Torm T6 Jersey  £50.00

8/10

Well-made Sportwool jersey with some neat features, a fabulous price tag... and Rapha-esque styling

Weight 287g   Contact  www.torm.cc

by Mat Brett   November 5, 2010  

Torm T6 jersey

First things first: this isn’t a Rapha jersey. We’ll come back to that point in a mo. What it is, though, is a lightweight Sportwool jersey that’s versatile enough for use from autumn right through to spring.

Sportwool, if you don’t know, is a fabric that has a layer of superfine merino wool on the inner face and tougher polyester on the outside. Rapha use it a lot, so do Shutt VR and various other clothing manufacturers, and now so do new kids on the block Torm. It comes in various weights, the T6 using a fairly lightweight version (170g per square metre, if you want the tech bit), and various compositions – this one is 39% merino, 61% polyester.

The Sportwool feels soft and comfy on your skin and it does a decent job of wicking moisture away. It gets heavier than pure polyester, say, if you sweat hard, and doesn’t dry as quickly, but it does have that natural woolly texture and resists odours better than synthetics – although not as well as pure wool. That means that you can walk into a café mid-ride without stinking the place out… well, not too much.

We’ve been wearing this over the top of both short and long sleeved base layers on autumn rides and it has done a fine job of providing warmth. You get a surprising amount of insulation considering the reasonably light weight (287g) although you’ll certainly need to wear a windproof over the top in winter to keep the warm air in.

The T6 comes in a classic cycle cut – slim with a slightly extended tail, and arms that are long enough to prevent draughts at the wrists. We’ve known higher necks but found this one close-fitting enough to stop the air slinking in, while one-hand adjustable drawstrings at the waist allow you to fine-tune airflow on the fly.

The lower back pockets are really well designed, the tops of the two on the sides being slanted for easy access, and you get two zipped pockets back there too, made from waterproof fabric, each with a hole for threading an earphone cable internally. And, being Sportwool, the pockets don't stretch too far out of shape when you load them up like pure wool can. The front zip is a high-quality option from YKK with a puller that locks down so it doesn’t move or rattle, and a fold-over chinguard at the top stops any scratching under your chin.

We had a couple of slightly pulled threads on our test garment when it arrived but the build-quality is very good with reinforced pocket seams, for example, and neat workmanship throughout. Care is pretty straightforward too; the T6 can go through the washing machine and tumble dryer without any ill effects.

 

 

Okay, back to the Rapha thing. This top looks a helluva lot like Rapha’s Long Sleeve Jersey (£130). Rapha's too, is made from Sportwool, although with a higher merino wool content (52% rather than 39%) and it weighs more (366g compared to 287g). The cut is similar, though not exactly the same, as are the designs of the collar, cuffs and elasticated/drawcord waistband. The shaping of the Torm’s rear pockets looks familiar too, and so do the ring-type zip pulls and flashes of reflective material running horizontally. You even get bands running around the upper arms, although they're in the same colour as the rest of the jersey whereas Rapha run a contrast colour on just the left arm.

There are differences and, of course, no-one has exclusive rights to produce classic-style Sportwool jerseys, but the T6 does look like a Rapha wannabe product. You might be cool with that or you might not. Hey, we’re not marketeers so we don’t need to worry about it – we’re just pointing it out. And, obviously, the Torm is way cheaper, coming in at the same price as a Rapha silk scarf. You pays your money and you takes your choice.

Verdict

Well-made Sportwool jersey with some neat features, a fabulous price tag... and Rapha-esque styling

road.cc test report

Make and model: Torm T6 Jersey

Size tested: Red, large

Tell us what the product is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

Torm say, "Protect yourself against the elements with this high caliber long-sleeved jersey. Made with SportWool this state of the art jersey keeps you running at your optimum temperature.

"As with all of Torm’s jerseys, rear cargo pockets ensure you’ve all your gadgets handy and with drawstrings and tailored cuffs, this jersey really helps you weather the storm. Reflective rear stripes also ensure you are still a visible presence in darker conditions. Regardless of discipline, the T6 is a versatile, practical jersey made to the very highest standards."

That's reasonable. The T6 is aimed at sports-orientated roadies who are after style as well as performance, and it delivers that.

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
8/10
Rate the product for performance:
 
8/10
Rate the product for durability:
 
8/10
Rate the product for comfort, if applicable:
 
8/10
Rate the product for value:
 
9/10

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes

Would you consider buying the product? Maybe, but I'd be happier if it looked more original

Would you recommend the product to a friend? See above

Overall rating: 8/10

About the tester

Age: 40  Height: 190cm  Weight: 74kg

I've been riding for: Over 20 years  I ride: Most days  I would class myself as: Expert

I regularly do the following types of riding: time trialling, commuting, sportives, general fitness riding,

28 user comments

Oldest firstNewest firstBest rated

What about the sizing - is it realistic or 'Italian' or just plain insane?

