Home
Verdict: 
Very good pro-level lid that's light and comfortable
Weight: 
197g
Contact: 
www.zyro.co.uk
Giro Aeon helmet
8 10

Giro's Aeon has been in the range for a few years now, but it's still easily holding its own as a really well ventilated, lightweight race helmet. It replaced the Prolight and Ionos at the top of the Giro pile; the Prolight has since been discontinued and the Ionos moved down to the second tier, £40 cheaper.

With our test model creeping under 200g by three grams, the Aeon is one of the lightest helmets out there. The fact that it's hugely ventilated helps with that; the Aeon features a thermoformed skeleton inside the EPS foam to keep the structure rigid. The shell is bonded in the mould for extra resilience, as you'd expect from most lids these days. The Aeon conforms to European CE standards.

Retention on your bonce is taken care of by Giro's Roc Loc 5 which is a minimal-but-very-effective clicky dial affair with enough up and down adjustment to get it just so on the back of your head.

The lightweight theme is carried on to the webbing straps that are noticeably thinner than usual. They're a bit more flexible as a result, and sit very comfortably against the sides of your head. The strap guides at the side of the helmet have shrunk a bit too, but they're still very usable and you can adjust the length of the front and rear straps for a perfect fit, which isn't possible with some lightweight retention systems.

Once it's on you'd barely know it was there. The 24 vents let masses of air through and the pads, although minimal, are perfectly placed to keep the lid comfy. They're contain silver antibacterial fibres too to keep the whiffs at bay. It feels plenty comfortable with the flexible straps and lightweight retention keeping everything firmly in place. As always, helmet fit is a pretty personal affair but I found the Aeon to be nigh-on perfect for my averagely-shaped bonce.

At a penny under £200 this is at the top end of what you can pay, and with helmets like Giro's own Savant providing much of the performance for a lot less than half of the price, you're properly in the rarified realms of incremental gains here. But it's a very good, very light, pro-level race helmet so if that's your kind of thing, you won't be disappointed with the Aeon.

Verdict

Very good pro-level lid that's light and comfortable.

road.cc test report

Make and model: Giro Aeon helmet

Size tested: Medium, Fluo Orange

Tell us what the product is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

MAXIMUM VENTILATION, MINIMAL WEIGHT, ZERO COMPROMISE

You wanted a lighter helmet, a cooler helmet, a better helmet '' so we created one. Starting with a full roster of our best features, we optimised every component in the Aeon™ including the shape of the helmet itself, reducing weight by 28 percent compared with its predecessor. We also sculpted massive vents with interior channeling for best-in-class cooling power and integrated the adjustability and comfort of Roc Loc® 5, for a luxurious feel with all the performance you need.

Tell us some more about the technical aspects of the product?

FEATURES:

X-Static® padding

Featherweight webbing with Slimline buckle

 

CONSTRUCTION:

In-Mold polycarbonate shell with EPS liner

Thermoformed SL Roll Cage™ reinforcement

 

FIT SYSTEM:

Roc Loc® 5

 

VENTILATION:

24 Wind Tunnel™ vents with internal channeling

 

SUPER FIT™ SIZES:

S 20'-21.75' / 51-55cm

M 21.75'-23.25' / 55-59cm

L 23.25'-24.75' / 59-63cm

Sizes Available:

L 59-63CM

M 55-59CM

S 51-55CM

Colours Available:

BLACK

BLACK/RED

BLACK/WHITE

BLUE/BLACK

ORANGE/WHITE

TITANIUM

WHITE/SILVER

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
9/10
Rate the product for performance:
 
9/10
Rate the product for durability:
 
8/10
Rate the product for weight, if applicable:
 
10/10
Rate the product for comfort, if applicable:
 
8/10
Rate the product for value:
 
6/10

Tell us how the product performed overall when used for its designed purpose

Very well indeed

Tell us what you particularly liked about the product

Fit, weight.

