RaceWare Direct Garmin 200/500 bar mount  £29.99

8/10

Excellent Garmin mount in a variety of size options and colours

Weight 14g   Contact  www.racewaredirect.co.uk

by David Arthur   May 15, 2013  

RaceWare Direct Garmin 200:500 bar mount

RaceWare's Direct Garmin 200/500 bar mount is a good alternative to the regular Garmin mount, affixing securely to the handlebars with the benefit of floating the computer in a position that is easier to see when riding on the hoods or drops.

RaceWare Direct is a small UK-based firm and they produce a range of Garmin computer mounts made using the state-of-the-art additive layer manufacturing (ALM), or more commonly referred to as 3D printing. 3D printing is hot stuff and we took at look at the process last year. Basically, it involves fusing layer after layer of material together.

The market for alternative out-front Garmin mounts exploded last summer and there's now plenty to choose frome. RaceWare were early on the scene, and now offer a range of different mounts. Plus they come in loads of colours to match your bike, as well as different bar diameters and even left and right side options.

I've been testing the shorter mount designed for Garmin's 200 and 500-series computers. I've used it with a 500. They produce a longer clamp for the larger 800-series plus one designed specifically for time trial extensions. I've been using this one for several months now and it rapidly replaced the regular Garmin mount on my bikes.

Compared to the SRAM mount, the RaceWare places the Garmin lower, so it's in-line with the handlebars if you were to draw a line through the centre of the stem. In direct comparison there's very little in it, but I do personally find the lower position preferable. And because the Garmin isn't raised as high in the air, it looks better.

The RaceWare mounts to the stem with a 3mm Allen bolt, and is accessed from the top of the mount so making adjustments is easier. It uses the same twist-lock interface that works with Garmin and locks the computer firmly into place. The tolerances are a little tighter and it's a snug fit.

In use the RaceWare provides a very secure and stable platform for the Garmin, with no discernible movement even when riding over rough roads. Aesthetically, it doesn't have the smooth finish of the SRAM nor the machined metal appearance of a K-Edge, with a slightly grainy patina, a result of the 3D printing process. That's no bad thing as such, I've grown to rather like it, it's raw and shows the unique process proudly.

Its price places it at the higher end of the alternative mount market, but factor in it being designed and manufactured in the UK, the fact it is available in several versions for different computers, left and right side options and three clamp diameters (25.4 and 31.8mm) and the variety of colours to choose from, and it does compare well.

Verdict

Excellent Garmin mount in a variety of size options and colours.

road.cc test report

Make and model: RaceWare Direct Garmin 200/500 bar mount

Size tested: Black

Tell us what the product is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

RaceWare is a UK firm specialising in Additive Manufacturing (3D printing) of small cycling related mounts. 3D Printing allows RaceWare to offer custom mounts in a selection of colours and fitting options that are both stronger and lighter than injection molded or machined items. The 3D printing process allows for a unified design with an attractive textured surface. All RaceWare mounts are printed using a nylon powder fused into the final shape.

Tell us some more about the technical aspects of the product?

Garmin 200/500 mount

RH or LH mounting

31.7/8 or 25.4mm diameter

check option boxs

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
8/10

The 3D printing gives a very unique finish and it provides a secure mount for the Garmin

Rate the product for performance:
 
8/10

It places the Garmin in an out-front position which for many is desirable, with the added bonus of being lower than other similar mounts.

Rate the product for durability:
 
8/10

It's stood up to loads of use and constant switching from test bikes with no adverse consequences.

Rate the product for weight, if applicable:
 
8/10

It's adding very little weight to your bike, that's for sure. All possible excess material has been left in the 3D printer.

Rate the product for value:
 
7/10

It's a bit more expensive than other similar products, but it is made right here in the UK so perhaps that's a price worth paying?

Tell us how the product performed overall when used for its designed purpose

It performed very well and is one of the better alternative Garmin mounts.

Tell us what you particularly liked about the product

It places the Garmin lower than the SRAM Quick View.

Tell us what you particularly disliked about the product

The rough finish and less tactile twist-and-lock sensation.

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes.

Would you consider buying the product? Yes.

Would you recommend the product to a friend? Yes.

