Rapha 3/4 women's tights  £150.00

8/10

Super comfortable, soft 3/4 tights at a slightly less comfortable price

Weight 195g   Contact  www.rapha.cc

by Africa Mason   May 14, 2014  

Designed for those rides when you don't want to wear bib shorts, these Rapha Women's Tights are made from a comfortable high-stretch fabric. You honestly wont feel you even have them on.

The extra length of these leggings gives a flattering shape. Features such as the v-shaped waistband add a feminine touch to the overall design and also ensure that they won't dig in. A high-rise back ensures an excellent fit in the riding position and reflective details increase visibility.

Flat lock stitching reduces chafing, and they're held in place around the calves by soft gripper elastic. The tights also feature the signature polka dot label and a tonal, gloss Rapha logo - that's what you're paying for, right?

The sizing is odd. I am a size 8 but wore a 12 and they were not too baggy at all, slightly loose but comfortable. I always think it is better to have them too small to ensure there is no catching of the padding on the saddle. Make sure you try before you buy as the padding gathered slightly at the front of my saddle and this was slightly irritating. When you consider the cost, you wouldn't want to get sizing wrong.

Although the colour may appear boring the 'Slate' shade is very subtle, more of a grey/blue than a dull grey and similar to yoga style capris, which are very in at the moment. This item is a staple piece of kit which would match many of my jerseys in my kit box, these could also be worn on casual rides yet still look fashionable as the length ensures a modest compromise through the spring and summer months.

If you have cash to splash then these 3/4 tights are a great option comfort wise, they are well suited for steady road rides or commuting as a subtle design ensure that these leggings can be worn through spring and summer.

Verdict

Super comfortable, soft 3/4 tights at a slightly less comfortable price

road.cc test report

Make and model: Rapha 3/4 women's tights

Size tested: Medium, Green

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
8/10

Comfy, and stayed in place even with no shoulder straps.

Rate the product for performance:
 
8/10
Rate the product for durability:
 
7/10

No issues on test. It feels like the material might wear out if used for big mileage.

Rate the product for comfort, if applicable:
 
9/10

Most comfortable tights I've worn

Rate the product for value:
 
4/10

No getting away from the massive price here.

Tell us how the product performed overall when used for its designed purpose

Well, but I found they would be more suited to shorter rides as the fabric gave a more relaxed feel.

Tell us what you particularly liked about the product

* Soft material. I wanted to keep them on and wear them around the house; comparable to the feel of yoga pants.

* The soft grey colour is suitable for casual cycling and commuting.

* Beautiful cross over design on the front.

Tell us what you particularly disliked about the product

* At a price of £150 I feel this is too much to pay for a seasonal item – it really depends how much you wear them

* Although the design on the front is lovely, there was no tightening cord. Therefore getting the fit right is really important to avoid saggy padding catching on the saddle.

* No pockets anywhere! I love storing my house key or small change on the back of my leggings, it's always useful and for the price of these I would expect one.

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes.

Would you consider buying the product? Not at this price.

Would you recommend the product to a friend? If they won the lottery.

Overall rating: 8/10

About the tester

Age: 0  Height:   Weight:

I usually ride:   My best bike is:

I've been riding for:   I ride:   I would class myself as:

I regularly do the following types of riding:

 

15 user comments

Oldest firstNewest firstBest rated

Tell the model next time that cycle shorts etc are worn without anything underneath - it's so fundamental, it's not even listed in 'the rules'.

I love my bike's picture

posted by I love my bike [41 posts]
14th May 2014 - 12:11

like this
Like (10)

How on earth are we going to encourage more females whilst people like you make such an unnecessary comment.

Did the billy goats get the better of you again?

FATBEGGARONABIKE's picture

posted by FATBEGGARONABIKE [583 posts]
14th May 2014 - 12:25

like this
Like (22)

It's slightly worrying that you were looking closely enough to even notice.

posted by Nick T [797 posts]
14th May 2014 - 12:38

like this
Like (19)

I love my bike wrote:
Tell the model next time that cycle shorts etc are worn without anything underneath - it's so fundamental, it's not even listed in 'the rules'.

Bellend.

chrisp1973's picture

posted by chrisp1973 [57 posts]
14th May 2014 - 13:16

like this
Like (16)

I love my bike wrote:
Tell the model next time that cycle shorts etc are worn without anything underneath - it's so fundamental, it's not even listed in 'the rules'.

Ever thought that maybe high value test items need to be returned after review?

Also, ever actually realised that "the rules" are tongue in cheek and that bike riding, and anything that goes with it, can be done by anyone, wearing anything in any way or means they like?

What's fundamental is the fact that it shouldn't bloody matter what she's wearing in some token photographs for a review.

Merlin Cycles women's race team ~ http://www.merlincycles.com
Manx nerd peddler ~ http://mooleur.blogspot.com

mooleur's picture

posted by mooleur [542 posts]
14th May 2014 - 13:20

like this
Like (25)

I'd probably say that the model - in an attempt to 'provide absolutely no sexual stimuli to obvious perverts' wore some undergarments especially for that reason...
heck she probably even considered a pair of Bridget Jones granny pants...

The_Kaner
FREEEEEEEEDOM!

The _Kaner's picture

posted by The _Kaner [409 posts]
14th May 2014 - 14:00

like this
Like (13)

'Designed for those rides when you don't want to wear bib shorts…' (meaning a bit too chilly, presumably?)

