at my situation would be greatly appreciated.

So I'm building my first roadbike, after having had quite a bit of experience in BMX (days long gone) and MTB. So fixed gear and 9 speed systems using Deore etc. This is my first attempt at building a Shimano 11 speed (Ultegra/Dura Ace mix).

When replacing chains, I always had the old one at hand for sizing purposes. Now I'm setting up a new bike, I seem to struggle a bit. I followed both the 'Shimano 90 degree jockey wheel' method as well as "big big plus 2". However, I can't seem to get a smoothly running chain. In quite a few chainring/cog combinations the chain seems to be skipping (not sure if correct term). What I see is that the links are a bit hesitant to fall in between the teeth of the cog. Hope this makes sense.

I'll include two pictures, one is with small/small combination, other is big/big. Is my chain too short, too long? 

Everything except the rear derailleur hanger is new (casette, chain, derailleur, hub, cables etc). Things I've already checked:

• Directional chain right way facing outward
  • B-screw all the way unscrewed, still puley seems to be a bit far from the small cog?

Again, sorry for such a dreary topic, but I'd love to learn from my mistake(s). 

P.s. as a non-native English speaker, I hope the above makes any sense  1 

Pictures:

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

10 comments

Martyn_K | 8 years ago
0 likes