Dashing Tweeds flat cap with reflective weave  £55.00

9/10

A tweed hat to be seen in - literally

Contact  www.dashingtweeds.co.uk

by TR McGowran   October 30, 2010  

Dashing Tweeds reflective cap - side

This cap is made of a wool mix tweed but there is more to it than just that. The fabric isn't that stuff you see country folk camoflaged in. This tweed has been removed from the fields and urbanised to make it something special. It uses Lumatwill, a woven fabric created by photographer Guy Hills and top fashion weaver Kirsty McDougal, the people behind Dashing Tweeds.

Lumatwill combines a reflective filament within the traditional tweed wool yarn. It is only when it is dark and has a light shone on it that the reflective pattern jumps out like the first time you do one of those 'magic eye' pictures, You really have to see it in the flesh to fully appreciate it. The reflective properties are so well hidden in the fabric that I can't understand why more clothing manufacturers don't start making this sort of fabric more universal and incorporate it into many different types of garment.

The duo behind Dashing Tweeds also create some other incredibly stylish garments using the Lumatwill tweed including capes and whole riding suits, completely bespoke like at Saville Row, with prices to match. Henry Holland did his whole autumn/winter collection using Lumatwill a couple of years ago which bagged him a gong at the Scottish Fashion Awards. So, the material is pretty special and it's constructed in England.

The wool tweed will keep your head warm during those cold rides home yet works extremely well at wicking sweat if your head gets too hot on your competitive commute. This cap is top quality – what you might expect from such a fine pedigree – and at £55 an absolute steal in my opinion.

Verdict

This could be the finest bit of tailoring you'll ever buy. If you are the sort of person that suits a hat then this one is a treat – and it'll help get you seen at night

road.cc test report

Make and model: Dashing Tweeds Flat cap with reflective weave

Size tested: to fit 58cm head

Tell us what the product is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

They use the word dandy at it would appear fitting to such a fine hat.

Tell us some more about the technical aspects of the product?

Made in England using Lumatwill reflective yarn wool tweed.

Available in: Small about 7″, Medium around 7 1/2″ and Large about 7 3/4″

You can go for a completely bespoke size for £135

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
10/10

You don't get better than this!

Rate the product for performance:
 
9/10

It wicks away sweat, it dries quickly, it keeps your head warm, it covers those receded bits and it manages to stay on your head. Plus, it shows traffic where your head is when it is dark.

Rate the product for durability:
 
9/10

This cap, even if worn every day, will last a few years. There aren't many other garments that would hold out that long.

Rate the product for weight, if applicable:
 
8/10

Not really a hat to be worn during the warmer months, the wool is thick enough to keep your head warm on cold winter night rides back from the pub.

Rate the product for comfort, if applicable:
 
9/10

This is the best fitting cap I have ever put on my head. It stays put even at speed yet doesn't feel tight or leave lines on your forehead. The wool does a good job of wicking sweat and also keeping your head warm.

Rate the product for value:
 
9/10

This garment is handmade in England by a real textile genius. I would like to see them signed and numbered because they have that unique, bespoke quality.

Tell us how the product performed overall when used for its designed purpose

When you see this cap in normal daylight then see it at night with a light shone at it you will realise how effective the reflective yarn is. It is amazing.

Tell us what you particularly liked about the product

It looks and fits great and the wool tweed works so well at regulating heat. Plus, it is a great safety garment!

Also, it is handmade in England by real designers.

Tell us what you particularly disliked about the product

Dry clean only.

Did you enjoy using the product? Absolutely

Would you consider buying the product? Definitely

Would you recommend the product to a friend? Of course

Anything further to say about the product in conclusion?

I now want a suit to go with the cap but can't afford it Sad

Overall rating: 9/10

About the tester

Age: 37  Height: 180  Weight: 80

I usually ride: Bike that I am testing at the time  My best bike is: Giant CFR pro. Old school carbon converted to fixed. Kinesis Convert 2 fixed. Shorter cafe racer

I've been riding for: Over 20 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Expert

I regularly do the following types of riding: commuting, touring, club rides, sportives, fixed/singlespeed, bare back

21 user comments

Oldest firstNewest firstBest rated

And first prize for most biased review ever goes to ....

