BTwin Comp 0.4L Seat Post Bike Bag  £7.99

10/10

Perfect inexpensive small saddlebag

Weight 131g   Contact  www.decathlon.co.uk

by Dave Atkinson   May 13, 2014  

This BTwin seat pack is great. Simple and swappable and just the right size for the things you'd normally put in it. I wholeheartedly recommend it.

At a penny under eight quid you're probably not expecting the earth, but the Comp 0.4l Seat Post Bike Bag (another snappy name, chaps) has everything you need. It's a semi-rigid construction with a good quality zip that goes all the way round. There are reflective patches on all sides, and a light loop too. Inside there's enough space for a tube, levers, a tool and a puncture kit.

The best thing about this pack though is the mount. It's sprung, so you just push the two halves in, slip it between the rails and let go. It's stayed put on every ride on a range of bikes, and it doesn't catch my thighs. And if it doesn't catch mine, yours are probably safe.

Taking it off takes about one second, so switching it between bikes is the simplest thing ever and you can take it off when doing repairs on the side of the road too, which is more of a bonus than you might imagine. The design means it'll fit any round-railed saddle. If you have special needs with regards to your rails, you're out of luck. Otherwise, happy days. The first time I fitted it, I fitted it the wrong way round - the mount is sort of counter-intuitive. Once you've worked that out though, it works perfectly on every saddle I've tried, which is a few.

There's literally nothing not to like about it. The mount (hard plastic) has pulled away from the semi rigid case a little bit, so you can see underneath the middle of it, but the rivets holding the two bits together are still tight as new, and it doesn't look in any danger of failing; it's no different from a bunch of other seatpacks I've used in that regard.

Given that it has a 2-year guarantee the worst case scenario is that you have to buy a new one 2 years down the line, so that's an outlay of £4 a year. For the money, I simply can't find fault with it.

Go and buy one. I would say buy two, but it's so easy to swap that there's just no need.

Verdict

Perfect small budget saddlebag

road.cc test report

Make and model: BTwin Comp 0.4L Seat Post Bike Bag

Size tested: Black

Tell us what the product is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

Capacity: 0.4L.

Ease of use: 1 compartment. Attaches to saddle rail. Reflectors.

Low weight / lightweight: 120 g.

Guarantee : 2 Years

Rate the product for performance:
 
10/10
Rate the product for durability:
 
8/10
Rate the product for weight, if applicable:
 
8/10
Rate the product for value:
 
10/10

Tell us how the product performed overall when used for its designed purpose

Without fault.

Tell us what you particularly liked about the product

Great mount, easy to swap between bikes, just the right size.

Tell us what you particularly disliked about the product

Nothing.

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes.

Would you consider buying the product? Yes.

Would you recommend the product to a friend? Yes.

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
8/10

Overall rating: 10/10

About the tester

Age: 41  Height: 190cm  Weight: 102kg

I usually ride: whatever I'm testing...  My best bike is: Genesis Equilibrium 853

I've been riding for: 10-20 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Experienced

I regularly do the following types of riding: commuting, club rides, sportives, general fitness riding, fixed/singlespeed, mtb, Mountain Bike Bog Snorkelling, track

 

17 user comments

Oldest firstNewest firstBest rated

im more interested in what seatpost that is!

posted by mudrush [11 posts]
13th May 2014 - 16:06

56 Likes

> I would say buy two, but it's so easy to swap that there's just no need.

I'm tempted to get more bags so bikes with different tyre sizes can have right size tube in a bag at all times. Still needs to be easily swappable so it can be removed when the bike is locked up.

posted by armb [33 posts]
13th May 2014 - 16:20

48 Likes

can u buy an additional mount?

posted by Ashbyrich [1 posts]
13th May 2014 - 16:26

49 Likes

Ashbyrich wrote:
can u buy an additional mount?

Looking at the pictures, and reading the text, it looks like the bag and mount are all-in-one. The mount has a spring loaded section which you squeeze in and then it just clips to the seat rails.
Looks just the job.

