Lezyne Caddy Sack  £7.99

7/10

Neat and simple way of keeping things tidy on the road.

Weight 31g   Contact  www.upgradebikes.co.uk

by rob_simmonds   January 15, 2010  

Lezyne Caddy Sack

Find a store

This neat little waterproof pouch from Lezyne makes it easy to keep those essential oddments in the right place.

I hate going out on a ride without my spare kit but I also hate having bulging pockets. It's not a good look, plus there's always the chance that you might lose stuff as you rootle about looking for an energy bar, not to mention the chance of things getting wet. This wee pocket pouch will easily hold a tool plus a spare tube, repair kit and a few other vital bits and bobs. It's sturdily made from tough plasticated fabric and the seams and zip are sealed so unless you take your bike bog-snorkelling on a regular basis, everything should stay nice and dry. The zip pull is nice and chunky too, ideal if you're fumbling for a tool with gloves on.

It's exactly the right shape and size for a jersey pocket and the stiff fabric keeps things in a tidy package rather than a shapeless lump. It's hardly the most vital piece of kit but it's surprisingly useful and more practical than an under seat pack if you have more than one bike.

Verdict

A neat and simple way of keeping things tidy on the road.

road.cc test report

Make and model: Lezyne Caddy Sack

Size tested: Black

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
8/10
Rate the product for performance:
 
7/10
Rate the product for durability:
 
8/10
Rate the product for weight, if applicable:
 
7/10
Rate the product for value:
 
7/10

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes

Would you consider buying the product? Possibly

Would you recommend the product to a friend? Yes

Overall rating: 7/10

About the tester

Age: 40  Height: 5\' 8  Weight: er....86kg

I usually ride: GT Rave - singlespeed conversion  My best bike is: Guess SC1 scandium

I've been riding for: Over 20 years  I ride: Most days  I would class myself as: Experienced

I regularly do the following types of riding: time trialling, commuting, general fitness riding, fixed/singlespeed,

9 user comments

Oldest firstNewest firstBest rated

A really good idea but it's £13 for a plastic purse, you may as well just be done and get the Rapha one in leather with nice branding for £40.

It's probably a bit worrying too admit that I keep scouring John Lewis for just the right size single zip leather purse to fit the bill....

posted by Raouligan [12 posts]
15th January 2010 - 12:18

like this
Like (0)

Pencil case from Poundland, £1.
Solution without a problem, £13.

neilwheel's picture

posted by neilwheel [130 posts]
15th January 2010 - 13:23

like this
Like (0)

neilwheel wrote:
Pencil case from Poundland, £1.
Solution without a problem, £13.

exactly...

p.s. lets see a pic of your Anderson 953, im jealous already. Big Grin

Fringe's picture

posted by Fringe [1081 posts]
15th January 2010 - 14:27

like this
Like (0)

Worth rummaging in those leather purses and wallet bargain bins you see outside shops. I picked up a jersey pocket sized double zipped leather case holds a tube, levers mini, tool, some folding stuff and a phone in a ziploc bag for £4.

demoff's picture

posted by demoff [344 posts]
16th January 2010 - 13:50

like this
Like (2)

As I said, it's not exactly an essential item (my kit usually lives in a washbag which lurks in whatever pannier/rucksack I'm testing) but it does what it's designed to do and it's pretty much waterproof. Given the number of people who use pencil cases, cheap leather wallets etc I'd say that it does serve a useful function, this solution just happens to be a bit more expensive that some of the others.

posted by rob_simmonds [130 posts]
16th January 2010 - 16:27

like this
Like (1)

Just heard from the chaps at Lezyne who have told us that the Caddy Sack is now £7.99, not £12.99 - we've amended the review above accordingly

Dave Atkinson's picture

posted by Dave Atkinson [6995 posts]
18th January 2010 - 15:34

like this
Like (1)

Seat pack much nicer. Tiny little Spesh one for mke (but could just have been a Lezyne one), winched up super tight so it doesn't wobble or rattle.

That leaves mobile phone, credit card and house keys for the jersey pocket.

But £8 isn't outrageous, even in the weird world of cycling, where £40 carbon fibre bottle cages are an "essential" purchase... Smile

posted by ourmaninthenorth [93 posts]
18th January 2010 - 17:44

like this
Like (1)

I have a little waterproof 'purse' that Mrs B got somewhere. Can get in my id, cash, key for mini bike lock and mobile at a squeeze. Nice to have stuff in one place and poundland type places do have suitable items.

Blackhound's picture

posted by Blackhound [429 posts]
18th January 2010 - 21:01

like this
Like (0)

1 more vote for the seatpack - keeps all that stuff away from your body. And if you've got a Fizik saddle there's no excuse not to get one of these if you ask me: http://bit.ly/c23jEu - unless you go for the slightly larger one, which I wish I'd done on reflection.

Martin Thomas's picture

posted by Martin Thomas [560 posts]
27th January 2010 - 23:34

like this
Like (0)

road.cc reviews

Latest reviews

8/10
£29.99
April 2, 2014
8/10
£1150.00
April 2, 2014
8/10
£89.99
March 31, 2014
8/10
£29.99
March 31, 2014
9/10
£9499.00
March 30, 2014
9/10
£19.99
March 29, 2014
6/10
£4.99
March 27, 2014
6/10
£62.99
March 27, 2014
8/10
£209.99
March 24, 2014
9/10
£925.00
March 23, 2014
8/10
£209.00
March 22, 2014
7/10
£27.99
March 22, 2014
7/10
£21.99
March 21, 2014
8/10
£199.99
March 21, 2014
6/10
£129.99
March 20, 2014
8/10
£2529.00
March 19, 2014
7/10
£169.99
March 19, 2014
6/10
£115.00
March 18, 2014
8/10
£225.00
March 18, 2014
7/10
£59.99
March 17, 2014
8/10
£41.99
March 17, 2014
6/10
£39.99
March 16, 2014
 
1