TheHatter's picture

posted by TheHatter [810 posts]
30th October 2010 - 13:14

27 Likes

he loves that hat all right, but I don't see how the review is biased?

Tony Farrelly's picture

posted by Tony Farrelly [4145 posts]
30th October 2010 - 15:15

20 Likes

Just meant there seemed to be nothing objective in it. It also seems to have changed since my comment - every score was 10/10 before?

I think it was the comment "at £55 an absolute steal" that truly got me - its a cloth cap man!

TheHatter's picture

posted by TheHatter [810 posts]
30th October 2010 - 17:04

25 Likes

yeah, only something perfect should get a 10 out of 10 and virtually nothing is perfect. You must have been commenting as the marks were being adjusted to reflect that (if you'll pardon the pun.)

Not sure how that slipped through. On the price - I'd have to say £55 is pretty reasonable for a hand made tweed cap - especially out of that material, it is pretty special stuff.

Personally I couldn't love a hat hat much… I'm surprised though that you, TheHatter. don't understand TR's hat fixation Smile

Tony Farrelly's picture

posted by Tony Farrelly [4145 posts]
30th October 2010 - 17:24

27 Likes

lovely hat but I could not justify the price myself.

The MET ruined my bike

samanosuke's picture

posted by samanosuke [5 posts]
30th October 2010 - 18:20

23 Likes

The "finest bit of tailoring I'll ever buy" will be made to measure, and so far has been. However, an off-the-peg hat sized in eighths of an inch is perfectly acceptable. I require a 7 3/8s. They do not sell one. Medium too small, large too big.

This is a pity, as I'm the sort of well-moneyed and stylistically confused prat this is clearly aimed at.
Cool

posted by BigDummy [291 posts]
2nd November 2010 - 16:55

23 Likes

So its a hat for cycling that's dry clean only ? Ewww. Dunno about the rest of you but I'd want to dry clean it each time I ride ?

cougie's picture

posted by cougie [3 posts]
2nd November 2010 - 18:43

26 Likes

@BigDummy, the fully tailored hat is £135. I suggest you try on the medium because 7 3/8" is 'around' 7 1/2 (Medium equivalent to 7 4/8 give or take 1/8).

@TheHatter, I honestly can't fault this hat for what it is. In my opinion it is as close to perfection that a flat cap can be. What differentiates this from an ordinary cloth cap is the special Lumatwill material, the fact it is made by hand in England, how well it stays on your head and the very high quality of finish plus it is the only reflective flat cap I am aware of. It is a bit like comparing a pastry from Gregs to one served at the Ritz, the ingredients are similar but the end result isn't.

It's not just about the size of your cog.

TRs Blurb n Blog's picture

posted by TRs Blurb n Blog [270 posts]
2nd November 2010 - 18:50

24 Likes

If you're pedalling your fashion fixie slowly round town you won't work up a sweat, so "dry clean only" doesn't matter!

two wheels good; four wheels bad

posted by cat1commuter [1347 posts]
2nd November 2010 - 18:50

27 Likes

riding a fixie around town is more a way of life than a fashion statement for TR and he doesn't do it slowly either, he's a right sweaty bugger too… that cap must be minging!

Tony Farrelly's picture

posted by Tony Farrelly [4145 posts]
2nd November 2010 - 19:35

26 Likes

I bung it in a regular 30 degrees wash all the time without bother.
True enough, if you are pedalling slowly it won't need washed so often.
P.s. I thought the trend was in road bikes right now?

It's not just about the size of your cog.

TRs Blurb n Blog's picture

posted by TRs Blurb n Blog [270 posts]
2nd November 2010 - 23:02

23 Likes

Why "biased" and "nothing objective"? If someone likes something, even if they think it's perfect and give it 10 out of 10 across the board, that doesn't mean they're biased. Not even close.

posted by Mat Brett [1888 posts]
3rd November 2010 - 16:15

26 Likes

TR wrote:

"If you are the sort of person that suits a hat"

I think it is safe to say that Oli is not such a person.

jezzzer's picture

posted by jezzzer [339 posts]
3rd November 2010 - 16:29

25 Likes

So it took 13 comments before someone mentioned the ridiculous photo of me then, if I'm honest I thought that would've come sooner. I have a feeling that the insult genie is now out of the bottle...

