Giro Aeon helmet  £199.99

8/10

Very good pro-level lid that's light and comfortable

Weight 197g   Contact  www.zyro.co.uk

by Dave Atkinson   March 21, 2014  

Find a store

Giro's Aeon has been in the range for a few years now, but it's still easily holding its own as a really well ventilated, lightweight race helmet. It replaced the Prolight and Ionos at the top of the Giro pile; the Prolight has since been discontinued and the Ionos moved down to the second tier, £40 cheaper.

With our test model creeping under 200g by three grams, the Aeon is one of the lightest helmets out there. The fact that it's hugely ventilated helps with that; the Aeon features a thermoformed skeleton inside the EPS foam to keep the structure rigid. The shell is bonded in the mould for extra resilience, as you'd expect from most lids these days. The Aeon conforms to European CE standards.

Retention on your bonce is taken care of by Giro's Roc Loc 5 which is a minimal-but-very-effective clicky dial affair with enough up and down adjustment to get it just so on the back of your head.

The lightweight theme is carried on to the webbing straps that are noticeably thinner than usual. They're a bit more flexible as a result, and sit very comfortably against the sides of your head. The strap guides at the side of the helmet have shrunk a bit too, but they're still very usable and you can adjust the length of the front and rear straps for a perfect fit, which isn't possible with some lightweight retention systems.

Once it's on you'd barely know it was there. The 24 vents let masses of air through and the pads, although minimal, are perfectly placed to keep the lid comfy. They're contain silver antibacterial fibres too to keep the whiffs at bay. It feels plenty comfortable with the flexible straps and lightweight retention keeping everything firmly in place. As always, helmet fit is a pretty personal affair but I found the Aeon to be nigh-on perfect for my averagely-shaped bonce.

At a penny under £200 this is at the top end of what you can pay, and with helmets like Giro's own Savant providing much of the performance for a lot less than half of the price, you're properly in the rarified realms of incremental gains here. But it's a very good, very light, pro-level race helmet so if that's your kind of thing, you won't be disappointed with the Aeon.

Verdict

Very good pro-level lid that's light and comfortable.

road.cc test report

Make and model: Giro Aeon helmet

Size tested: Medium, Fluo Orange

Tell us what the product is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

MAXIMUM VENTILATION, MINIMAL WEIGHT, ZERO COMPROMISE

You wanted a lighter helmet, a cooler helmet, a better helmet '' so we created one. Starting with a full roster of our best features, we optimised every component in the Aeon™ including the shape of the helmet itself, reducing weight by 28 percent compared with its predecessor. We also sculpted massive vents with interior channeling for best-in-class cooling power and integrated the adjustability and comfort of Roc Loc® 5, for a luxurious feel with all the performance you need.

Tell us some more about the technical aspects of the product?

FEATURES:

X-Static® padding

Featherweight webbing with Slimline buckle

 

CONSTRUCTION:

In-Mold polycarbonate shell with EPS liner

Thermoformed SL Roll Cage™ reinforcement

 

FIT SYSTEM:

Roc Loc® 5

 

VENTILATION:

24 Wind Tunnel™ vents with internal channeling

 

SUPER FIT™ SIZES:

S 20'-21.75' / 51-55cm

M 21.75'-23.25' / 55-59cm

L 23.25'-24.75' / 59-63cm

Sizes Available:

L 59-63CM

M 55-59CM

S 51-55CM

Colours Available:

BLACK

BLACK/RED

BLACK/WHITE

BLUE/BLACK

ORANGE/WHITE

TITANIUM

WHITE/SILVER

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
9/10
Rate the product for performance:
 
9/10
Rate the product for durability:
 
8/10
Rate the product for weight, if applicable:
 
10/10
Rate the product for comfort, if applicable:
 
8/10
Rate the product for value:
 
6/10

Tell us how the product performed overall when used for its designed purpose

Very well indeed

Tell us what you particularly liked about the product

Fit, weight.

Tell us what you particularly disliked about the product

The fact that you can get Giro's excellent Savant for £140 less.

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes.

Would you consider buying the product? No, I'm more comfortable a few rungs down the helmet ladder.

Would you recommend the product to a friend? Yes, if top-level gear was their thing.