Did Nightrider 2013 and 2014 for Parkinson's UK. Might just have one last go in 2015.

jova54's picture

posted by jova54 [619 posts]
13th May 2014 - 18:50

45 Likes

the bag and mount are one piece, riveted together. you just pull the whole thing off

Quote:
im more interested in what seatpost that is!

it's one of these:

http://ridefullgas.com/spn-precision-speed-metal-titanium-seat-post-31-6mm/

Dave Atkinson's picture

posted by Dave Atkinson [7388 posts]
13th May 2014 - 19:54

46 Likes

It looks like the saddle is positioned in the extreme backward position... Won't there be issues squeezing it in, if your saddle is further forward?

(I have a nice Lezyne one, that I can't use for this reason)

nowasps's picture

posted by nowasps [253 posts]
14th May 2014 - 9:20

44 Likes

Any chance of a photo from beneath the saddle? You say you put the bag on the wrong way first so a view of how it sits correctly would help. This looks a decent bit of kit, a bit more sturdy than those velcro-fastened ones Continental sell (though they do come with an inner and some (very flimsy) levers).

Zermattjohn's picture

posted by Zermattjohn [69 posts]
14th May 2014 - 9:34

51 Likes

There is a 0.2l version (much more suited to road use, still with room for tube, levers & mini-tool), which would have more clearance, but it's best to try it on your bike/saddle before buying.

I love my bike's picture

posted by I love my bike [41 posts]
14th May 2014 - 12:25

48 Likes

Ashbyrich wrote:
can u buy an additional mount?

Rolling On The Floor Rolling On The Floor Rolling On The Floor

Buy two packs, drill out the 3 rivets on one and hey presto, you have a spare additional mount...oh wait a min...

The_Kaner
FREEEEEEEEDOM!

The _Kaner's picture

posted by The _Kaner [438 posts]
14th May 2014 - 13:02

47 Likes

Any chance of a photo from beneath the saddle?

I guess this is the internet Smile

personally I like room for some bierre money and got a couple of Blackburns that have a nice mesh pocket that means a puncture repair doesn't cost more than it should
but then again at that price with btwin last for ever build looks very good

posted by antigee [153 posts]
15th May 2014 - 13:18

42 Likes

I bought one of these on the strength of the review and it arrived today. It's a very nice design and the spring loaded bracket is very strong.

But I cannot get it to fit either of my bikes. On the Canyon it fouls the back of the seatpost, even when I moved the seat back 10mm. On the Bianchi there isn't enough of the level seat rails showing. It will fit on the sloping splayed section going up to the rear of the seat, but on wriggling it sprung off.

All of which is a pity and I will be sending it back with regret for a refund. Basically, unless you have a zero setback post with the seat pushed back, this won't fit.

drmatthewhardy's picture

posted by drmatthewhardy [319 posts]
16th May 2014 - 13:22

43 Likes

drmatthewhardy wrote:
I bought one of these on the strength of the review and it arrived today. It's a very nice design and the spring loaded bracket is very strong.

But I cannot get it to fit either of my bikes. On the Canyon it fouls the back of the seatpost, even when I moved the seat back 10mm. On the Bianchi there isn't enough of the level seat rails showing. It will fit on the sloping splayed section going up to the rear of the seat, but on wriggling it sprung off.

All of which is a pity and I will be sending it back with regret for a refund. Basically, unless you have a zero setback post with the seat pushed back, this won't fit.

Sorry you weren't able to use it but great info. I'm looking to get one but don't want to be stuck like you. Do you have any idea what the minimum exposed rail length needs to be to fit without fouling the seatpost?

Cheers Big Grin

Did Nightrider 2013 and 2014 for Parkinson's UK. Might just have one last go in 2015.

jova54's picture

posted by jova54 [619 posts]
18th May 2014 - 12:58

44 Likes

armb wrote:
> I would say buy two, but it's so easy to swap that there's just no need.

