Dawes Audax Century SE  £1099.99

9/10

A real corker - versatile, fast, comfortable and if you shop around, a bargain

Weight 10670g   Contact  www.dawescycles.com

by rob_simmonds   March 21, 2011  

This brand new version of the venerable Dawes Audax may have humble components but the Century SE gives everything you want from an audax bike.

Dawes know a thing or two about building long distance bikes and they're justly proud of their heritage. They've been going since 1926 - look, it says so on the chainstays. Go on any audax or CTC ride and you'll see more than a few, of varying vintages. Carbon may be more fashionable for the sportive crowd, but steel is still real and this retro-styled beauty will tackle anything from sportives to Paris-Brest-Paris.

There are actually two bikes in the 2011 range, the Century SE reviewed here and its cheaper brother the Clubman (Sora running gear, FSA chainset) which is based on the same frame, fork and wheels, but with a powder blue paint scheme and an £849 pricetag. Although you get two sets of bottle bosses, a rear rack will have to share a braze-on with the mudguards. It's not an ideal set-up, but this a fast audax machine, not a tourer.

Straight out of the box this is a very pretty bike. The battleship grey paintjob looks smart, the cartouches with the Dawes logo accentuate the slim tubing and the gold lining round the star shaped bottle bosses is a lovely detail. Previous versions have been known to stray into oversized tubing and odd profiles in an attempt to look modern (remember when aluminium was modern?) but the 2011 incarnation avoids such cheap temptations. If this bike was a meal it would be a steak and kidney pudding, or a plate of fish and chips. Classy, and with no need to pretend to be anything else (you must have some really good pie shops and chippies down your way - ed).

Happily the ride quality matches the good looks with the exact mix of comfort and pace that you want from an audax bike. The Reynolds 520 frame may be humble (it's only dear old cromoly after all) but it rides beautifully. It would take a more refined reviewer than me to fully unpick the subtle interplay between frame, tyres and thoroughly modern carbon fork but I can confidently assert that this is a very smooth bike. It almost glides along, ironing out road buzz and keeping you fresh for those epic long-haul randones. What's more, it's positively eager. There's nothing stodgy or dull about the ride, this is a bike that likes to be pushed and rewards you with a surprising turn of speed.

The rest of the bike is built around equally modest kit. Shimano Tiagra takes care of the 9spd drivetrain, from rear mech to shifters. Tiagra may be near the bottom of the Shimano road hierarchy, but it's far from bog standard and I was impressed by the level of performance it offers. The star of the show is the chainset, which may look boot ugly but more than makes up for it in stiffness and efficiency. The 50/39/30 triple matched to a 12-25 rear block gives an ideal range of gears, even in hilly Devon. In fact, the bike overall climbs far better than it has any right to. I took it out on the Dunkery Dash audax, which is a proper leg-burner, and it performed superbly, even up beasts like Cothelstone Hill and Elworthy Hill (Google them and whimper!)

Wheels are based around Tiagra hubs and Alex 450 rims. Again, it's not flashy but, despite the rear wheel being 1mm out of alignment they performed well with no brake rub, even on the most taxing of hills. Tyres are Vittoria Rubino, in their 25c flavour. They roll well with a narrow profile and a firm casing that should be hard wearing. Although I got on well with them I'd be inclined to go for something slightly more plush, say 25c Gatorskins, when they wear out. Overall the wheels impressed, although the cup and cone bearings on the hubs will need regular love to keep them happy.

Finishing kit sticks to the basic but good theme - the own-brand stem, saddle and seatpost are perfectly ok (although the saddle was a bit of an unyielding plank after five hours or more) and the FSA Wing Compact bars are excellent, although the 40cm version featured here can be a little harsh on the drops and will make fitting a bar-bag (should you want one) even more of a nuisance than it normally is on STI equipped bikes.

It might seem that £1099 is a tad steep for a 520 framed bike kitted up with Tiagra, and I'd be inclined to agree. Mind you, bike prices have been increasing sharply for the last few years (not so long ago you'd be looking at 631 and Shimano 105 for the same price) so it's not such a great surprise. What is odd is that Dawes have priced this versatile, does-almost-everything cracker at £99 over the Cyclescheme limit, so you'll need a friendly bike shop and a flexible scheme manager if you want to lay your hands on one that way. However, there is some good news, because if you shop around you can find it (and the cheaper Clubman) substantially discounted. Spa Cycles will be selling it for £879 but if you move fast they have it at an introductory price of £715 which makes it a positive bargain.

Verdict

A real corker - versatile, fast, comfortable and if you shop around, a bargain.

road.cc test report

Make and model: Dawes Century SE

Size tested: 54cm

About the bike

State the frame and fork material and method of construction. List the components used to build up the bike.

Reynolds 520 butted cromoly frame. 3k carbon fibre fork.