'… You honestly wont feel you even have them on.' (so I'll still feel cold - what's the point of that, then?)

posted by Yennings [210 posts]
14th May 2014 - 16:41

like this
Like (14)

I love my bike wrote:
Tell the model next time that cycle shorts etc are worn without anything underneath - it's so fundamental, it's not even listed in 'the rules'.

And then get people commented about how they can see her bum. Yes, that has happened on this website.

Get a grip for god's sake.

Claud And I's picture

posted by Claud And I [16 posts]
14th May 2014 - 18:37

like this
Like (13)

This thread has certainly taken a different direction than most other Rapha reviews which is a nice change but I didn't realise some people had such strong views on cycling underwear etiquette. I suppose it's good to be passionate about something in life.

Northernbike's picture

posted by Northernbike [127 posts]
14th May 2014 - 20:19

like this
Like (10)

I love my bike wrote:
Tell the model next time that cycle shorts etc are worn without anything underneath - it's so fundamental, it's not even listed in 'the rules'.

oh dear, 'the rules' what a massive helmet.

oh look a woman in lycra, make stupid comment.. you are a special one for sure! if your ever riding in the southwest please ensure you stick your views up your arse you narrow minded w - anchor

posted by russyparkin [579 posts]
14th May 2014 - 23:29

like this
Like (9)

I'm not sure why people are having a go. I thought it was fairly common knowledge that you don't wear underwear with a chamois for chaffing reasons. I think the chap was just trying to have banter, and it seemed fairly clear that he knows that the rules are not a highway code for cyclists….only someone a little poe faced might suggest otherwise.

I must admit that he has sharp eyes as I really had to look to see if she had VPL. Why is everyone so over-protective of what is neither a sexist or patronising comment? I've read reams of chat-room talk amongst guys talking about chamois etiquette.

Maybe Mooleur is right and she has to so that the product can be returned. I would be surprised if it is though. Surely a product test should be done in a way which allows replicated usage……anyway I wouldn't blame a woman for wearing underwear for certain reasons and really I couldn't care less if the model does or doesn't wear undercrackers.

What I do know is that some of the women I see riding to work in leggings really don't know how threadbare they are.

But back to the shorts - this really isn't a stunning endorsement of the shorts for the price. Someone made the comment about being cold in them, which seems to be reading into the article something which isn't there. They look good, but comments about the chamois certainly put me off considering these for my other half at £150……though good news, there's 20% off on the women's line at Rapha at the mo…..

posted by Colin Peyresourde [1119 posts]
15th May 2014 - 0:19

like this
Like (8)

Alas, the life of a cycling model - it is not so glamorous where we get brand new clothes for a shoot. What if the model is not the reviewer - the model might not be so pleased to wear a pre-worn chamois, and vice versa for the reviewer? What if the model has to model several clothes on a shoot, which involves getting into and out of a few sets of bibs? Practicality is the order of the day.
Anyway, I think this was a well-written review.
"Would you recommend the product to a friend? If they won the lottery." hah!

posted by Donlad [6 posts]
15th May 2014 - 16:43

like this
Like (7)

Far too expensive.

posted by oliverjames [15 posts]
16th May 2014 - 9:37

like this
Like (5)

Some figure.

The best thing about Cycling is Women's Cycling.

posted by dogcc [104 posts]
16th May 2014 - 20:54

like this
Like (7)

The 'seasonal' comment misses the point for me. It isn't the length of the season but the length of the ride that counts. I own Rapha shorts and after chaffing my gusset on other makes for years I always wear the £150 shorts on long rides.

It's no use saying they're not worth the money if you haven't experienced the difference. Jerseys and macs aren't crucial but the extra cost matters in the case of what part of me contacts the saddle. Confused

If you were driving long distance, wanted to be comfortable and were offered a old Fiat Panda or a brand new Mercedes which would you choose?

Silly me. You're probably right....

MercuryOne's picture

posted by MercuryOne [1057 posts]
17th May 2014 - 16:44

like this
Like (4)

road.cc reviews

Latest reviews

6/10
£49.99
August 27, 2014
8/10
£1250.00
August 27, 2014
5/10
£54.99
August 26, 2014
7/10
£29.99
August 26, 2014
9/10
£155.00
August 25, 2014
8/10
£34.99
August 24, 2014
8/10
£2299.00
August 24, 2014
3/10
£124.99
August 23, 2014
8/10
£149.99
August 23, 2014
8/10
£20.99
August 22, 2014
8/10
£31.99
August 22, 2014
8/10
£100.00
August 21, 2014
9/10
£24.99
August 21, 2014
8/10
£14.99
August 20, 2014
9/10
£2999.00
August 20, 2014
6/10
£21.99
August 19, 2014
8/10
£329.99
August 18, 2014
7/10
£44.99
August 18, 2014
6/10
£7.99
August 17, 2014
8/10
£2899.00
August 17, 2014
9/10
£15.99
August 16, 2014
8/10
£117.00
August 16, 2014
7/10
£35.00
August 15, 2014
2/10
£9.99
August 15, 2014
8/10
£49.99
August 14, 2014
8/10
£180.00
August 13, 2014
8/10
£599.99
August 12, 2014
7/10
£12.99
August 11, 2014
8/10
£1595.00
August 10, 2014
 
1