Boonen wins dramatic 2009 Paris Roubaix, but 10 hurt when motorcycle hits fans

Crash on the Carrefour hands win to Boonen

Tom Boonen (Quick Step) won this year's Paris Roubaix in dramatic fashion, but the race was over-shadowed by what looked to be a bad accident involving a motorbike and a spectator 60Km from the finish. An early report from the Agence France Presse news agency quotes local emergency services as saying that 10 people were injured, three of them seriously when a motorcycle struck spectators lining the route. The accident happened around 3:45 pm GMT near the northern town of Orchies.
Although the crash is sure to cast a long shadow over the race it will also be remembered as a thrilling edition in which local hero, Boonen joined an elite band of three time winners.

As ever the pave played a pivotal part in the final result, going in to the last of the most difficult five star sections of cobbles, the Carrefour de l'Arbe section, 15km from the finish the race looked to be shaping up into a six man shoot out involving Boonen, Thor Hushovd (Cervelo Test Team) Juan Antonio Flecha (Rabobank), Leif Hoste (Silence-Lotto), Johan Van Summeren (Silence-Lotto) and Filippo Pozzato (Katusha). The odds were that it would come down to a spring between Boonen and Hushovd for the title, but this is Pari Roubaix and there's always time for one more twist.

Hushovd attacked and only Boonen stuck with while just behind Flecha crashed taking out the two Lotto riders, and leaving Hushovd and Boonen in the clear – Hushovd then ran wide on a corner and crashed too. The race was effectively Boonen's with only Pozzato not crashing but left 10 seconds down.

On the run in though Boonen kept up the pressure stretching his lead to 13 seconds with 11km to go, then 18seconds 5Km out, Pozzato then cracked and with 3Km to go Boonen had 27sec on his nearest challenger and the end of the race was turning in to a triumphal progress – much to the delight of the home fans.

The Belgian becomes only the seventh rider on an illustrious list of three time winners of the Hell of the North the other six are:  - Octave Lapize (1909, 1910, 1911), Gaston Rebry (1931, 1934, 1935), Rik Van Looy (1961, 1962, 1965), Eddy Merckx (1968, 1970, 1973), Francesco Moser (1978, 1979, 1980) and Johan Museeuw (1996, 2000, 2002). He will chase Roger De Vlaeminck's record of four next year.

Paris Roubaix Provisional
1.Tom Boonen (Quick Step) 6:15:53
2.Filippo Pozzato (Katusha) 47 sec
3.Thor Hushovd (Cervelo Test Team) 1:17
4.Leif Hoste (Silence-Lotto)
5.Johan Van Summeren (Silence-Lotto)
6.Juan Antonio Flecha (Rabobank) 2:14
7.Heinrich Haussler (Cervelo Test Team) 3:13
8.Sylvain Chavanel (Quick Step)
9 Manuel Quinziato (Liquigas) 5:00
10 Matti Breschel (Team Saxo Bank) 5:29

Selected other results
15 Roger Hammond (Cervelo Test Team) 6:15
19 Jeremy Hunt (Cervelo Test Team) 6:32
25 Bradley Wiggins (Garmin - Slipstream)
44 George Hincapie (Team Columbia - Highroad)
49 Fabian Cancellara (Team Saxo Bank) 6:48
62 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Columbia - Highroad) 12:12


Tony has been editing cycling magazines and websites since 1997 starting out as production editor and then deputy editor of Total Bike, acting editor of Total Mountain Bike and then seven years as editor of Cycling Plus. He launched his first cycling website - the Cycling Plus Forum at the turn of the century. In 2006 he left C+ to head up the launch team for Bike Radar which he edited until 2008, when he co-launched the multi-award winning - which he continues to edit today. His favourite ride is his ‘commute’ - which he does most days inc weekends and he’s been cycle-commuting since 1994. His favourite bikes are titanium and have disc brakes.

Latest Comments

  • hirsute 11 min 57 sec ago

    Being unusually hopeful, it could be they are fixing it and are starting with the main traffic which is phone based, then moving on to pcs.

  • Mathemagician 15 min 57 sec ago

    Hmm...actually according to the compatibility charts it won't work:...

  • eburtthebike 32 min 45 sec ago

    Quite, and what if the cyclist has a mirror? I'd love to have had a discussion with one of those officers if they'd stopped me for words of advice.

  • eburtthebike 35 min 30 sec ago

    Unless SGlos council have spent a few million on cycle infrastructure in that area in the past year, then no, it isn't very good, in fact most of...

  • qwerty360 41 min 58 sec ago

    The reversing truck is stuck as the road is busses only from that point. They were doing the safest maneveur (given they can't turn around on Tower...

  • kil0ran 1 hour 1 min ago

    Generally you can always use a tube in a tubeless rim with a tubeless compatible tyre as sometimes you'll have such a catastrophic failure that...

  • RobD 1 hour 2 min ago

    Once you get the basic principles it's quite straightforward, scoop has no cut out, line has the channel, the radius, shallow or flat is how curvy...

  • kil0ran 1 hour 16 min ago

    With that average speed I'd say that any aero benefits will be minimal, unless you ride somewhere very hilly and that's dropping your average. That...

  • leqin 1 hour 44 min ago

    How long do we have to put up with this sort of crap. They are not a fucking watchdog if all they do is cart blanch allow one of the newspapers,...

  • slitemere 2 hours 43 min ago

    Doubles and tripls will never die. The only reason SRAM went for 1x was that they have never been able to make a good quality front mech....