Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Worn Chainring

Hey, I'm a beginner commuter cyclist and bought a triban 500 SE after Christmas and have been riding about 20 miles a day since then, the biggest chainring (I think it's Shimano Claris 50T) has become worn since I mostly ride on that one and am looking to replace it.

I've looked around but can only find the full crankset for ~£50 but was expecting to pay maybe £10-£20 for just the chainring since the whole bike only cost ~£300 and can't seem to find anywhere selling the individual chainring.

Anyway, here's the question, does anyone know where I can buy a replacement for the chainring or if I can just buy a similar chainring and use that, I'm new to all this so I have no idea what I'm doing.

TLDR; need new chainring to replace Shimano Claris 50T but can't find it online and don't know what will replace it.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

24 comments

Haggisbasher | 9 years ago
0 likes

Funnily enough just worn out inner chainring. you can get a shimano 105, 50T, 110bcd from rose bikes for pennies. Postage is a bitch though.

IanEdward | 9 years ago
0 likes

Re: 50t on 130BCD, surely this product works?

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/ta-130-pcd-alize-outer-chainrings-50-53t/#tabCus...

I'm looking for the same thing on a new Ultegra Chainset (long story, want a triple but don't want a 53 tooth big ring) and as far as I can tell a 50 tooth would work fine, there's a lot of space between the bolts and the teeth.

(unless... is TA's 'PCD' a different measurement from everyone else's 'BCD'?)

DaSy replied to IanEdward | 9 years ago
0 likes

You are absolutely right, shows what I know! I had not previously seen 50 t rings on the 130 bcd. Now I think of it, it will be the inner ring that that was the limiting factor. Thanks for the education.....

geekinthesticks | 9 years ago
0 likes