Vespertine Sash-ay Scarf  £58.00

9/10

Warm, sophisticated and shiny. What's not to love?

Weight 82g   Contact  www.vespertinenyc.com

by Leonie Jennings   February 26, 2013  

Vespertine Sash-ay Scarf

At first glance, this Vespertine Sash-ay Scarf is a fairly low-key, grey tweed woolen scarf along the lines of centuries worth of old fashioned posh school scarves.

Sure, it has a nicely woven pattern and it even has a cunning buttonhole and button partnership, allowing for easy securing of this wayward item of winter clothing.

BUT, and it's a substantial 'but', wave the glare of car headlights in its general direction and its true colours become apparent. The Sash-ay is part of the new breed of urban cycling kit cleverly using reflective thread woven in with wool during the normal weaving process, resulting in an effective but distinctly un-techy looking reflective garment. It looks like a tweed scarf and it behaves like a tweed scarf, whilst also being a reflective addition to your after-dark cycling safety arsenal.

It's a sturdy wool scarf, and delivers good levels of warmth, especially given the button securing it (if you want), and suitable for wearing with pretty much anything from normal street clothes, through to super technical riding kit if you so desired. After all, it's just a scarf! The reflectivity is impressive and it definitely enhances visibility of the wearer, even if only adding to overall conspicuousness. Even the impressively cunning button is covered in reflective stuff. Such are its androgenous good looks, that it would happily grace the neck of man or woman.

Sadly this rather lovely scarf's only currently available from Vespertine direct in the US, but Sarah the owner and designer is a helpful lady and it's no real problem to buy from her direct. It's not cheap, but it's woven in Scotland from merino wool and it's a top quality scarf with the added bonus of making you that bit more visible on a dark night.

Verdict

Warm, sophisticated and shiny. What's not to love?

road.cc test report

Make and model: Vespertine Sash-ay Scarf

Size tested: Grey

Tell us what the product is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

Aimed at urban cyclists wanting to enhance their visibility.

Good for anyone out on dark streets.

Tell us some more about the technical aspects of the product?

100% merino wool tweed with reflective weave.

Button and buttonhole to secure if desired.

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
10/10

Superbly well made and lovely fabric.

Rate the product for performance:
 
9/10

Definitely warm and visible.

Rate the product for durability:
 
9/10

Good quality fabric but keep it away from velcro.

Rate the product for weight, if applicable:
 
8/10
Rate the product for comfort, if applicable:
 
7/10

Slightly itchy, but very comfortable otherwise.

Rate the product for value:
 
9/10

Superbly well made and high quality.

Tell us how the product performed overall when used for its designed purpose

Performed very well. Was warm and visible.

Tell us what you particularly liked about the product

Style, button/buttonhole, reflectivity

Tell us what you particularly disliked about the product

Nothing.

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes, very much.

Would you consider buying the product? Yes, and as a gift.

Would you recommend the product to a friend? Maybe, if they were a very good friend.

Anything further to say about the product in conclusion?

An attractive unisex merino wool scarf with the added bonus of enhanced visibility.

Overall rating: 9/10

About the tester

Age: 37  Height: 1.65m  Weight: 67kg

I usually ride:   My best bike is:

I've been riding for: 10-20 years  I ride: Most days  I would class myself as: Experienced

I regularly do the following types of riding: commuting, touring, general fitness riding, mtb,

 

14 user comments

Oldest firstNewest firstBest rated

Ouch!!!

posted by issacforce [205 posts]
26th February 2013 - 11:30

9 Likes

Better off with a Buff, which would also look more stylish and is way cheaper (though still expensive). Smile

That button just looks silly (sorry), as if some hapless amateur came up with a fix. You might feel I'm being a bit harsh here, but that's how it looks to me. Cool

Nic

posted by nbrus [281 posts]
26th February 2013 - 14:00

8 Likes

About the Tester:

Age: 37

Name: Bertie Wooster

It's a £60 shiny scarf with a button on. Jeez. Rule #5 anyone?

Big Grin

Silly me. You're probably right....

MercuryOne's picture

posted by MercuryOne [1072 posts]
26th February 2013 - 23:09

6 Likes

nbrus wrote:
Better off with a Buff, which would also look more stylish and is way cheaper (though still expensive). Smile

That button just looks silly (sorry), as if some hapless amateur came up with a fix. You might feel I'm being a bit harsh here, but that's how it looks to me. Cool

because buffs are *so* stylish, said no-one, ever.

unusual to see you commenting on one of leonie's reviews, nbrus. what? oh. Thinking

cactuscat's picture

posted by cactuscat [303 posts]
26th February 2013 - 23:29

8 Likes

bit silly that they make it in scotland and you have to buy it from the US. wonder how much it would be if they could send one direct?

cactuscat's picture

posted by cactuscat [303 posts]
26th February 2013 - 23:31

10 Likes

cactuscat wrote:
because buffs are *so* stylish, said no-one, ever.