Tell us what you particularly disliked about the product

The fact that you can get Giro's excellent Savant for £140 less.

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes.

Would you consider buying the product? No, I'm more comfortable a few rungs down the helmet ladder.

Would you recommend the product to a friend? Yes, if top-level gear was their thing.

Overall rating: 8/10

About the tester

Age: 40  Height: 190cm  Weight: 102kg

I usually ride: whatever I'm testing...  My best bike is: Genesis Equilibrium 853

I've been riding for: 10-20 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Experienced

I regularly do the following types of riding: commuting, club rides, sportives, general fitness riding, fixed/singlespeed, mtb, Mountain Bike Bog Snorkelling, track

 

Dave is a founding father of road.cc and responsible for kicking the server when it breaks. In a previous life he was a graphic designer but he's also a three-time Mountain Bike Bog Snorkelling world champion, and remains unbeaten through the bog. Dave rides all sorts of bikes but tends to prefer metal ones. He's getting old is why.

39 comments

Avatar
kie7077 [910 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

My value scale for all polystyrene helmets:

£20 2-stars
£40 1-star
£60 and above 0-stars

CTC Helmet Debate

Avatar
chadders [92 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

Surely its not £200 worth of materials and manufacturing costs. But whilst people pay daft money for these helmets the makers will slowly up the cost as has happened over the last 10 years since helmets became compulsory in the pro peleton,
hang on is there a like there!!!!!

Avatar
Peowpeowpeowlasers [510 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

So what extra security does this helmet provide when compared with cheaper helmets under £50?

I mean, that's the only reason we wear them, right? For safety? So why review a safety product and not include anything about safety?

Avatar
lookmanohands [119 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

 37

3 - 2 - 1 helmet debate (snigger)

Avatar
Nzlucas [128 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

Low weight, extremely high amount of venting, more advanced construction and materials all go into the cost.

Cheaper helmets will be heavier bulkier and hotter, therefore not so comfortable or suitable for a race situation where you are exerting yourself and less weight etc can give per offer performance benefits.

Then Giro and the retailer need to make some money to pay their bills and keep their shareholders happy.

Your argument is that one is as safe as the other right. The standards are only a minimum amount of safety, we never now how much MORE safe they are than the minimum. After destruction testing helmets, (non scientifically) I would say the internal frame this giro has would make it much tougher than a cheaper helmet that is not injection moulded.

Avatar
NeilXDavis [124 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

Having owned one for the last two years I can say this is a fantastic helmet - extremely light, well ventilated and looks good which are my criteria. They all have to meet safety standards.

I'm a bit of a retail junkie when it comes to cycling stuff and always replace kit way sooner than I need to - this is a problem with the Aeon - I cant find anything better to replace it with and is evidence enough that this is IMO the best cycling helmet money can buy.

Avatar
kie7077 [910 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

Low weight, extremely high amount of venting, more advanced construction and materials all go into the cost.

Low weight - a bit less polystyrene, should be cheaper.

High venting? and? why should bigger holes cost more?

More advanced construction? The worker in china got paid 50p no change there.

Materials: plastic, nothing fancy.

If you want complicated construction look at a cassette walkman from 30 years ago, they cost £10 back then, nothing about these helmets comes close in complexity.

Avatar
russyparkin [570 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

um... dont buy one then.

pretty simple, we have to thank the lovely people that do buy them though as the tech trickles down to the £50 helmets

savant is what i would buy as i know its basically the same but if mr large wallet feels faster in his £200 one then just remember to thank him for making yours cost less

kie7077 wrote:

Low weight, extremely high amount of venting, more advanced construction and materials all go into the cost.

Low weight - a bit less polystyrene, should be cheaper.

High venting? and? why should bigger holes cost more?

More advanced construction? The worker in china got paid 50p no change there.

Materials: plastic, nothing fancy.

If you want complicated construction look at a cassette walkman from 30 years ago, they cost £10 back then, nothing about these helmets comes close in complexity.

