K-Edge Road Chain Catcher  £29.99

9/10

A simple product that safeguards your frame and gives you peace of mind, the K-Edge chain catcher is just the ticket.

Weight 10g   Contact  www.madison.co.uk

by Caven O'Hara   July 29, 2013  

K-Edge Road Chain Catcher

The K-Edge chain catcher keeps your chain in place of your chainsrings, preventing the expensive, composite-mangling disaster of a dislodged chain on a carbon frame.

Road chain catchers have been used in the Pro Tour for many years. Events such as Paris-Roubaix would be an obvious race to use a product that keeps your chain in place given the parcours that riders race.

The idea is when your chain is bouncing around there is less chance for it to come off altogether and do some serious damage to your frame. It provides peace of mind. This particular example from K-Edge is well made and above all, easy to fit. The braze-on model has been designed to look good, work well but with minimal installation.

It will fit all braze on and clamp style mounts but adds minimal weight to your bike as it hits the scales at 10 grams. It is available in five colours, black, gunmetal, red, blue and gold.

It has been modified to work with all well known groupsets with the exclusion of the electronic Campagnolo EPS.

Once fitted it soon blends in and so far have had no need of it. On the plus side if anything were to go wrong with the workings of my chain I now have the perfect ride partner to prevent any serious damage. It's not often you want to wish for some mechanical but in trying to re-create that scenario it has worked.

Verdict

A simple product that safeguards your frame and gives you peace of mind, the K-Edge chain catcher is just the ticket.

road.cc test report

Make and model: K-Edge Road Chain Catcher

Size tested: N/A

Tell us what the product is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

The K-Edge chain catcher is used by the pros according to the supplier website and for races such as Paris-Roubaix you can see why. For rides on unforgiving surfaces or your standard British road, a product that stops your chain shipping off has to be a good thing. I haven't had an issue in use but have replicated a chain coming off and was impressed with the simplicity but effectiveness of the K-Edge.

Tell us some more about the technical aspects of the product?

Does what it is designed for, simply and without fuss.

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
9/10

The product is very simple in design and construction.

Rate the product for performance:
 
9/10

This may only happen on the odd occasion but if your chain did ship on a ride you would be well advised to use the K-Edge. It could prevent serious damage to your frame and enable you to get home.

Rate the product for durability:
 
9/10

The CNC'd chain catcher is solid but only adds 10g to the overall weight of your bike.

Rate the product for weight, if applicable:
 
9/10

At 10g this isn't a weight penalty.

Rate the product for value:
 
9/10

If you have concerns or suffer from your chain coming off then this is a cheap price to pay for some peace of mind.

Tell us how the product performed overall when used for its designed purpose

To prevent your chain shipping off and potentially causing some serious damage to your frame.

Tell us what you particularly liked about the product

Easy to fit and a simple design.

Tell us what you particularly disliked about the product

Is there a colour to suit all frames?

Did you enjoy using the product? I haven't had cause to call upon the chain catcher for real but in simulating the effects of my chain coming off it did what it was supposed to.

Would you consider buying the product? Possibly but then I haven't suffered from my chain coming off.

Would you recommend the product to a friend? If they were in the market for this type of product then yes.

Anything further to say about the product in conclusion?

Simple to fit and an ideal addition if you have any concerns about your chain coming off.

Overall rating: 9/10

About the tester

Age: 44  Height: 178cm  Weight: 80kg

I usually ride: Currently riding a Pinnacle Evaporite Three  My best bike is: As above

I've been riding for: 5-10 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Experienced

I regularly do the following types of riding: road racing, commuting, sportives, mtb, Not yet but looking to dip my toe in the world of TT

 

15 user comments

Oldest firstNewest firstBest rated

I've got these, done the job so far. Been years since I dropped a chain, then had two fall in one day while double shifting on Campag Ergo shifters, taking a not insubstantial amount of my beloved paint away with it. Breaks my heart looking at the chainstay now, so it's standard issue on any of my builds since then.

"Is there a colour to suit all frames?"

Just get the one that matches your groupset Wink

posted by Nick T [763 posts]
29th July 2013 - 10:49

like this
Like (17)

hang on, this fits clamps? and comes in gold!? shut up and take my money!!

"I can't believe I ate the whole thing..."

Cooks's picture

posted by Cooks [481 posts]
29th July 2013 - 12:23

like this
Like (17)

Had one on my bike for a few months now and is worth every penny. Cool

Velotastic !

Too many hills, but too little time.

badback's picture

posted by badback [264 posts]
29th July 2013 - 12:39

like this
Like (17)

I have a Token one, which is half the price. However, £30 as a percentage of the cost of a new frame? Should be an automatic purchase.

posted by mattheww385 [45 posts]
29th July 2013 - 14:06

like this
Like (19)

A solution to problem I never knew exist.