Colour Polychromatic grey

Weight 10.5kg

Sizes 54,57,60 cm

Frame Reynolds 520 butted chromoly

Fork 3K carbon fibre blades

Headset FSA Orbit alloy 1"1/8

Shifters Shimano Tiagra 27 speed STI

Rear derailleur Shimano Tiagra 9 speed

Front derailleur Shimano Tiagra triple

Chain Shimano HG53

Freewheel Shimano CS-HG50, 12-25T

Front hub Shimano Tiagra 32H alloy QR

Rear hub Shimano Tiagra 32H alloy QR

Rims Alex AT450 double wall alloy

Spokes Stainless steel

Tyres Vittoria Rubino 700x25c

Chainwheel Shimano Tiagra 50/39/30T

Bottom Bracket Shimano external bearing

Brakes Shimano BR-R450 alloy caliper

Brake levers Shimano

Handlebar FSA Wing Compact

Stem Dawes alloy Aheads

Seatpost Dawes alloy micro-adjust

Saddle Dawes road

Grips Micro-fibre tape with airholes and gel

Pedals Alloy road with straps

Mudguards SKS chromplastic

Tell us what the bike is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about the bike?

Dawes say - "The Century SE gives a robust, comfortable yet speed ride with an outstanding carbon front fork that dampens road buzz and keeps steering sharp. A high quality Reynolds 520 frame that makes for an excellent ride and a groupset that allows you to tackle most hills with ease."

Frame and fork

Overall rating for frame and fork
 
8/10

Tell us about the build quality and finish of the frame and fork?

Very nicely finished frame - check out the lining round the bottle bosses. Fork is good too.

Tell us about the materials used in the frame and fork?

Good old fashioned Reynolds 520 steel - thoroughly modern carbon fibre for the fork.

Tell us about the geometry of the frame and fork?

Head angle - 73.5 degrees

Seat angle - 74 degrees

How was the bike in terms of height and reach? How did it compare to other bikes of the same stated size?

The perfect sweet spot between upright sportive and low down racer. There are plenty of spacers if you fancy going more aggressive.

Riding the bike

Was the bike comfortable to ride? Tell us how you felt about the ride quality.

Rides well and feels sharp but without sacrificing comfort.

Did the bike feel stiff in the right places? Did any part of the bike feel too stiff or too flexible?

Always feels stiff and responsive - the chainset is superb, as is the frame.

How did the bike transfer power? Did it feel efficient?

Yes. The Tiagra chainset may be an ugly duckling but it helps the SE glide like a swan.

Was there any toe-clip overlap with the front wheel? If so, was it a problem?

No - even with mudguards.

How would you describe the steering? Was it lively, neutral or unresponsive? Lively, but not race twitchy

Tell us some more about the handling. How did the bike feel overall? Did it do particular things well or badly?

Handles very well.

Which components had the most effect (good or bad) on the bike's comfort? would you recommend any changes?

I'd fit some slightly more plush rubber, but only when the fitted tyres wear out.

Which components had the most effect (good or bad) on the bike's stiffness? would you recommend any changes?

Chainset and frame. Wheels are pretty tight too with no discernable rub.

Which components had the most effect (good or bad) on the bike's efficiency? would you recommend any changes?

Chainset. Great piece of kit.

Rate the bike for efficiency of power transfer:
 
9/10
Rate the bike for acceleration:
 
8/10
Rate the bike for sprinting:
 
7/10
Rate the bike for high speed stability:
 
8/10
Rate the bike for cruising speed stability:
 
8/10
Rate the bike for low speed stability:
 
8/10
Rate the bike for flat cornering:
 
8/10
Rate the bike for cornering on descents:
 
8/10
Rate the bike for climbing:
 
9/10

Surprisingly good - overall stiffness helps, as does sensible gearing

The drivetrain

Rate the drivetrain for performance:
 
9/10
Rate the drivetrain for durability:
 
8/10
Rate the drivetrain for weight:
 
8/10
Rate the drivetrain for value:
 
9/10

Tell us some more about the drivetrain. Anything you particularly did or didn't like? Any components which didn't work well together?

Brilliant. Tiagra may be entry level stuff, but that doesn't stop it from being seriously good.

Wheels and tyres

Rate the wheels and tyres for performance:
 
8/10
Rate the wheels and tyres for durability:
 
8/10

Cup and cone hubs are very basic and will need regular servicing.

Rate the wheels and tyres for weight:
 
8/10
Rate the wheels and tyres for comfort:
 
8/10
Rate the wheels and tyres for value:
 
8/10

Tell us some more about the wheels and tyres.Did they work well in the conditions you encountered? Would you change the wheels or tyres? If so, what for?

The Vittoria Rubino tyres have a narrow profile and feel quite hard - they feel fast and have just enough volume but when they wear out I'd replace them with something a little more plush, say 25c Gatorskins.

Wheels have very basic hubs (Shimano 2200) which will need regular servicing. A nicer set of handbuilts would be the first upgrade - again, after the original kit wears out.

Controls

Rate the controls for performance:
 
8/10
Rate the controls for durability:
 
8/10
Rate the controls for weight:
 
8/10
Rate the controls for comfort:
 
8/10
Rate the controls for value:
 
8/10

Tell us some more about the controls. Any particularly good or bad components? How would the controls work for larger or smaller riders?

Shimano Tiagra performs faultlessly.