Avatar
purplecup [217 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

Commenter who doesn't wear/want to wear a helmet moans about expensive helmet shocker.

Repeat.

Repeat.

Repeat.

You realise you sound just like the "you could buy a car for that" non-cyclist, yeah? keep it up.

so long as things exist that you can buy, there will be expensive and cheap versions of said things, and the expensive ones that cost four times as much will be better, but not four times better, and some people will buy them because they want the better one and can afford it, and some won't. it really isn't rocket science, this.

Avatar
Peowpeowpeowlasers [510 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes
russyparkin wrote:

tech trickles down

lmfao. It's just a piece of polystyrene with some coloured plastic bits here and there. There's no "tech" to speak of.

The cheap helmets available today look no different to the cheap helmet I bought 25 years ago. Trickle down, lol.

Avatar
MKultra [393 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

I am slightly puzzled as to what the tech is that trickles down. It's not got any electronics in it, the harness system is just plastic buckles velcro and pads which are hard to re-invent unless you include messing about with the arrangement of said buckles straps and pads. The material of the helmet it self is a plastic shell, foam and mesh and it's all meant to break up on impact anyway so there is no engineering going on to make it any stronger or lighter as the properties of the materials them self are fairly set in stone given the application. Sure it may look whizzy and it's this years "pro" kit which instantly sells it to the gullible but there is no revolution in design or technology going on that makes it worth two hundred quid, it's not like it stops bullets or monitors your life signs and pings them to the paramedics on route to scrape you off the road .

It's like this years football top for Man United fans or the latest pair of designer jeans, it is not however a move forward in personal protection for cyclists.

Avatar
jellysticks [95 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

I have no interest in debating the ups, downs, pros, cons, lefts, rights, yays or nays of this or any other helmet, but I must say that I do particularly like your username, Peowpeowpeowlasers. I wish I'd thought of it first - mine is ridiculous. May I ask what inspired it? For anybody who is interested in mine, firstly I pity you, and secondly it literally has no reference to anything, it's purely two random words put together. Do I win a prize for most useful, thoughtful, life-improving post today?

Avatar
russyparkin [570 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

just nicer cradles and thinner straps, buckles you can operate when your hands are frozen, lighter weight, better profile and design

but i was being polite earlier and trying to be middle ground and say dont moan to much

but if your on the attack then you know what to do and all that

march with your wallet, dont buy it.. the other thing to factor also is pro teams ride this stuff, they get given it by sponsors like Giro, they develop stuff and it subsidises racing to a point/probably quite a lot.

i would rather be paying say a 10/20% premium on everything i buy for my bike to ensure pro racing is still supported.

world of sport would be dull without cycling and a magical gold generating unicorn doesnt fund pro teams we do.

if you have no interest in supporting pro cycling maybe you are 'a person that rides a bike' as opposed to a 'cyclist'

Avatar
allez neg [496 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

What would be nice is for a study to be done showing the benefits of aero vs vented lids.

Does having a hot head on the climbs damage your performance by more than the reduced drag on the flats and downhills enhance it?

Avatar
felixcat [486 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes
allez neg wrote:

What would be nice is for a study to be done showing the benefits of aero vs vented lids.

Does having a hot head on the climbs damage your performance by more than the reduced drag on the flats and downhills enhance it?

For a moment I thought that you were asking for a study showing which type protects best.

Avatar
Flying Scot [965 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

OK, you don't want a spendy hat, fair enough.

But have you looked at them vs a twenty quid job? They ARE a higher quality and more complex product. Usually with stiff composite ribs in between the polystyrene, making more like the old leather and capoc hats of the Merckx era.

Do they work better? Maybe not.

Are they worth up to 10 times more? Certainly not.

Do I suspect the big brands deliberately make their cheaper stuff uglier? Yes I do.

