dhb Blade Windslam jersey  £79.99

8/10

Really good winter jersey with great wind protection and a comfortable fit. All at a great price too

Weight 382g   Contact  www.wiggle.co.uk

by David Arthur   October 17, 2012  

dhb have really come a long way in the few years since it was launched as a clothing brand by online retailer Wiggle, and the Blade Windslam long sleeve jersey is a fine example of how well designed and keenly priced their clothing is.

An Italian Lombardia 235g Roubaix fabric is used in the construction of the jersey which has a remarkably soft feel next to the skin. To live up to its Windslam name there's a windproof membrane on the chest and outer arms panels so that the part of you facing into the wind is well protected.

And it really does work. Go out in the stiffest breeze in this compared to a regular long sleeve jersey and you really notice the difference. On recent rides I've been wearing the Windslam with a short sleeve merino base layer and this has been a good combination for current conditions.

Of course, current conditions seem to swing wildly from one day to the next, and one particular brisk tempo ride I could feel the early signs of overheating. Handily dhb have thought of this and there are two discreet zipped mesh-lined vents on the chest, along with two mesh-lined vertical vents on the back of the jacket, to prevent you overheating.

There is always the option of just opening up the full-length zip of course, but I found the two front vents, small though they look, provided just enough entrance for cool air that I was able to regulate my core temperature nicely.

The fit is described as 'form fit' and in essence that means the medium I tested was a comfortable if slightly generous fit. It wasn't overly snug or restrictive with good room in the arms and body. You could wear a couple of thicker layers underneath. The good fit extends to the high collar with an integrated zip guard, good length sleeves and waist drawstrings.

You get three pockets around the back with a waterproof zipped pocket placed outside on the central pocket. There are holes to thread your headphone cables through if you like to listen to music when you're cycling. Reflective details are found on the chest, back and arms and the logos are reflective.

Everyone needs a solid and reliable winter jersey and at £64 (as it is currently listed on the Wiggle website) you really can't go wrong. It's every bit as good as more expensive offerings and is the ideal top for the autumn weather.

Verdict

Really good winter jersey with great wind protection and a comfortable fit. All at a great price too.

road.cc test report

Make and model: DHB Blade Windslam jersey

Size tested: Black

Tell us what the product is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

dhb form fit, Roubaix Lycra jersey with windproof front membrane and ventilation zippers. Designed for long hard riding in colder winter temperatures.

Tell us some more about the technical aspects of the product?

The Blade jersey is an extension of the winter VAEON Zero bib tights. The majority of the Jersey is made from the luxuriously soft and powerfully stretchy Italian Lombardia 235g Roubaix fabric. The brushed fibres trap air to

insulate the rider against the cold. The Elastane content and superb construction of the fabric give this garment a durable form fit. The added protection in this garment comes from the front facing wind proof panels . A breathable yet windproof membrane maintains stretch for close fitting but cuts out the cold wind. The chest and outer arm panels use the wind proof membrane, whilst those panels exposed to less chill factor (the back panel and under arm) are not membraned so that overheating can be prevented.

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
8/10
Rate the product for performance:
 
8/10

It performs brilliantly in the current autumn season with wildly changeable weather and copes in the strongest and coldest wind. Ventilation ports help regulate temperature.

Rate the product for comfort, if applicable:
 
7/10

Fit is good, if a little generous. The high collar is nice as are the good length arms and cuffs.

Rate the product for value:
 
8/10

It's currently on offer at £64 making it a steal.

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes.

Would you consider buying the product? Yes.

Would you recommend the product to a friend? Yes.

Overall rating: 8/10

About the tester

Age: 31  Height: 180  Weight: 67

I usually ride:   My best bike is:

I've been riding for: 10-20 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Expert

I regularly do the following types of riding: road racing, time trialling, cyclo cross, commuting, touring, mtb,

 

15 user comments

Oldest firstNewest firstBest rated

"There are holes to thread your headphone cables through if you like to listen to music when you're cycling"

Eh? Listen to music? Seriously?

posted by Clenbutador [15 posts]
17th October 2012 - 16:57

5 Likes

Black only? Autumn/winter - low light levels. Bonkers.

posted by amazon22 [154 posts]
17th October 2012 - 19:40

7 Likes

Yes, I cycle with music. Yes, I cycle in black kit in low light. And yes, I'm still alive. Shocking I know

David Arthur's picture

posted by David Arthur [1577 posts]
17th October 2012 - 20:11

5 Likes

Yes David, you're still alive, glad to hear it. But what chance you get knocked off your bike sooner rather than later? Good luck to you mate!

posted by Clenbutador [15 posts]
18th October 2012 - 8:56

4 Likes

Anyone cycling on the roads whilst listening to music should be charged by the law.

It's dangerous, SIMPLE AS.. I did it many many years ago and found it incredibly distracting even on country roads.

I can see how jerseys with Earphone capability work whilst on a trainer, as I always whack the Ipod on when on a trainer ... but on the road, NO CHANCE!!

Me, Myself and I

posted by phax71 [301 posts]
18th October 2012 - 9:14

2 Likes

Clenbutador wrote:
Yes David, you're still alive, glad to hear it. But what chance you get knocked off your bike sooner rather than later? Good luck to you mate!

i'm confused as to how listening to music on your bike increases poor car driving

in extensive tests riding with and without music (sometimes wearing dark clothing) i've not noticed any difference

posted by VecchioJo [750 posts]
18th October 2012 - 10:14

11 Likes

amazon22 wrote:
Black only? Autumn/winter - low light levels. Bonkers.