... ... need more speed!

JC's picture

posted by JC [126 posts]
5th November 2010 - 10:34

like this
Like (9)

posted by Mat Brett [1856 posts]
5th November 2010 - 10:47

like this
Like (7)

sounds good for the money

not all carbon is the same.

Jon Burrage's picture

posted by Jon Burrage [1080 posts]
5th November 2010 - 11:10

like this
Like (9)

I like the little details and for that money it could be a good christmas prezzie for my other half.

TwiggyHo's picture

posted by TwiggyHo [60 posts]
5th November 2010 - 15:41

like this
Like (10)

just bought one - super fast delivery - not worn it in anger yet though

Cycled up Alpe d'Huez at least once each month since July 2008

http://www.morethan21bends.com
http://www.prompt.cc

gbzpto's picture

posted by gbzpto [78 posts]
5th November 2010 - 17:34

like this
Like (7)

Why have they chosen as the lead picture for this review a point in a ride where the geezer has just fallen off his bike and is looking at the car who just missed him with a 'well, you're not a very nice person' look on his face?

posted by bikeylikey [163 posts]
5th November 2010 - 18:11

like this
Like (8)

Saw their products at the Cycle Show and really liked them; good value for money.

Definitely be on my shopping list when I need some new kit.

They seemed to have attracted some flack on a certain pro Rapha blog which is only to be expected I suppose.

posted by BikerBob [115 posts]
5th November 2010 - 19:10

like this
Like (8)

I bought one of these at the cycle show. It actually has a white band on one arm - different to this one tested). The jersey if absolutely fantastic. It's good regardless of price, but the good value does make me feel better. I get a bit fed up with journalists seeming to worship the R brand mentioned. Their stuff is nice, but this Torm jersey does what I need and costs less than half as much. The one downside I've found so far is common to many other similar jerseys. The back pocket zip is not waterproof. Ok for a shower, but not much more, but then with the money I've saved (!) I can put towards a Gore Tex outer layer!

Seriously though, I'd give this 9/10 - rode with it at Tour of the Peak last weekend and it was really comfy. A great new addition to the limited list of quality cycling clothes!!

Addicted to pedaling

posted by moolife [11 posts]
5th November 2010 - 22:24

like this
Like (9)

Say what you like about the big R, moolife, but you can't argue they're not putting hours into R&D and money back into cycling via their Pro team and many other projects. I don't see Torm doing either, simply copying existing designs and knocking them out cheap. For that reason I'm sitting on Rapha's side of the fence for this one. For the record, I don't own a single item of Rapha clothing. Too expensive Smile

Barry Fry-up's picture

posted by Barry Fry-up [187 posts]
5th November 2010 - 23:48

like this
Like (3)

bikeylikey wrote:
Why have they chosen as the lead picture for this review a point in a ride where the geezer has just fallen off his bike and is looking at the car who just missed him with a 'well, you're not a very nice person' look on his face?

That's art that is, you philistine Smile

Dave Atkinson's picture

posted by Dave Atkinson [7312 posts]
5th November 2010 - 23:50

like this
Like (9)

Barry Fry-up wrote:
Say what you like about the big R, moolife, but you can't argue they're not putting hours into R&D and money back into cycling via their Pro team and many other projects. I don't see Torm doing either, simply copying existing designs and knocking them out cheap. For that reason I'm sitting on Rapha's side of the fence for this one. For the record, I don't own a single item of Rapha clothing. Too expensive Smile

Never thought I'd say it, but +1 for the London/Portland guys..

Fixie Girl's picture

posted by Fixie Girl [115 posts]
6th November 2010 - 0:29

like this
Like (8)

Barry Fry-up - I think torm have been around for about 6 months. Did rapha have a fully fledged pro team within 6 months of their inception? They may have, I dont know. You cant compare the two though because they are at different stages.

Rapha have the market cornered in selling sportswool cycling kit with a band of colour (or not) on it at an extremely high price. Torm are looking at the market for sportswool cycling kit with a nice, simple, colour band on it but for those of us with a smaller budget.

Rapha will always have their fans and those fans will have their belief but I think it is unreasonable to say that by making a plain jersey torm have 'copied' rapha. The material is freely available to any company who wants it and they can design the jersey how they want (so long as copyright and logos are not infringed)...surely?

