Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Should I get a power meter?

I'm new to road cycling (10 months and going strong!) I've read quite a bit about how power meters can really help you improve, but here's the deal. I'll be 54 this year and have no intention of competing (the occasional sportive notwithstanding), how much will this help me? I'm somewhat financially stable, so the cost is not that big an issue for me. Can someone out there give a good enough reason to take the plunge? Many thanks!:)

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

48 comments

mooleur | 9 years ago
0 likes

Great post! Have to agree although much better coming from as experienced a rider as yourself Streamliner.

Especially agree with position, after bike fits I've seen my power increase (especially when climbing) by a surprising amount.

Streamliner | 9 years ago
0 likes

I've been riding bikes for 2 decades either mountain bikes or road bikes. Earlier this year I took the plunge and bought a powertap pair of wheels, my first power meter. I have never raced other than a handful of TTs, and maybe I will try a race if I feel I won't get crushed by the regular racers.

So my motivation was curiosity, and to get more focused on my training. At the end of the day it's your money so you can spend it on what you want!

I have found it very useful so let me answer those here saying they have no point and you should just go ride more, or time yourself up hills, or look at your HR etc.

The main benefit I've found is in real time, during the ride. You can see in front of your eyes your power vary as you pedal. Sound obvious?

Since having a power meter I've learned:

Tiny changes in your riding position make big differences to your power. You can get big increases from improving your bike setup.