Totally agreee, fortunatley last christmas Santa brought me a rapha pro team jacket in a rather fetching chartruese (lime green to us mortals) which is brilliant. I'd buy an awful lot more DHB kit if it was a sensible colour...

One thing with the headphone argument that has always bothered me is no seems to thing it's a problem to listen to music whilst driving a car,why is that any different? I supose that the arguemtn is that you're detached from your surrounding environment and therefore have less chance to ract.Invariably I can't hear a car coming until it's almost passing me due the sound of the wind in my ears (more down to poor hearing than an excess of speed) Of the two occassions I've been knocked off my bike by I car would not have changed if I was wearing headphones...

for the record I only use them on the turbo, if I'm on the bike I to escape from the modern world as much as possible....

Carpe Diem ab absentis: seize the day off

Coodsta's picture

posted by Coodsta [99 posts]
18th October 2012 - 14:31

7 Likes

phax71 wrote:
Anyone cycling on the roads whilst listening to music should be charged by the law.

It's dangerous, SIMPLE AS.. I did it many many years ago and found it incredibly distracting even on country roads.

I can see how jerseys with Earphone capability work whilst on a trainer, as I always whack the Ipod on when on a trainer ... but on the road, NO CHANCE!!

Blah blah blah.. Daily Mail style rant.. Wont anyone think of the children? Blah blah blah.

The fact of the matter is that RideOn carried out tests and found that motorists can hear LESS than cyclists wearing headphones.

If you want to spout off nonsense about cyclists should be charged with laws then ALL motorists who dare to play music or even drive with their windows wound up, should be charged as well.

http://rideons.wordpress.com/2012/07/09/an-ear-on-the-traffic/

zanf's picture

posted by zanf [538 posts]
18th October 2012 - 15:33

4 Likes

Doesn't everyone know? Cars *deliberately target* riders listening to music. That's why they're dangerous. And quite why coloured clothing should even be an issue is mindboggling. If light conditions are low, USE LIGHTS.

posted by andyp [907 posts]
18th October 2012 - 18:14

6 Likes

I trust that deaf people will also be banned?

posted by bendertherobot [287 posts]
18th October 2012 - 18:52

4 Likes

Not just from cycling, but from going anywhere in public. Can you imagine a deaf person walking down a pavement, being unable to hear that the person behind them is going to walk into them and thus being unable to levitate six feet in the air to avoid a collision, like the rest of us can?

posted by andyp [907 posts]
18th October 2012 - 19:07

4 Likes

I've lost track of the number of times I've been able to determine, from the sound of an approaching vehicle, that it is going to plough into me and not pass safely alongside.

I haven't actually.

Nice top though!

posted by Mountainboy [73 posts]
19th October 2012 - 7:42

7 Likes

Coodsta wrote:

One thing with the headphone argument that has always bothered me is no seems to thing it's a problem to listen to music whilst driving a car,why is that any different?

It wouldn't be any different if riding a bike was just like driving a car. But it's not, by a long way.

posted by Chuck [385 posts]
19th October 2012 - 11:24

5 Likes

It wouldn't be any different if riding a bike was just like driving a car. But it's not, by a long way.
some things are very, very similar of course. Like, if you're going to change lanes, use your eyes beforehand.

posted by andyp [907 posts]
19th October 2012 - 12:36

3 Likes

I ride (as I think many others do) with headphone in left ear and sound vol relatively low - no problem hearing traffic coming up (too) close, plus I always, always look over shoulder before manoeuvering. Although these days in London feel that the greatest likelihood is colliding with another cyclist, they're everywhere.
Nice jersey.

posted by Boltsy [2 posts]
19th October 2012 - 13:20

9 Likes

road.cc reviews

Latest reviews

9/10
£475.00
September 29, 2014
8/10
£59.99
September 29, 2014
9/10
£1350.00
September 28, 2014
8/10
£100.00
September 27, 2014
8/10
£80.00
September 27, 2014
7/10
£79.00
September 27, 2014
8/10
£45.00
September 26, 2014
7/10
£10.00
September 26, 2014
9/10
£23.56
September 25, 2014
5/10
£68.99
September 25, 2014
3/10
£59.99
September 24, 2014
10/10
£13.75
September 24, 2014
6/10
£199.00
September 23, 2014
7/10
£69.00
September 22, 2014
9/10
£79.00
September 21, 2014
8/10
£59.99
September 21, 2014
5/10
£39.95
September 20, 2014
8/10
£26.99
September 20, 2014
8/10
£24.99
September 19, 2014
8/10
£89.99
September 18, 2014
6/10
£9.99
September 17, 2014
9/10
£2506.15
September 17, 2014
7/10
£39.99
September 16, 2014
8/10
£20.00
September 16, 2014
9/10
£70.00
September 15, 2014
4/10
£87.99
September 15, 2014
8/10
£32.99
September 14, 2014
5/10
£25.99
September 14, 2014
9/10
£1.79
September 13, 2014
8/10
£279.99
September 12, 2014
6/10
£55.65
September 11, 2014
 
1