But they are a luxury product, I like them and I do have a Mavic Plasma SLR, a pricey lid, I also have a giro transfer cheapo as a spare.

Though be aware, never pay anywhere near list!

Avatar
WDG [57 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

I've got one of these and I'm very happy with it - very light, very comfy and well ventilated. And I paid half the retail price for it. If you don't see the value I respect your opinion, but I do.

Avatar
Gweeds [31 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

Who gives a shit about the 'value'. Not for you? Don't buy it? Like it and have the money. Fill your boots. Theme on the comments on this site = any item costing more than the cheapest item in that category is by default shit and anyone buying it is a mug.

Choices people. Last time I looked none of us have to justify their purchases to anyone here.

Avatar
lookmanohands [119 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

 37

Hob nob anyone?

Avatar
allez neg [496 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

I'll gladly have a hobnob as long as they show precisely how much better they are as a percentage than Rich Tea, in terms of aero, tensile strength and structural integrity vs dunking duration.

Avatar
davidjks [2 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

I have one of these helmets and while they are quite nice, very light and all that. the straps are a pain in the a**e. They continually twist in the retention system so that every time you put the lid on you have to untwist the straps. On the other hand helmets like Specialized the retention system is so good that you just pick the helmet up, put it on and buckle up - no fiddling and twisted straps.

Avatar
matthewn5 [1058 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

If I remember rightly, the top end Giro helmets from this one down to the Aeon have a carbon fibre cage sealed in between two layers of polystyrene. My Aeon certainly has visible carbon fibre for all the linking sections and if you look closely you can see it between the ps layers. And an excellent fixing system. That suggests at least a bit more design time and construction difficulty. The venting is amazing, no sweaty head at all.

By contrast I also have a £25 helmet I bought on holiday in Oz because you have to wear them. It's just a polystyrene bucket with holes in it, with straps that are only attached at the very top of the helmet in two places. And it's a sweatbox.

So maybe you do get what you pay for.

As to whether they do any good at all in any sort of crash, I dunno. BMJ says not.

Avatar
drfabulous0 [409 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

Very nice lid, one of the least ugly around. I hardly ever wear one but like to have a nice one for the times when rules, etiquette or common sense demand it, so I may consider one of these when my Ionos needs replacing. But no way will I pay £200, for thay I could have new tyres, Monkeylectric lights in both wheels and a Brooks saddle.

Avatar
Stumps [3496 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

I own an Ionos lid and if this one is anywhere as good as that then they are onto a winner.

Its a lot of money for what you get but thats cycling all round, mega amounts of money for very little difference in a lot of goods.

Avatar
Lolo [17 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

Dear road.cc please stop offending the Btwin/Altura brigade with your reviews of pricey stuff.

Avatar
Peowpeowpeowlasers [510 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes
jellysticks wrote:

I have no interest in debating the ups, downs, pros, cons, lefts, rights, yays or nays of this or any other helmet, but I must say that I do particularly like your username, Peowpeowpeowlasers. I wish I'd thought of it first - mine is ridiculous. May I ask what inspired it? For anybody who is interested in mine, firstly I pity you, and secondly it literally has no reference to anything, it's purely two random words put together. Do I win a prize for most useful, thoughtful, life-improving post today?

I was inspired by lasers and the pew pew sounds they make.

Avatar
Flying Heron [54 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

Can't really see any issue here??? Giro do a fantastic range of cheap,mid-price,expensive helmets...you get what you pay for? Isn't this how it works or am I missing something.... Christ innovation in anything costs mega money...

Avatar
Chris Hall [4 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

Glasses over straps......  1

Avatar
seven [154 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes
NeilXDavis wrote:

They all have to meet safety standards.

Sadly those standards are even weaker now than they were twenty years ago, thanks mostly to industry lobbying from the likes of - you guessed it - Giro.

Kerching!

Avatar
kie7077 [910 posts] 3 years ago
0 likes

Rich tea are sh!t and cost too much!

Pages