Biologic Vacuum Flask  £15.00

7/10

If you want to take a hot drink on your bike, this flask will do the job just fine

Weight 357g   Contact  www.zyro.co.uk

by Dave Atkinson   January 22, 2011  

Biologic Vacuum flask

Find a store

Biologic is Dahon's component and accessory arm, and they're currently busy growing their range of commuter friendly offerings. This Vacuum flask is designed to sit in a bottle cage and be operable with one hand, so you can enjoy your coffee on the way to work.

The flask is a two-part affair with a stainless double-skinned vacuum container topped with a plastic lid with a sip spout. Sorry, SipSpout™. Opening and closing the spout is achieved by pressing the big clicky button on the lid. Fill it up with piping hot coffee and the flask performs about as well as you'd expect a stainless flask to; you'll get a good few hours of grace before everything gets a bit tepid. It's a snug fit in most bottle cages we tried, though its weight when full means it's a bit unruly in the lighter Carbon offerings.

All in all it does everything it's asked to without fuss. The only minor niggle is that the spout is a bit of a faff to clean and won't allow you to enjoy your chunky vegetable soup unless you stop and unscrew the lid. But as a way of transporting hot (or cold) beverages by bike it's a tidy solution. Good for commuting, also good for those freezing winter training rides where you *really* need a coffee an hour in...

Verdict

If you want to take a hot drink on your bike, this flask will do the job just fine.

road.cc test report

Make and model: Biologic Vacuum Flask

Size tested: n/a

Tell us what the product is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

* The only vacuum-insulated, bottle cage compatible, one hand operable, bottle on the market

* Compatible with standard bicycle bottle cages and the BioLogic QuickMount Bottle Cage

* Surgical grade 304 stainless steel is durable, BPA free, and won’t impart taste

* SipSpout top designed especially for hot coffee or tea

* 375 ml (12.7 fl oz) volume capacity

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
8/10
Rate the product for performance:
 
8/10
Rate the product for durability:
 
8/10
Rate the product for weight, if applicable:
 
6/10
Rate the product for comfort, if applicable:
 
7/10
Rate the product for value:
 
7/10

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes

Would you consider buying the product? Yes

Would you recommend the product to a friend? Yes

Overall rating: 7/10

About the tester

Age: 38  Height: 190cm  Weight: 98kg

I usually ride: whatever I'm testing...  My best bike is: Genesis Equilibrium with SRAM Apex

I've been riding for: 10-20 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Experienced

I regularly do the following types of riding: time trialling, cyclo cross, commuting, sportives, general fitness riding, fixed/singlespeed, mtb, Mountain Bike Bog Snorkelling, track

19 user comments

Oldest firstNewest firstBest rated

I WANT ONE! Cool

DaveP's picture

posted by DaveP [467 posts]
23rd January 2011 - 0:17

like this
Like (9)

Who are the UK distributors? I searched but could not find the UK site, only the US one for $30 plus shipping...

jamesfifield's picture

posted by jamesfifield [91 posts]
23rd January 2011 - 0:36

like this
Like (11)

Zyro are the UK distributors James - there's a link on the top of the review. They supplied the flask, but can't see it on the Dahon/Biologic page on their site… although that doesn't mean they don't stock it

Tony Farrelly's picture

posted by Tony Farrelly [4132 posts]
23rd January 2011 - 1:17

like this
Like (9)

I've found that a seatpost bottle cage mount can instead be mounted pointing forwards, on the stem. If you have butterfly / trekking bars, this puts your insulated mug right where you want it!

(in other words - my town bike has a cupholder).

PJ McNally's picture

posted by PJ McNally [580 posts]
23rd January 2011 - 12:00

like this
Like (9)

Oops. Sorry for being so useless! Thank you very much for the link Tony. I too cannot see it on the site but will give them a call.

jamesfifield's picture

posted by jamesfifield [91 posts]
25th January 2011 - 14:46

like this
Like (9)

I spoke to Zyro: this won't be coming as part of the 2011 unfortunately Sad
Apparently they may consider it for 2012...

jamesfifield's picture

posted by jamesfifield [91 posts]
26th January 2011 - 7:51

like this
Like (11)

I think I'm to blame for the confusion; I thought it had come from Zyro when in fact I must have picked it up at Eurobike.