Anything else you want to say about the componentry? Comment on any other components (good or bad)

The non series Shimano BR-R450 brakes do the job but look cheap. Tiagra series brakes would be much nicer for about the same price.

Your summary

Did you enjoy riding the bike? Yes

Would you consider buying the bike? Definitely

Would you recommend the bike to a friend? Oh yes

Rate the bike overall for performance:
 
9/10
Rate the bike overall for value:
 
8/10

Anything further to say about the bike in conclusion?

Modest but mighty. A steak and chips bike in a world of corned beef hash.

Overall rating: 9/10

About the tester

Age: 41  Height: 5' 8  Weight: er....86kg

I usually ride: Kona Dew Drop  My best bike is: Guess SC1 scandium

I've been riding for: Over 20 years  I ride: Most days  I would class myself as: Experienced

I regularly do the following types of riding: commuting, general fitness riding, fixed/singlespeed, Audax and long distance solo rides

10 user comments

Oldest firstNewest firstBest rated

Love the bike, the tights are great.. Now where can I buy the road.cc jersey? Pete

Pete Bragg
Shutt Velo Rapide
www.shuttvr.com

Miggers's picture

posted by Miggers [63 posts]
23rd March 2011 - 18:00

16 Likes

stay tuned on that front...

Dave Atkinson's picture

posted by Dave Atkinson [7805 posts]
23rd March 2011 - 18:15

14 Likes

dave_atkinson wrote:
stay tuned on that front...

Can't wait… Might have to make a detour on the 7th… Unless you are around Bath?

Pete

Pete Bragg
Shutt Velo Rapide
www.shuttvr.com

Miggers's picture

posted by Miggers [63 posts]
25th March 2011 - 23:55

16 Likes

Just bought one of these, looks an ideal winter bike and rode very well in test.

Picked it up for under £650 from Chamberlaine's in Kentish Town. But if you're thinking of going for one Dawes are saying their stock is now extremely low. Chamberlaine's also have the clubman @ £500.

Pete

PeteH's picture

posted by PeteH [159 posts]
20th December 2011 - 18:08

17 Likes

PeteH wrote:
Just bought one of these, looks an ideal winter bike and rode very well in test.

Picked it up for under £650 from Chamberlaine's in Kentish Town. But if you're thinking of going for one Dawes are saying their stock is now extremely low. Chamberlaine's also have the clubman @ £500.


Bargain, nice! I liked the test bike so much my dear wife bought me one at the special offer price from Spa Cycles. So far it's done about 2500 miles and I still love riding it.

Rob Simmonds's picture

posted by Rob Simmonds [257 posts]
20th December 2011 - 18:36

14 Likes

been looking for a winter/audax/fast touring bike for a while now, this one the best that I've seen. Would probably have left it at £1100 but at £650 it was a no-brainer.

Will enable me to hibernate the carbon bike (sorry, the "summer bike", must get used to calling it that!) and also will allow me to carry luggage. So day rides can turn into weekend rides which adds another dimension.

Sounds like you have an ideal wife Rob!

Pete

PeteH's picture

posted by PeteH [159 posts]
20th December 2011 - 18:46

14 Likes

First time out today, would agree with everything Rob said. The frame felt really solid and responsive, felt heavier than my carbon frame but that's because it is (11kg versus 8kg). Was impressed very much with the Tiagra chainset - only ridden 105 and ultegra before but the Tiagra is decent. Lovely smooth ride and able to pedal a nice consistent 80rpm for long periods on the flat. No slouch either, I did a usual circuit in only a bit longer than I'd expect to on my carbon bike (although riding conditions out there were particularly lovely today).

Pete

PeteH's picture

posted by PeteH [159 posts]
24th December 2011 - 16:00

15 Likes

Thanks for the info Pete, had my eye on one for a while - phoned Chamberlain's today and got the last one. Due to be delivered Wednesday. Cant wait.

posted by teedub [1 posts]
8th January 2012 - 19:48

10 Likes

Did I miss something here. What size was tested? I'm 5'11" with a 32 inside leg. Using the leg*0.69 gives me a 56cm frame. Dawes do a 54 or a 57 and say to go smaller. The tester is 5'8" according to the signature - what is this bike?
Does anyone have one and what size did they get?

posted by edteamslr [1 posts]
9th March 2012 - 16:59

16 Likes

edteamslr wrote:
Did I miss something here. What size was tested? I'm 5'11" with a 32 inside leg. Using the leg*0.69 gives me a 56cm frame. Dawes do a 54 or a 57 and say to go smaller. The tester is 5'8" according to the signature - what is this bike?
Does anyone have one and what size did they get?

Hmmm. Mine is a 54cm and I'm the 5' 8" chap who wrote the review. My inside leg is 31". The bike has plenty of upward adjustment on the seatpost but a lot will depend on your reach. I'm a bit of an ape (short legs, long arms) and if you also have long arms you might find a 54cm" a little restricted. Try before you buy I guess...

...that's not me in the pics btw, so don't use that as a guide.

Rob Simmonds's picture

posted by Rob Simmonds [257 posts]
15th June 2012 - 23:24

14 Likes