Oli's picture

posted by Oli [102 posts]
3rd November 2010 - 16:35

28 Likes

Oli wrote:
I have a feeling that the insult genie is now out of the bottle...

"Gettorff moy laaand..."

That is all Wink

Simon_MacMichael's picture

posted by Simon_MacMichael [8169 posts]
3rd November 2010 - 16:57

25 Likes

£55 quid for the hat, what price the suit?

antonio

antonio's picture

posted by antonio [957 posts]
3rd November 2010 - 17:01

24 Likes

jezzzer wrote:
"If you are the sort of person that suits a hat"

I think it is safe to say that Oli is not such a person.

Physician, heal thyself Smile

jezhat.jpg
Dave Atkinson's picture

posted by Dave Atkinson [7407 posts]
3rd November 2010 - 17:01

24 Likes

dave_atkinson wrote:
jezzzer wrote:
"If you are the sort of person that suits a hat"

I think it is safe to say that Oli is not such a person.

Physician, heal thyself Smile

I'd say that jezzzer looks pretty good in that photo.

Sleeves on his cardigan are a bit short though...

two wheels good; four wheels bad

posted by cat1commuter [1347 posts]
3rd November 2010 - 17:46

25 Likes

TRs Blurb n Blog wrote:

@TheHatter, I honestly can't fault this hat for what it is. In my opinion it is as close to perfection that a flat cap can be. What differentiates this from an ordinary cloth cap is the special Lumatwill material, the fact it is made by hand in England, how well it stays on your head and the very high quality of finish plus it is the only reflective flat cap I am aware of. It is a bit like comparing a pastry from Gregs to one served at the Ritz, the ingredients are similar but the end result isn't.

Fair enough , if it makes you happy then it's worth the money.
I just wish you hadn't mentioned greggs cos now I really need a sausage roll.
Smile

TheHatter's picture

posted by TheHatter [810 posts]
3rd November 2010 - 20:54

22 Likes

cat1commuter wrote:
dave_atkinson wrote:
jezzzer wrote:
"If you are the sort of person that suits a hat"

I think it is safe to say that Oli is not such a person.

Physician, heal thyself Smile

I'd say that jezzzer looks pretty good in that photo.

Sleeves on his cardigan are a bit short though...

Guess that depends on whether or not you're counting the (contrasting) cuffs. If you are, then they're just about right actually. Thanks for the props.

jezzzer's picture

posted by jezzzer [339 posts]
4th November 2010 - 15:38

24 Likes

antonio wrote:
£55 quid for the hat, what price the suit?

suit?! looks more like some sort of glc leisurewear to me...

jezzzer's picture

posted by jezzzer [339 posts]
4th November 2010 - 15:44

20 Likes

road.cc reviews

Latest reviews

7/10
£699.00
October 1, 2014
7/10
£17.99
October 1, 2014
6/10
£74.99
September 30, 2014
9/10
£475.00
September 29, 2014
8/10
£59.99
September 29, 2014
9/10
£1350.00
September 28, 2014
8/10
£100.00
September 27, 2014
8/10
£80.00
September 27, 2014
7/10
£79.00
September 27, 2014
8/10
£45.00
September 26, 2014
7/10
£10.00
September 26, 2014
9/10
£23.56
September 25, 2014
5/10
£68.99
September 25, 2014
3/10
£59.99
September 24, 2014
10/10
£13.75
September 24, 2014
6/10
£199.00
September 23, 2014
7/10
£69.00
September 22, 2014
9/10
£79.00
September 21, 2014
8/10
£59.99
September 21, 2014
5/10
£39.95
September 20, 2014
8/10
£26.99
September 20, 2014
8/10
£24.99
September 19, 2014
8/10
£89.99
September 18, 2014
6/10
£9.99
September 17, 2014
9/10
£2506.15
September 17, 2014
7/10
£39.99
September 16, 2014
8/10
£20.00
September 16, 2014
9/10
£70.00
September 15, 2014
4/10
£87.99
September 15, 2014
8/10
£32.99
September 14, 2014
 
1