dhb Jersey Bin  £2.99

6/10

Gadget for holding money and valuables. Cheap, but is it really necessary?

Contact  www.wiggle.co.uk

by David Else   January 16, 2012  

dhb Jersey Bin 2

The dhb Jersey Bin isn't a place to dump your unwanted cycling tops, it's a sealable plastic wallet to hold money and other valuables when you're cycling.

If you use it to hold cash or credit cards, it certainly keeps stuff dry and clean. But its rectangular shape seems unnecessarily high and it sticks out the top of some jersey pockets. It's wide enough for a standard mobile phone, but iPhones and other smartphones are a bit of a squeeze. The seal is surprisingly hard to open too.

I usually protect my money and phone when out on the bike by putting them in a plastic bag as, I suspect, do most other cyclists. The Jersey Bin doesn't really offer anything extra.

Selling for £2.99, it's hardly going to break the bank, but I can't help feeling you'd still be better off spending your money on a pack of resealable freezer bags.

Verdict

Gadget for holding money and valuables. Cheap, but is it really necessary?

road.cc test report

Make and model: dhb Jersey Bin

Size tested: Transparent

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
7/10

The wallet is made from tough plastic, but the water-resistant seal is surprisingly hard to open.

Rate the product for performance:
 
5/10

If you use it for holding just cash and cards, it's fine, although it's taller than it needs to be and sticks out the top of some jersey pockets. But if you want to use it for a smartphone, it's only just wide enough.

Rate the product for durability:
 
8/10
 
Rate the product for value:
 
6/10

It's cheap, but if you want somethiing to protect smartphone, cards and cash, a good, old-fashioned freezer bag does the job just as well.

Did you enjoy using the product? Not really, it didn't suit my purpose

Would you consider buying the product? No

Would you recommend the product to a friend? Maybe

Overall rating: 6/10

About the tester

Age: 50  Height: 5ft 10 / 178cm  Weight: 11 stone / 70kg

I usually ride: An old Marin Alp   My best bike is: An old Giant Cadex

I've been riding for: Over 20 years  I ride: A few times a week  I would class myself as: Experienced

I regularly do the following types of riding: touring, club rides, sportives, general fitness riding,

 

9 user comments

Oldest firstNewest firstBest rated

I had one of these branded by another company and the corner split on it. It was good while it lasted, but a zip-lock bag is a lot cheaper and works just as well.

All the gear and no idea!

posted by JonMack [171 posts]
16th January 2012 - 16:37

35 Likes

Plastic sandwich bag is fine for me - can get about 60 for that price

op1983's picture

posted by op1983 [46 posts]
16th January 2012 - 16:52

39 Likes

mothercare breast milk bags are perfect, you do look well dodgy as a bloke in lycra buying a packof them, they are double sealed and very strong

posted by russyparkin [578 posts]
16th January 2012 - 17:14

35 Likes

Eh?

Freezer bag or Ortlieb...all or nothing.

Decent versions fit the pocket/pocket designed to fit bag. Very good models clip in securely though no one has made that yet.

posted by Farky [180 posts]
16th January 2012 - 18:12

37 Likes

russyparkin wrote:
mothercare breast milk bags are perfect, you do look well dodgy as a bloke in lycra buying a packof them

So you wear lycra even when off the bike?

posted by Matthewjb [56 posts]
16th January 2012 - 18:30

36 Likes

Talking about looking dodgy, using zip lock bags for my drink powder on long rides... white drink powder. My nick name from my riding buddies "the dealer".

---

Yep, zip lock bags. Great to freeze left over food stuffs and for your phone, ID & moula when riding.

posted by Shiny Flu [84 posts]
16th January 2012 - 23:08

38 Likes

'Talking about looking dodgy, using zip lock bags for my drink powder on long rides... white drink powder. My nick name from my riding buddies "the dealer".'

ahem. Heading to the Ventoux a couple of years ago, for some reason I decided to decant GO powder into ziplock bags rather than take a gert big 3Kg bottle with me. That was certainly a few interesting moments at airport security.

posted by andyp [1019 posts]
17th January 2012 - 10:11

33 Likes

andyp wrote:
That was certainly a few interesting moments at airport security.

HA HA HA "Breathe normally please sir this won't take long" Surprise

cidermart's picture

posted by cidermart [468 posts]
17th January 2012 - 11:57

35 Likes

Been there! When I was a teenager in the air cadets I took a polythene bag full of white energy drink powder to a camp in Gibraltar. Security at Manchester gave me some funny looks, but I was such a naieve (spelling?) kid I didn't even realise the significance - no problem keeping a straight face! Big Grin

Last night I would have considered trading a very loud baby for a really nice bike.

posted by notfastenough [3427 posts]
17th January 2012 - 23:04

39 Likes

road.cc reviews

Latest reviews

7/10
£16.99
November 29, 2014
6/10
£89.99
November 28, 2014
6/10
£70.00
November 28, 2014
7/10
£19.99
November 27, 2014
7/10
£24.99
November 27, 2014
4/10
£75.99
November 26, 2014
9/10
£7999.00
November 26, 2014
7/10
£59.99
November 25, 2014
9/10
£39.99
November 25, 2014
8/10
£34.99
November 24, 2014
9/10
£5800.00
November 23, 2014
7/10
£30.00
November 23, 2014
5/10
£120.00
November 22, 2014
7/10
£37.99
November 22, 2014
5/10
£25.00
November 20, 2014
9/10
£40.00
November 20, 2014
9/10
£130.00
November 19, 2014
7/10
£3999.99
November 19, 2014
7/10
£119.95
November 18, 2014
8/10
£5.99
November 18, 2014
8/10
£23.00
November 17, 2014
7/10
£22.99
November 17, 2014
7/10
£2999.96
November 16, 2014
8/10
£21.99
November 16, 2014
7/10
£51.99
November 15, 2014
7/10
£5.99
November 15, 2014
8/10
£29.99
November 14, 2014
7/10
£19.99
November 14, 2014
9/10
£14.99
November 13, 2014
8/10
£180.00
November 13, 2014
5/10
£99.99
November 12, 2014
7/10
£599.99
November 12, 2014
8/10
£29.99
November 11, 2014
 
1