Really? Do you even bother to engage your brain before posting?

http://www.mybikemyworld.com/article/fashion/5-stylish-buffs-for-bikers....

cactuscat wrote:
unusual to see you commenting on one of leonie's reviews, nbrus. what? oh. Thinking

Considering there are only a small finite number of reviewers writing for road.cc, it shouldn't be too much of a surprise. Smile Is that simple enough for you? Surprise

Nic

posted by nbrus [281 posts]
26th February 2013 - 23:57

5 Likes

cactuscat wrote:
bit silly that they make it in scotland and you have to buy it from the US. wonder how much it would be if they could send one direct?
You seem be be good at inferring inaccurate opinion and reaching baseless conclusions from what you think you've read. Smile If you re-read the article it says the scarf is 'Woven' in Scotland. This infers that the tweed fabric is produced in Scotland, but the scarf may well be finished off (e.g. that button stitched on, etc.) elsewhere. Oh, and 'scotland' is spelled with a capital 'S'.

Nic

posted by nbrus [281 posts]
27th February 2013 - 7:37

6 Likes

cactuscat wrote:
because buffs are *so* stylish, said no-one, ever.

unusual to see you commenting on one of leonie's reviews, nbrus. what? oh. Thinking


The comments section exists solely so that readers can post comments related to the review/article. It isn't there for h*lf-w*ts to make personal attacks to other users when they don't agree with their opinion. Stick to the topic and we'll all get along fine. Smile

Nic

posted by nbrus [281 posts]
27th February 2013 - 7:46

6 Likes
cactuscat's picture

posted by cactuscat [303 posts]
27th February 2013 - 9:16

8 Likes

you've just googled the words 'buff' and 'stylish' and posted the first link you found. at least i'm hoping you didn't click on that link and think, 'what style!', for your own sake Thinking

cactuscat's picture

posted by cactuscat [303 posts]
27th February 2013 - 9:19

9 Likes

cactuscat wrote:
you've just googled the words 'buff' and 'stylish' and posted the first link you found. at least i'm hoping you didn't click on that link and think, 'what style!', for your own sake Thinking
cactuscat, thank you for keeping to topic. Smile You are correct ... that's exactly what I did to find an opinion other than my own. I do own quite a few original Buffs myself (mainly in merino), so maybe I am not a stylish person ... I don't really care. Smile Beauty IS in the eye of the beholder and I just happen to like Buffs. I don't however like this scarf 'thingy', nor the price. Plain Face

Nic

posted by nbrus [281 posts]
27th February 2013 - 14:00

4 Likes

posted by crikey [181 posts]
27th February 2013 - 17:22

9 Likes

does look like a modified tea towel to me.

Where are all the Rapha haters to decry its price tag?

At least the 'designer' has realized this is to be worn at night only!

posted by Metjas [297 posts]
4th March 2013 - 21:16

7 Likes

Similar to what I was thinking. If this was made by Rapha, the bile from the 'haters' would have pushed the comments into 3 figures Wink

posted by wwfcb [70 posts]
5th March 2013 - 8:54

11 Likes

road.cc reviews

Latest reviews

8/10
£1595.00
August 10, 2014
6/10
£8.99
August 9, 2014
8/10
£39.99
August 7, 2014
7/10
£19.99
August 7, 2014
3/10
£9.99
August 6, 2014
9/10
£30.00
August 5, 2014
8/10
£259.99
August 5, 2014
7/10
£73.00
August 4, 2014
8/10
£499.99
August 3, 2014
7/10
£69.99
August 3, 2014
8/10
£29.99
August 2, 2014
7/10
£20.00
August 2, 2014
8/10
£17.99
August 1, 2014
6/10
£8.99
August 1, 2014
8/10
£1499.00
July 30, 2014
7/10
£19.99
July 30, 2014
8/10
£229.99
July 29, 2014
5/10
£89.99
July 28, 2014
6/10
£26.00
July 28, 2014
8/10
£900.00
July 27, 2014
8/10
£100.00
July 27, 2014
9/10
£19.99
July 26, 2014
7/10
£9.99
July 25, 2014
8/10
£139.99
July 24, 2014
 
1