Victory on the night goes to Motorpoint and Jonny McEvoy at Canary Wharf

Rapha-Condor-Sharp were last night crowned 2011 Halfords Tour Series Champions at London’s Canary Wharf, although the win on the evening went to Jonny McEvoy of Motorpoint Pro Cycling, clinching the only win of this season’s championship for the defending champions.

London-based Rapha-Condor-Sharp may go by the nickname the men in black, but spent most of the eight-race championship in the orange jerseys that marked them out as the leading team, having dominated the opening four rounds with Zak Dempster winning in Durham, followed by Ed Clancy in Aberystwyth, Graham Briggs in Peterborough and Dean Downing in Colchester.

Endura Racing finished as runners-up, as they did in 2010, reducing the deficit at the top of the team standings to just five points following last night’s race. Motorpoint were the leading team last night.

Ahead of the main event, Thomson Reuters won the Canary Wharf Corporate Grand Prix ProAm relay, aided by riders from CyclePremier.com-Metaltek, beating teams from businesses including the law firm Clifford Chance, BP, Canary Wharf Group and Saxo Bank, the latter presumably resisting the temptation to get some ringers in.

Highlights of last night’s racing will be shown on ITV4 at 8pm this evening, and will be repeated tomorrow morning at 9.40am.

Halfords Tour Series Round Eight, Canary Wharf, Results  Team Results

1) Motorpoint Pro Cycling
2) Endura Racing
3) Rapha Condor Sharp
4) Sigma Sport-Specialized
5) CyclePremier.com-Metaltek
6) Team UK Youth
7) Twenty3c Orbea
8) Team Raleigh
9) Pendragon Le Col Colnago
10) Wilier GoSelfDrive.com

Individual Results 
1) Jonny McEvoy              Motorpoint Pro Cycling
2) Dean Downing              Rapha Condor Sharp
3) Scott Thwaites            Endura Racing
4) Magnus Backstedt          Team UK Youth
5) Wouter Sybrandy           Sigma Sport-Specialized
6) Paul Voss                 Endura Racing
7) Tobyn Horton              Motorpoint Pro Cycling
8) James McCallum            Rapha Condor Sharp
9) Ian Wilkinson             Endura Racing
10) Marcin Bialoblocki       Motorpoint Pro Cycling

Boardman Bikes Sprints winner  Jonny McEvoy                 Motorpoint Pro Cycling

Final Team Standings, after Round Eight

1) Rapha Condor Sharp        75pts
2) Endura Racing             70pts
3) Motorpoint Pro Cycling    56pts
4) Sigma Sport-Specialized   49pts
5) Team UK Youth             41pts
6) CyclePremier.com-Metaltek 38pts
7) Team Raleigh              37pts
8) Twenty3c Orbea            33pts
9) Pendragon Le Col Colnago  31pts
10) Wilier GoSelfDrive.com   10pts

Final Boardman Bikes Sprints standings, after Round Eight 
1) Steve Lampier             Sigma Sport-Specialized 32pts
2) Kristian House            Rapha Condor Sharp      27pts
3) Dean Downing              Rapha Condor Sharp      24pts

Born in Scotland, Simon moved to London aged seven and now lives in the Oxfordshire Cotswolds with his miniature schnauzer, Elodie. He fell in love with cycling one Saturday morning in 1994 while living in Italy when Milan-San Remo went past his front door. A daily cycle commuter in London back before riding to work started to boom, he's been news editor at road.cc since 2009. Handily for work, he speaks French and Italian. He doesn't get to ride his Colnago as often as he'd like, and freely admits he's much more adept at cooking than fettling with bikes.