TwiggyHo's picture

posted by TwiggyHo [60 posts]
6th November 2010 - 2:39

like this
Like (7)

fair comment on the time torm have been around, th, and i've no objection to people making sportwool jerseys, there's plenty of folk (shutt vr and colomba spring to mind) that are making nice tops a lot cheaper than rapha. but this just looks like a knock off to me. I wouldn't class myself as a rapha fan but i do respect what they've done and if it was my company i'd be fuming.

Barry Fry-up's picture

posted by Barry Fry-up [187 posts]
6th November 2010 - 9:19

like this
Like (4)

Barry Fry-up wrote:
fair comment on the time torm have been around, th, and i've no objection to people making sportwool jerseys, there's plenty of folk (shutt vr and colomba spring to mind) that are making nice tops a lot cheaper than rapha. but this just looks like a knock off to me. I wouldn't class myself as a rapha fan but i do respect what they've done and if it was my company i'd be fuming.

As someone that bought into Rapha back in 2004 when I lived in London, they supported cycling from the get go. They sponsored courier racing and loads more and they still do... I think Shutt did sponsor their team in their first year and Colomba sponsor a charity ride.

It is possible to do more than sell a knock off jersey on price alone.

Fixie Girl's picture

posted by Fixie Girl [115 posts]
6th November 2010 - 10:28

like this
Like (8)

It's just a bloody cycling jersey. Who holds the copyright on it? No one. Look at what we now call 'polo' shirts - go back as far as Lacoste, then Fred Perry, now Ralph Lauren. Even Marks & Spencer. It's a cotton pique short-sleeved shirt. Two or three button. Logo on left breast. As long as the logo is different I don't think anyone gives a hoot who's 'copying' who. You can buy them for £5 or £95. You make your choice and you don't judge others or the ethics of the manufacturer. I haven't looked, but I doubt there are regular discussions on tennis or fashion forums regarding this matter Yawn

simonmb's picture

posted by simonmb [360 posts]
6th November 2010 - 10:55

like this
Like (7)

Surely imitation is the sincerest form of flattery?

If Torm get established maybe they will sponsor the road.cc team with kit and put something back in the sport?

This isnt a new issue "the rapha question"... I have been causing controversy on here regarding it since January 2009 Confused

http://road.cc/content/blog/1799-daylight-robbery-or-total-snobbery

jimmythecuckoo's picture

posted by jimmythecuckoo [1240 posts]
6th November 2010 - 11:53

like this
Like (6)

jimmythecuckoo wrote:
Surely imitation is the sincerest form of flattery?

For gawds sake what are they imitating? Surprise

As was very well said earlier it's "only a bloody cycling jersey"!

posted by BikerBob [115 posts]
7th November 2010 - 9:18

like this
Like (9)

Aren't Rapha the first to admit that they style their kit on classic designs so are they "ripping" off the originals. Get a grip people. I for one bought big time in to Rapha when I was earning good money (or as it is now earning any money). Some of their kit has been really good and in my opinion worth the cost. Other stuff has been abysmal - their early socks for example - atrocious, wore out in no time at all, shocking. I'm really glad to see another company using similar materials in similar styles at a more affordable price. I accept that Rapha have put money back in to cycling but you will never convince me that some of Rapha's price is due to knowing they can sell to a well heeled section of the market. Plus the fact that their sizes tend to be more aimed at the slim to racing snake end of the market too. If I ever have a job again I may well buy other Rapha products but the chances are that Shutt VR and Torm will be on my shopping list first.

bikeandy61's picture

posted by bikeandy61 [389 posts]
7th November 2010 - 13:38

like this
Like (7)

simonmb wrote:
It's just a bloody cycling jersey. Who holds the copyright on it? No one. Look at what we now call 'polo' shirts - go back as far as Lacoste... I doubt there are regular discussions on tennis or fashion forums regarding this matter Yawn

Nothing should surprise you on the internet:

http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/archive/index.php/t-48044.html

Wink

Simon_MacMichael's picture

posted by Simon_MacMichael [8006 posts]
7th November 2010 - 18:04

like this
Like (8)

Quote:
Nothing should surprise you on the internet:

http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/archive/index.php/t-48044.html

Wink

Heh heh! Love it!!!! Applause

simonmb's picture

posted by simonmb [360 posts]
7th November 2010 - 19:00

like this
Like (9)

The review has got the attention of Dean Downing he was tweeting about it being a rip off.

@deanodown if you are on twitter.

demoff's picture

posted by demoff [344 posts]
8th November 2010 - 10:18

like this
Like (5)

demoff wrote:
The review has got the attention of Dean Downing he was tweeting about it being a rip off.