Overall rating: 8/10

About the tester

Age: 31  Height: 180  Weight: 67

I usually ride:   My best bike is:

I've been riding for: 10-20 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Expert

I regularly do the following types of riding: road racing, time trialling, cyclo cross, commuting, touring, mtb,

 

26 user comments

Oldest firstNewest firstBest rated

"but factor in it being designed and manufactured in the UK."

manufactured seems a flash word for something thats printed though Wink

Racer 074 for the 2014 Transcontinental Race; 2,000 miles from London to Istanbul.

http://themartincox.co.uk/2014/03/racer-074-transcontinental-race-2014/

posted by themartincox [337 posts]
15th May 2013 - 20:07

like this
Like (5)

I've been using one for a while, the finish isn't great but it does a great job, is light and secure, highly recommended

posted by mikeprytherch [217 posts]
15th May 2013 - 21:01

like this
Like (4)

Been using mine (the 800 model) for a while too. I like the finish - a little more industrial than the smooth plastic finishes, but I think it looks classier for it. As for function, it is faultless - height and angle of the garmin are spot on and I liked the fact I could get a left side mounted one (as it looks better with my bars that way). Top stuff.

posted by step-hent [672 posts]
15th May 2013 - 21:11

like this
Like (7)

Good on them. They're definitely getting their money's worth out of their MakerBot!! Material cost - $48/kg from Makerbot's website, plus $2900 for the printer itself. I'd wager you'd get an awful lot of these out of a kilogram of material. Some quick maths and they're in profit at about 78 units. SWEET.

davecochrane's picture

posted by davecochrane [101 posts]
15th May 2013 - 22:45

like this
Like (1)

Sean

posted by seanieh66 [193 posts]
16th May 2013 - 2:48

like this
Like (3)

seanieh66 wrote:
These guys?

http://www.racewaredirect.co.uk/

Sean


According to this web site they are £29.99 not £24.99
you may as well buy a genuine product from wiggle for £24.99
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/garmin-out-front-bike-mount/
Plain Face

Wesselwookie's picture

posted by Wesselwookie [131 posts]
16th May 2013 - 8:28

like this
Like (3)

I ham-fistedly broke my mount (it was all my own fault). I emailed RaceWare telling them I was an idiot and they sent a new one in the post for free. Big Grin Big Grin

posted by hennahairgel [17 posts]
16th May 2013 - 9:26

like this
Like (2)

Bought one because i was intregued about the process - expensive though when compared to the K-Edge which is excellent.
Never happy with the RaceWare as it slipped continuously and eventually the bolt pulled through the plastic.
K-Edge a quality product in every way - far better.

posted by lbuch [14 posts]
16th May 2013 - 10:03

like this
Like (5)

Wesselwookie wrote:
seanieh66 wrote:
These guys?

http://www.racewaredirect.co.uk/

Sean


According to this web site they are £29.99 not £24.99
you may as well buy a genuine product from wiggle for £24.99
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/garmin-out-front-bike-mount/
Plain Face

Must say I was disappointed when I clicked the link and got the price as they seem to do one in 'Team Sky' blue as well. By the time you factor in the £3.50 p&p it's almost back to the K Edge which was my first choice.

Was this meant to be a road.cc special offer price? or just a typo?

posted by Super Domestique [1598 posts]
16th May 2013 - 10:03

like this
Like (2)

Updated the price

I do like the fact there's a wider range of colours plus 500 and 800-specific size and even left and right hand mounts, something most of the other alternative mounts don't provide. And it's a British company, which has to be a good thing eh?

David Arthur's picture

posted by David Arthur [1489 posts]
16th May 2013 - 11:49

like this
Like (2)

Thanks David.

Is it as 'Team Sky' blue as it looks in the pic?

Could be just what I am after.

posted by Super Domestique [1598 posts]
16th May 2013 - 12:40

like this
Like (2)

Super Domestique wrote:
Thanks David.

Is it as 'Team Sky' blue as it looks in the pic?

Could be just what I am after.

I actually had a black one to test, I think that blue one went to someone else in the office, so can't comment on the blueness of it. Looks a bit light from that photo I reckon

David Arthur's picture

posted by David Arthur [1489 posts]
16th May 2013 - 12:53

like this
Like (5)

Thanks.

I know what you mean, it's hard to be sure from a pic.

Anyone got the blue out there?

posted by Super Domestique [1598 posts]
16th May 2013 - 13:03

like this
Like (3)

davecochrane wrote:
Good on them. They're definitely getting their money's worth out of their MakerBot!! Material cost - $48/kg from Makerbot's website, plus $2900 for the printer itself. I'd wager you'd get an awful lot of these out of a kilogram of material. Some quick maths and they're in profit at about 78 units. SWEET.

How Bizarre that they'd try make a profit! So selfish.

posted by Scottyroyal [19 posts]
16th May 2013 - 13:09

like this
Like (4)

I wasn't suggesting in any way that they were being selfish - just enterprising. Yawn

davecochrane's picture

posted by davecochrane [101 posts]
16th May 2013 - 14:20

like this
Like (3)

davecochrane wrote:
Good on them. They're definitely getting their money's worth out of their MakerBot!! Material cost - $48/kg from Makerbot's website, plus $2900 for the printer itself. I'd wager you'd get an awful lot of these out of a kilogram of material. Some quick maths and they're in profit at about 78 units. SWEET.

I look forward to your range of 3D printed products then Dave, the email address for press releases is at the bottom of the website, do please let us know

David Arthur's picture

posted by David Arthur [1489 posts]
16th May 2013 - 14:37

like this
Like (3)

The 'Out Front' that came with my 510 is adjustable so if you have bars that aren't at 90 degs to the stem, you can fettle.