Between the S and the LOW

bikeboy76's picture

posted by bikeboy76 [1191 posts]
29th July 2013 - 18:07

like this
Like (18)

A tenner would be expensive, 30 quid's a rip-off for about 50p's worth of materials.

Make mine an Italian with Campagnolo on the side

posted by monty dog [358 posts]
29th July 2013 - 18:41

like this
Like (18)

Perhaps a quick google for the price before complaining about it would show a RRP of £19.99 at one large online retailer, and that's before their 20% discount knocks it down to £15.99

When you start riding a bit harder in the future bikeboy, and your chain drops while the group heads up the hill without you, you may regret snooting your nose over this one Wink

posted by Nick T [763 posts]
29th July 2013 - 21:05

like this
Like (16)

If your frame's seat tube is circular near the bottom bracket then you can probably fit a deda dog fang which will do the same job for about a fiver.

joemmo's picture

posted by joemmo [779 posts]
29th July 2013 - 21:35

like this
Like (16)

Nick T wrote:
When you start riding a bit harder in the future bikeboy, and your chain drops while the group heads up the hill without you, you may regret snooting your nose over this one Wink

Devil I ride plenty hard enough without anything dropping off anything. Perhaps you need to check your front derailleur is aligned properly. You seem to be under some delusion that the aim of riding is to be in some Cat4 road race. Maybe you should get you mechanic to look at it for you.

Between the S and the LOW

bikeboy76's picture

posted by bikeboy76 [1191 posts]
29th July 2013 - 23:25

like this
Like (22)

I never understand the scores on these reviews, how does a 10g CNC machined item get 9/10 ? what more do you want ! on these reviews please ask the reviewer... if you gave less than 10 please explain why !

I would certainly mark it down for the price, but everything else must get a 10.

posted by mikeprytherch [211 posts]
30th July 2013 - 9:22

like this
Like (17)

bikeboy76 wrote:
Nick T wrote:
When you start riding a bit harder in the future bikeboy, and your chain drops while the group heads up the hill without you, you may regret snooting your nose over this one Wink

Devil I ride plenty hard enough without anything dropping off anything. Perhaps you need to check your front derailleur is aligned properly. You seem to be under some delusion that the aim of riding is to be in some Cat4 road race. Maybe you should get you mechanic to look at it for you.

Relax chum, it's just a bit of playful banter - I put a winky eye emoticon at the end and everything.

posted by Nick T [763 posts]
30th July 2013 - 9:44

like this
Like (21)

Nick T wrote:
Relax chum, it's just a bit of playful banter - I put a winky eye emoticon at the end and everything.

[Reference to what you said,] [Last word.]Ha! That told you.

Between the S and the LOW

bikeboy76's picture

posted by bikeboy76 [1191 posts]
30th July 2013 - 14:22

like this
Like (17)

I've got a Token one on my CAAD10 and had it work for the first time last week, odd and slightly magical. Wasn't paying attention and managed to drop chain through mistimed gear change, chain dropped, pedalled slightly, chain magically popped back onto little ring. brilliant, buy one

Cannondale CAAD10, Condor Terra-X and an orange Brompton.
Ride for East London Velo

zzgavin's picture

posted by zzgavin [205 posts]
30th July 2013 - 23:02

like this
Like (19)

Nick T wrote:
Perhaps a quick google for the price before complaining about it would show a RRP of £19.99 at one large online retailer, and that's before their 20% discount knocks it down to £15.99

Link to that??Smile

"I can't believe I ate the whole thing..."

Cooks's picture

posted by Cooks [481 posts]
31st July 2013 - 17:23

like this
Like (18)

Well, the K Edge chain catcher is available at shops such as wiggle (other online vendors are just as good), at the price mentioned above. Admittedly, it's not the "Pro" version in the picture for the review - which is £29.99 - but the standard one does the same job and weighs 5g less.

posted by Nick T [763 posts]
31st July 2013 - 21:51

like this
Like (16)

road.cc reviews

Latest reviews

8/10
£1499.00
July 30, 2014
7/10
£19.99
July 30, 2014
8/10
£229.99
July 29, 2014
5/10
£89.99
July 28, 2014
6/10
£26.00
July 28, 2014
8/10
£900.00
July 27, 2014
8/10
£100.00
July 27, 2014
9/10
£19.99
July 26, 2014
7/10
£9.99
July 25, 2014
8/10
£139.99
July 24, 2014
9/10
£26.99
July 23, 2014
7/10
£116.99
July 21, 2014
8/10
£99.99
July 19, 2014
9/10
£70.00
July 17, 2014
8/10
£27.99
July 17, 2014
7/10
£9.99
July 16, 2014
9/10
£996.00
July 16, 2014
8/10
£50.00
July 15, 2014
8/10
£24.99
July 15, 2014
5/10
£12.49
July 14, 2014
6/10
£49.99
July 14, 2014
 
1