I'm tempted to get more bags so bikes with different tyre sizes can have right size tube in a bag at all times. Still needs to be easily swappable so it can be removed when the bike is locked up.

+1 to that - a difficult problem to crack.

I solved this with a tool bottle for my commuter (wide tubes, Schrader valves), and a seat pack for my road bike (narrow tubes, Presta valves). Because my commuter gets left locked up outside, so a seat pack would go missing; the tool bottle lives in the bottom of my bag until it's needed, then comes out to save the day.

Also the tool bottle I use costs £2. So you can buy 4!

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/elite-felicano-water-bottle-container...

PJ McNally's picture

posted by PJ McNally [587 posts]
18th May 2014 - 13:46

42 Likes

jova54 wrote:
drmatthewhardy wrote:
I bought one of these on the strength of the review and it arrived today. It's a very nice design and the spring loaded bracket is very strong.

But I cannot get it to fit either of my bikes. On the Canyon it fouls the back of the seatpost, even when I moved the seat back 10mm. On the Bianchi there isn't enough of the level seat rails showing. It will fit on the sloping splayed section going up to the rear of the seat, but on wriggling it sprung off.

All of which is a pity and I will be sending it back with regret for a refund. Basically, unless you have a zero setback post with the seat pushed back, this won't fit.

Sorry you weren't able to use it but great info. I'm looking to get one but don't want to be stuck like you. Do you have any idea what the minimum exposed rail length needs to be to fit without fouling the seatpost?

Cheers Big Grin

i did fit it to other bikes that had layback posts and i didn't have any issues. however, i do tend to run the saddle a good way back on the rails, so missed the point that it wouldn't necessarily always fit. apologies for that Wink

Dave Atkinson's picture

posted by Dave Atkinson [7388 posts]
18th May 2014 - 15:44

44 Likes

I also bought one (the 0.2 l one) on the strength of this review and I have to say so far I'm impressed. Fits everything I need in and sits very firmly on the rails. It fits fine on both my bikes, both of which have setback seatposts and saddles (ISM Adamo Prologue) pushed a long way forward. I have it on the sloping bit of the rails, and the back of the bag just touches the seatpost. Seems to hold on pretty well there.

posted by pirnie [185 posts]
19th May 2014 - 11:22

41 Likes

.

posted by levermonkey [368 posts]
27th May 2014 - 21:46

22 Likes

Bought one last week and had to return it to the store immediately as it didn't fit my (somewhat older) saddle - the distance between the saddle rails was too narrow for the bag's mount to attach to it.

posted by happy_otter [1 posts]
4th June 2014 - 2:18

9 Likes

road.cc reviews

Latest reviews

7/10
£69.00
September 22, 2014
10/10
£79.00
September 21, 2014
8/10
£59.99
September 21, 2014
5/10
£39.95
September 20, 2014
8/10
£26.99
September 20, 2014
8/10
£24.99
September 19, 2014
8/10
£89.99
September 18, 2014
6/10
£9.99
September 17, 2014
9/10
£2506.15
September 17, 2014
7/10
£39.99
September 16, 2014
8/10
£20.00
September 16, 2014
9/10
£70.00
September 15, 2014
4/10
£87.99
September 15, 2014
8/10
£32.99
September 14, 2014
5/10
£25.99
September 14, 2014
9/10
£1.79
September 13, 2014
8/10
£279.99
September 12, 2014
6/10
£55.65
September 11, 2014
8/10
£90.00
September 11, 2014
6/10
£64.99
September 10, 2014
8/10
£70.00
September 9, 2014
8/10
£95.00
September 9, 2014
8/10
£39.99
September 8, 2014
8/10
£254.99
September 7, 2014
9/10
£54.99
September 7, 2014
8/10
£120.00
September 6, 2014
9/10
£63.99
September 6, 2014
8/10
£29.99
September 5, 2014
9/10
£67.99
September 4, 2014
7/10
£9.99
September 3, 2014
 
1