Took me a while to get used to the position, but I'd recommend any mount like this for your garmin

andylul's picture

posted by andylul [412 posts]
16th May 2013 - 15:15

like this
Like (5)

Hi Dave,

Unfortunately you could not make such an item using a Makerbot, although I am happy for someone to prove me wrong. The machines these parts are built on are made by EOS and cost around £800,000 to buy plus all the extra running costs involved. SO unfortunately not quite so sweet as it may at first appear.

Martyn

racewheelsdirect's picture

posted by racewheelsdirect [11 posts]
16th May 2013 - 15:42

like this
Like (6)

Martyn

You'll know - how close to team sky blue is the blue?

Any road.cc discount?

Thanks.

posted by Super Domestique [1598 posts]
16th May 2013 - 16:14

like this
Like (5)

andylul wrote:
The 'Out Front' that came with my 510 is adjustable so if you have bars that aren't at 90 degs to the stem, you can fettle.

Took me a while to get used to the position, but I'd recommend any mount like this for your garmin

Hi Andy. Hope you are well.

Mine is only an edge 200 but am after one like this for sure.

posted by Super Domestique [1598 posts]
16th May 2013 - 16:15

like this
Like (3)

Hi,

It is pretty close to the blue that team sky use although not a perfect match. I would need to speak to the chaps who run road.cc before advertising any type of discount but it is not out of the question.

Martyn

racewheelsdirect's picture

posted by racewheelsdirect [11 posts]
16th May 2013 - 16:50

like this
Like (4)

racewheelsdirect wrote:
Hi,

It is pretty close to the blue that team sky use although not a perfect match. I would need to speak to the chaps who run road.cc before advertising any type of discount but it is not out of the question.

Martyn

Thanks.

posted by Super Domestique [1598 posts]
16th May 2013 - 20:20

like this
Like (2)

My MSc was focused around the popular rapid prototyping methods of the time (vacuum forming of titanium, used for parts of the Typhoon, was developed by my uni department), but even 4 years ago the cost of a 4 inch cubed volume was quite prohibitive using stereolithography - UV cured polymer resins. They have fantastic tolerances compared to the additive process used to make this item; you can't see the layers as they're typically only a micron or two thick depending on the machine you're using. You can also have a nice range of transparent and semi opaque base products to use - DuPont do loads of them.

My current employment is concerned with 3D design and immersive virtual environments, but it's nice to be able to make something you can hold in your hand.

Thanks for the smart arsed reply, by the way - my intent was to point out how good it is that someone can produce a useful product in a unit that fits on a kitchen counter...but I'm sure you already knew that.

davecochrane's picture

posted by davecochrane [101 posts]
16th May 2013 - 22:17

like this
Like (5)

Thanks Martyn - I wasn't familiar with those systems. Makerbot has a typical tolerance of about 0.25mm, so probably fine for snapfits.

davecochrane's picture

posted by davecochrane [101 posts]
16th May 2013 - 22:18

like this
Like (4)

I have a K-Edge and a RaceWare. The RaceWare tends to vibrate a bit, other than that it's great. The K-Edge is better. Both are a bit pricey but well worth it.

posted by BertYardbrush [20 posts]
17th May 2013 - 20:26

like this
Like (4)

I've fitted these to both bikes, no problems in use at all. The supplied rubber strip keeps them in place, no vibration issues with an Edge 500 and the position suits me much better than the old Garmin stem mounts. Despite the price rise still cheaper than K-Edge too, although I'm sure the lure of machined aluminium will tempt many people!

posted by 5th [28 posts]
8th August 2013 - 9:51

like this
Like (3)

road.cc reviews

Latest reviews

8/10
£1900.00
April 20, 2014
8/10
£29.99
April 20, 2014
9/10
£19.99
April 19, 2014
6/10
£15.99
April 19, 2014
8/10
£4.99
April 18, 2014
8/10
£369.99
April 17, 2014
8/10
£73.00
April 16, 2014
9/10
£1499.99
April 16, 2014
9/10
£89.99
April 14, 2014
8/10
£4999.99
April 13, 2014
5/10
£169.00
April 12, 2014
9/10
£14.00
April 12, 2014
8/10
£49.99
April 11, 2014
8/10
£29.99
April 11, 2014
9/10
£119.00
April 10, 2014
9/10
£105.00
April 10, 2014
8/10
£1249.00
April 9, 2014
6/10
£19.99
April 8, 2014
7/10
£39.99
April 8, 2014
7/10
£239.99
April 7, 2014
7/10
£39.99
April 7, 2014
7/10
£1399.00
April 6, 2014
6/10
£29.99
April 6, 2014
8/10
£89.99
April 5, 2014
9/10
£129.99
April 4, 2014
 
1