Pragmasis Shed Shackle security anchor  £49.99

9/10

As secure as your bikes can be in a shed without a ground anchor

Weight 2260g   Contact  securityforbikes.com

by Dave Atkinson   February 20, 2014  

Pragmasis Shed Shackle

Ground anchors are fantastic if you've got a bit of hard standing to drill into, but what if your shed's on decking or earth? The Pragmasis Shed Shackle is the next best thing.

The Shed Shackle is a reinforcing kit for your shed that turns the shed wall into a secure locking point. You get a hardened, powder coated steel shackle and two long plates, plus a short one, and the bits go together to form just about the most secure option available to anyone without a proper floor.

The main shackle fits to a vertical beam of the shed, and the short plate can be used to bridge horizontally to the next beam to help resist twisting attacks. Pragmasis supplies shear bolts that break at a certain torque to leave a smooth conical surface. The shear bolts can dig into the wood a bit if it's soft but the nut does eventually come off, so perservere.

Once fitted it’s impossible to remove without removing the section of shed wall that it's anchored to. I'm on my second shed shackle, the first still being firmly attached to the shed wall at my old house.

The lock loop is 50mm tall, so you can get in a hefty chain (Pragmasis says it'll take two of the company's Protector 11mm chains, or one 13mm and one 11mm at the same time) or other beefy lock. No point compromising here, it's not like you need a lock you can carry around.

Unlike a ground anchor the shackle fits at frame height which makes it a bit easier to use, and improves security by making it harder to rest your lock on the floor for attack by bolt croppers.

The array of pieces means that you can fit it pretty much anywhere that's convenient. When not in use it's unobtrusive and only juts out a couple of inches from the shed wall.

Pragmasis claims to have sold over 1,000 Shed SHackles, and never one defeated, or even attacked. There's also a version for steel sheds if you want to beef up the security of a metal bike shelter.

Verdict

It’s hard to imagine how a shed-mounted anchor could be more secure, or more versatile, and if you can't fit an anchored lock point then this is a great next bet.

road.cc test report

Make and model: Pragmasis Shed Shackle

Price: £49.99

Weight: 2260g

Size tested: n/a

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
9/10
Rate the product for performance:
 
9/10
Rate the product for durability:
 
10/10
Rate the product for weight, if applicable:
 
9/10
Rate the product for value:
 
8/10

Did you enjoy using the product? yes

Would you consider buying the product? I have in the past and would again

Would you recommend the product to a friend? yes

Overall rating: 9/10

About the tester

Age: 36  Height: 190cm  Weight: 105kg

I usually ride: Schwinn Moab, urbanised with 700cs  My best bike is: Trek 1.5 with upgrades

I've been riding for: 10-20 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Experienced

I regularly do the following types of riding: time trialling, commuting, general fitness riding, fixed/singlespeed, mtb, Mountain Bike Bog Snorkelling

 

14 user comments

Oldest firstNewest firstBest rated

Sounds great, but some images would have been nice.

jasonbrim's picture

posted by jasonbrim [24 posts]
20th February 2014 - 9:01

like this
Like (28)

a picture showing it installed would have been a valuable help here... just showing the bits spread on a white sheet is no good at all.

posted by Paul_C [157 posts]
20th February 2014 - 9:02

like this
Like (29)

Here's a linky thing with pictures:

http://securityforbikes.com/shed-shackle.php

posted by Paul_C [157 posts]
20th February 2014 - 9:06

like this
Like (25)

Just the thing for our new house. Thank you.

www.vulpine.cc
@aslongasicycle
@vulpinecc

aslongasicycle's picture

posted by aslongasicycle [291 posts]
20th February 2014 - 9:55

like this
Like (18)

Or you could try what I did. Bought a trug (large flexible builders bucket thing) about £6 and a welded ground anchor for caravans from eBay £10. And set it in contretemps in the trug. Weighs about 100kg but is still just movable in your shed. Good luck to anyone who wants to carry your bike off attached to it. Smile

#macgyver

posted by j4m1eb [22 posts]
20th February 2014 - 10:17

like this
Like (25)

j4m1eb wrote:
... And set it in contretemps in the trug.

Good idea. No-one wants an argument.

posted by sponican [63 posts]
20th February 2014 - 10:29

like this
Like (27)

j4m1eb wrote:
... And set it in contretemps in the trug.

I might try filling one with a brouhaha instead.

posted by sponican [63 posts]
20th February 2014 - 10:31

like this
Like (24)

sponican wrote:
j4m1eb wrote:
... And set it in contretemps in the trug.

I might try filling one with a brouhaha instead.

Don't be silly; that's to keep the sheep off your lawn; you want a debacle with your shackle.
You know the saying; "storm in a teacup, debacle in a trug".

posted by Dr_Lex [129 posts]
20th February 2014 - 17:11

like this
Like (18)

That bucket thing, is a fantastic idea. I'm off to the builders merchant...

posted by GREGJONES [111 posts]
20th February 2014 - 20:29

like this
Like (18)

I've had one of these for a couple of years and can confirm it's as good as Dave says.

I also have one of their ground anchors and a couple of their chains. The kit contents and instructions for fitting the shackles and anchor are great, taking all the potential problems into account. The chains laughed at my test with a set of 3ft bolt cutters.

The guidance on their website is spot on and shows a real understanding of their products in application.

They're also really nice people to do business with!

I highly recommend checking them out for non-portable security for bikes.

My eyes prefer Celeste, my bum prefers titanium.

Jack Osbourne snr's picture

posted by Jack Osbourne snr [304 posts]
21st February 2014 - 21:13

like this
Like (18)

I got myself a Shed Shackle a couple of months ago as part of my security measures and it certainly seems up to the job - although I hope never to have to put it to the test!

Shed Shackle fitted

posted by Sausages best friend [3 posts]
22nd February 2014 - 14:27

like this
Like (18)

Sausages best friend wrote:
I got myself a Shed Shackle a couple of months ago as part of my security measures and it certainly seems up to the job - although I hope never to have to put it to the test!

I have something similar but for a little more security I wrapped the shed in chicken wire to stop a saw being used to cut round the shackle.

posted by dunnoh [171 posts]
23rd February 2014 - 18:52

like this
Like (21)

Interesting idea, is the chicken wire internal or external? At the end of the day a determined thief will have the bike regardless, all we can do is slow them down or make it so inconvenient for them that they move on.

posted by Sausages best friend [3 posts]
3rd March 2014 - 12:09

like this
Like (12)

there's a very simple tool that will defeat those shear head nuts... a nut splitter...

http://www.screwfix.com/p/laser-nut-splitters/17610

silent as well...

posted by Paul_C [157 posts]
3rd March 2014 - 13:05

like this
Like (16)

road.cc reviews

Latest reviews

8/10
£17.99
August 1, 2014
6/10
£8.99
August 1, 2014
8/10
£1499.00
July 30, 2014
7/10
£19.99
July 30, 2014
8/10
£229.99
July 29, 2014
5/10
£89.99
July 28, 2014
6/10
£26.00
July 28, 2014
8/10
£900.00
July 27, 2014
8/10
£100.00
July 27, 2014
9/10
£19.99
July 26, 2014
7/10
£9.99
July 25, 2014
8/10
£139.99
July 24, 2014
9/10
£26.99
July 23, 2014
7/10
£116.99
July 21, 2014
8/10
£99.99
July 19, 2014
9/10
£70.00
July 17, 2014
8/10
£27.99
July 17, 2014
7/10
£9.99
July 16, 2014
9/10
£996.00
July 16, 2014
8/10
£50.00
July 15, 2014
8/10
£24.99
July 15, 2014
 
1