Anyhow, you should deffo bring it in next year Zyro. and apologies for the mix-up Smile

Dave Atkinson's picture

posted by Dave Atkinson [7252 posts]
26th January 2011 - 10:42

like this
Like (13)

Hi all,

Agreed not supplied into the UK through Zyro as yet....I am working on it, but in the interim can be sourced through the www.thinkbiologic.com website

Biologic is a separate accessory brand (spin off from Dahon):

"We're a collection of artists, engineers, programmers and product designers with a passion for developing innovative products. And we love to cycle. We're scattered around the world in places like Austin, Texas; Humboldt, California; Turku, Finland; Hawkhurst, Kent; Stuttgart, Germany; and Taipei, Taiwan. This means we're working on cool bike gear around the clock and we're influenced by the riding conditions in every corner of the globe, all year round. Our mission is to get more people cycling for everyday transport by developing gear that makes cycling safer, more comfortable, and more convenient."

Mark Bickerton
UK for Tern Bicycles, Biologic

Mark Bickerton's picture

posted by Mark Bickerton [12 posts]
26th January 2011 - 10:50

like this
Like (9)

I'm getting one of these. Big Grin

DaveP's picture

posted by DaveP [467 posts]
10th May 2011 - 14:18

like this
Like (10)

where from?

Dave Atkinson's picture

posted by Dave Atkinson [7252 posts]
10th May 2011 - 14:30

like this
Like (14)

I ordered from the US ThinkBiologic site.

So far the Fedex tracking goes like this:

WU KU HSIANG Taiwan
to
TA YUAN HSIANG Taiwan
to
ANGELES CITY Philippines
to
GUANGZHOU China
to
SHANGHAI
to
ALMATY Kazakhstan
to
KOELN Germany
and now in PARIS..

Each morning we have an office sweep to guess where it's at. Wink

DaveP's picture

posted by DaveP [467 posts]
12th May 2011 - 9:48

like this
Like (9)

I lost the sweep this morning... The lucky thing has had a long weekend in Paris.

DaveP's picture

posted by DaveP [467 posts]
16th May 2011 - 10:17

like this
Like (10)

Paris,
Stockholm,
Koeln,
STANSTEAD!

Where to next?

DaveP's picture

posted by DaveP [467 posts]
18th May 2011 - 8:23

like this
Like (12)

This is an amazing journey.

Dave Atkinson's picture

posted by Dave Atkinson [7252 posts]
18th May 2011 - 9:15

like this
Like (10)

Fedex list my package as being in Liverpool at 4am... What's the betting I don't get it today?

Yawn

( P.S. I had Manchester as my sweep this morning. )

DaveP's picture

posted by DaveP [467 posts]
19th May 2011 - 8:52

like this
Like (13)

Well.. It works, just need to find a handlebar mounted bottle-cage. Big Grin

DaveP's picture

posted by DaveP [467 posts]
23rd May 2011 - 16:14

like this
Like (9)

That's a relief cos it's already put the miles in

Tony Farrelly's picture

posted by Tony Farrelly [4132 posts]
23rd May 2011 - 16:25

like this
Like (9)

I bought one of these and the click mechanism for opening/closing gummed up within a week... Had it replaced but the second one did the same.
Shoddy quality..... Avoid

posted by Hammer [7 posts]
17th October 2013 - 13:58

like this
Like (11)

Mine's still going strong, nearly three years on

Dave Atkinson's picture

posted by Dave Atkinson [7252 posts]
17th October 2013 - 14:08

like this
Like (10)

road.cc reviews

Latest reviews

7/10
£116.99
July 21, 2014
8/10
£99.99
July 19, 2014
9/10
£70.00
July 17, 2014
8/10
£27.99
July 17, 2014
7/10
£9.99
July 16, 2014
9/10
£996.00
July 16, 2014
8/10
£50.00
July 15, 2014
8/10
£24.99
July 15, 2014
5/10
£12.49
July 14, 2014
6/10
£49.99
July 14, 2014
8/10
£1149.00
July 13, 2014
7/10
£90.00
July 13, 2014
8/10
£110.00
July 12, 2014
9/10
£175.00
July 11, 2014
8/10
£39.99
July 10, 2014
8/10
£271.99
July 9, 2014
8/10
£2.99
July 9, 2014
9/10
£1499.00
July 9, 2014
 
1