Overall rating: 8/10

About the tester

Age: 40  Height: 190cm  Weight: 102kg

I usually ride: whatever I'm testing...  My best bike is: Genesis Equilibrium 853

I've been riding for: 10-20 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Experienced

I regularly do the following types of riding: commuting, club rides, sportives, general fitness riding, fixed/singlespeed, mtb, Mountain Bike Bog Snorkelling, track

 

38 user comments

Latest 30 commentsNewest firstBest ratedAll

Commenter who doesn't wear/want to wear a helmet moans about expensive helmet shocker.

Repeat.

Repeat.

Repeat.

You realise you sound just like the "you could buy a car for that" non-cyclist, yeah? keep it up.

so long as things exist that you can buy, there will be expensive and cheap versions of said things, and the expensive ones that cost four times as much will be better, but not four times better, and some people will buy them because they want the better one and can afford it, and some won't. it really isn't rocket science, this.

purplecup's picture

posted by purplecup [232 posts]
21st March 2014 - 14:30

27 Likes

russyparkin wrote:
tech trickles down

lmfao. It's just a piece of polystyrene with some coloured plastic bits here and there. There's no "tech" to speak of.

The cheap helmets available today look no different to the cheap helmet I bought 25 years ago. Trickle down, lol.

posted by Peowpeowpeowlasers [209 posts]
21st March 2014 - 15:58

13 Likes

I am slightly puzzled as to what the tech is that trickles down. It's not got any electronics in it, the harness system is just plastic buckles velcro and pads which are hard to re-invent unless you include messing about with the arrangement of said buckles straps and pads. The material of the helmet it self is a plastic shell, foam and mesh and it's all meant to break up on impact anyway so there is no engineering going on to make it any stronger or lighter as the properties of the materials them self are fairly set in stone given the application. Sure it may look whizzy and it's this years "pro" kit which instantly sells it to the gullible but there is no revolution in design or technology going on that makes it worth two hundred quid, it's not like it stops bullets or monitors your life signs and pings them to the paramedics on route to scrape you off the road .

It's like this years football top for Man United fans or the latest pair of designer jeans, it is not however a move forward in personal protection for cyclists.

posted by MKultra [365 posts]
21st March 2014 - 16:34

22 Likes

I have no interest in debating the ups, downs, pros, cons, lefts, rights, yays or nays of this or any other helmet, but I must say that I do particularly like your username, Peowpeowpeowlasers. I wish I'd thought of it first - mine is ridiculous. May I ask what inspired it? For anybody who is interested in mine, firstly I pity you, and secondly it literally has no reference to anything, it's purely two random words put together. Do I win a prize for most useful, thoughtful, life-improving post today?

posted by jellysticks [92 posts]
21st March 2014 - 17:27

11 Likes

just nicer cradles and thinner straps, buckles you can operate when your hands are frozen, lighter weight, better profile and design

but i was being polite earlier and trying to be middle ground and say dont moan to much

but if your on the attack then you know what to do and all that

march with your wallet, dont buy it.. the other thing to factor also is pro teams ride this stuff, they get given it by sponsors like Giro, they develop stuff and it subsidises racing to a point/probably quite a lot.

i would rather be paying say a 10/20% premium on everything i buy for my bike to ensure pro racing is still supported.

world of sport would be dull without cycling and a magical gold generating unicorn doesnt fund pro teams we do.

if you have no interest in supporting pro cycling maybe you are 'a person that rides a bike' as opposed to a 'cyclist'

posted by russyparkin [578 posts]
21st March 2014 - 18:05

9 Likes

What would be nice is for a study to be done showing the benefits of aero vs vented lids.

Does having a hot head on the climbs damage your performance by more than the reduced drag on the flats and downhills enhance it?

posted by allez neg [4 posts]
21st March 2014 - 18:22

15 Likes

allez neg wrote:
What would be nice is for a study to be done showing the benefits of aero vs vented lids.

Does having a hot head on the climbs damage your performance by more than the reduced drag on the flats and downhills enhance it?

For a moment I thought that you were asking for a study showing which type protects best.

felixcat's picture

posted by felixcat [344 posts]
21st March 2014 - 19:06

9 Likes

OK, you don't want a spendy hat, fair enough.

But have you looked at them vs a twenty quid job? They ARE a higher quality and more complex product. Usually with stiff composite ribs in between the polystyrene, making more like the old leather and capoc hats of the Merckx era.

Do they work better? Maybe not.

Are they worth up to 10 times more? Certainly not.

Do I suspect the big brands deliberately make their cheaper stuff uglier? Yes I do.

But they are a luxury product, I like them and I do have a Mavic Plasma SLR, a pricey lid, I also have a giro transfer cheapo as a spare.

Though be aware, never pay anywhere near list!

All Campag

posted by Flying Scot [801 posts]
21st March 2014 - 19:41

11 Likes

I've got one of these and I'm very happy with it - very light, very comfy and well ventilated. And I paid half the retail price for it. If you don't see the value I respect your opinion, but I do.

posted by WDG [39 posts]
21st March 2014 - 19:49

9 Likes

Who gives a shit about the 'value'. Not for you? Don't buy it? Like it and have the money. Fill your boots. Theme on the comments on this site = any item costing more than the cheapest item in that category is by default shit and anyone buying it is a mug.

Choices people. Last time I looked none of us have to justify their purchases to anyone here.

posted by Guy Collier [21 posts]
21st March 2014 - 20:02

16 Likes

Yawn

Hob nob anyone?

posted by lookmanohands [114 posts]
21st March 2014 - 20:53

11 Likes

I'll gladly have a hobnob as long as they show precisely how much better they are as a percentage than Rich Tea, in terms of aero, tensile strength and structural integrity vs dunking duration.

posted by allez neg [4 posts]
21st March 2014 - 20:59

17 Likes

I have one of these helmets and while they are quite nice, very light and all that. the straps are a pain in the a**e. They continually twist in the retention system so that every time you put the lid on you have to untwist the straps. On the other hand helmets like Specialized the retention system is so good that you just pick the helmet up, put it on and buckle up - no fiddling and twisted straps.

posted by davidjks [2 posts]
21st March 2014 - 21:08

10 Likes

If I remember rightly, the top end Giro helmets from this one down to the Aeon have a carbon fibre cage sealed in between two layers of polystyrene. My Aeon certainly has visible carbon fibre for all the linking sections and if you look closely you can see it between the ps layers. And an excellent fixing system. That suggests at least a bit more design time and construction difficulty. The venting is amazing, no sweaty head at all.

By contrast I also have a £25 helmet I bought on holiday in Oz because you have to wear them. It's just a polystyrene bucket with holes in it, with straps that are only attached at the very top of the helmet in two places. And it's a sweatbox.

So maybe you do get what you pay for.

As to whether they do any good at all in any sort of crash, I dunno. BMJ says not.

drmatthewhardy's picture

posted by drmatthewhardy [531 posts]
21st March 2014 - 21:47

11 Likes

Very nice lid, one of the least ugly around. I hardly ever wear one but like to have a nice one for the times when rules, etiquette or common sense demand it, so I may consider one of these when my Ionos needs replacing. But no way will I pay £200, for thay I could have new tyres, Monkeylectric lights in both wheels and a Brooks saddle.

posted by drfabulous0 [404 posts]
21st March 2014 - 22:23

15 Likes

I own an Ionos lid and if this one is anywhere as good as that then they are onto a winner.

Its a lot of money for what you get but thats cycling all round, mega amounts of money for very little difference in a lot of goods.

There are no stupid questions, just stupid people.

stumps's picture

posted by stumps [3067 posts]
21st March 2014 - 22:50

12 Likes

Dear road.cc please stop offending the Btwin/Altura brigade with your reviews of pricey stuff.

posted by Lolo [15 posts]
21st March 2014 - 23:03

11 Likes

jellysticks wrote:
I have no interest in debating the ups, downs, pros, cons, lefts, rights, yays or nays of this or any other helmet, but I must say that I do particularly like your username, Peowpeowpeowlasers. I wish I'd thought of it first - mine is ridiculous. May I ask what inspired it? For anybody who is interested in mine, firstly I pity you, and secondly it literally has no reference to anything, it's purely two random words put together. Do I win a prize for most useful, thoughtful, life-improving post today?

I was inspired by lasers and the pew pew sounds they make.

posted by Peowpeowpeowlasers [209 posts]
21st March 2014 - 23:06

14 Likes

Can't really see any issue here??? Giro do a fantastic range of cheap,mid-price,expensive helmets...you get what you pay for? Isn't this how it works or am I missing something.... Christ innovation in anything costs mega money...

posted by Flying Heron [47 posts]
21st March 2014 - 23:33

6 Likes

Glasses over straps...... Smile

posted by Chris Hall [2 posts]
22nd March 2014 - 12:23

13 Likes

NeilXDavis wrote:
They all have to meet safety standards.

Sadly those standards are even weaker now than they were twenty years ago, thanks mostly to industry lobbying from the likes of - you guessed it - