Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Best Sealant for Tubulars?

Does anyone have any experience with the various sealants out there on the market?

I recently fitted a set of Vittoria corsa tubs and want to prepare, "just in case". It needs to be a sealant that can pass through a normal presta valve, because Vittoria have one of the daftest systems of detachable stem I've ever seen. I've done a bit of homework and know that I can't mix synthetic and natural latex sealants. Reviews of Vittoria's Pitstop seem to be mixed at best, Effetto Caffélatex seems to be fairly well regarded, and Continental's Revo seems to work best with butyl tubes (the corsa tubs are latex).

I have no experience in this field, so would appreciate any feedback/experience with these or anything similar like Decathlon's sealant/ Hutchison's etc in fixing a small puncture on a latex tub.

I know the day will come when I have to strip it off and go through the horrors of putting a new one on, I'm just looking to defer that day for as long as possible.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

13 comments

Scrufftie | 9 years ago
0 likes

Having just read 'Geronimo' by Tim Moore, it sounds like Stan's No Tubes is worth a try.

step-hent | 9 years ago
0 likes

Same here, also used caffe latex quite successfully, without removing a valve core. It won't cure all puncture ills, but it seems as good as anything out there.

earth | 9 years ago
0 likes

I've used caffe latex on two punctures and it worked both times. Luckily on both occasions the tire did not flat immediately so it was after the ride when I used it.

Markus | 9 years ago
0 likes