He's entitled to his opinion, though since he is sponsored by Rapha it is not going to be objective.

This kind of copying has been done in every market sector - polo shirts, watches, websites, bicycle components.... whoever designed the originly lycra shorts would be so upset if they went to a race and saw all those fake copies!

If Torm want to do the same there's no rule saying they have to 'give back to the sport'. If for whatever reason you don't like it then don't buy it.

Simon E's picture

posted by Simon E [1941 posts]
8th November 2010 - 12:08

like this
Like (5)

well it certainly is a debate-starter Smile

Dave Atkinson's picture

posted by Dave Atkinson [7312 posts]
8th November 2010 - 12:49

like this
Like (4)

Rapha rip off.
Wouldnt buy on the basis Torm put nothing back into the sport and are selling on the back of Rapha's years of marketing, building a race team, the Nocturnes ect.
If you want a cheaper option at least go for Shutt, who don't copy anyone.

Ian of Woodford

winprint's picture

posted by winprint [122 posts]
8th November 2010 - 14:37

like this
Like (6)

Unfortunately winprint we cant all base our purchases on that sort of moral standing. I dont believe it is a 'rapha rip off'. There will always be something brought out that is inspired by a previous products, be it a car, a bike, a house etc etc. If a company wants to charge £140 for a jersey and people buy it then good on them, if another wants to make another jersey out of the same fabric (not rapha's own) and sell it for £50 then more people can afford to buy it - fair play to them, it, to me, is ridiculous to say it is a rapha rip off because it is a sportswool jersey with a simple design - there is very little room for flexibility if you want to make a sportswool jersey with a basic design because some people will just shout "rapha rip off", nothing wrong with taking inspiration.

relaxing

PzychotropicMac's picture

posted by PzychotropicMac [82 posts]
8th November 2010 - 18:04

like this
Like (4)

Rapha know how to rip off designs too:
http://www.prendas.co.uk/images/full/20090116_strap_ss.jpg

posted by Pifko [86 posts]
9th November 2010 - 13:30

like this
Like (3)

I can not imagine how long torm will be allowed to trade.

The garments are a near perfect rip off of the design features of the Rapha jersey.

Well done Pikfo, you have found a jersey with the name Raphael on it. Stunning detective work but it is a generic cycliing jersey with a different cut, material etc. Rapha even mention that their name comes from the sub team for Raphael. I think there is a difference between an homage to the past and ripping off someones current work.

The Torm is near enough an identical copy of the rapha jersey but in a cheaper less durable cloth. The pocket angles and size - identical, the sleeve detail - identical, the zipper detail - you may be able to guess where this is going.

Rapha have invested money in design, testing etc. Yes they brand and market themselves but they have also contributed to cycling in the UK.

Torm just appear to have come along and decided they want some of the market but without any of the investment. I like to support the underdog, but I draw the line at supporting a thief.

posted by dancing james [7 posts]
13th November 2010 - 0:15

like this
Like (3)

Got a T5 delivered a couple of days ago. Feels great, fits well, works for me on the bike, and looks fantastic. The red is a touch darker and richer than it appears in the photos - and all the better for it. A bargain for 50 quid (so far - I'll give it a few more rides and washes). More power to Torm. I'll be back for more.

simonmb's picture

posted by simonmb [360 posts]
15th November 2010 - 6:51

like this
Like (7)

road.cc reviews

Latest reviews

8/10
£20.99
August 22, 2014
8/10
£31.99
August 22, 2014
8/10
£100.00
August 21, 2014
9/10
£24.99
August 21, 2014
8/10
£14.99
August 20, 2014
9/10
£2999.00
August 20, 2014
6/10
£21.99
August 19, 2014
8/10
£329.99
August 18, 2014
7/10
£44.99
August 18, 2014
6/10
£7.99
August 17, 2014
8/10
£2899.00
August 17, 2014
9/10
£15.99
August 16, 2014
8/10
£117.00
August 16, 2014
7/10
£35.00
August 15, 2014
2/10
£9.99
August 15, 2014
8/10
£49.99
August 14, 2014
8/10
£180.00
August 13, 2014
8/10
£599.99
August 12, 2014
7/10
£12.99
August 11, 2014
8/10
£1595.00
August 10, 2014
6/10
£8.99
August 9, 2014
8/10
£39.99
August 7, 2014
7/10
£19.99
August 7, 2014
3/10
£9.99
August 6, 2014
9/10
£30.00
August 5, 2014
8/10
£259.99
August 5, 2014
 
1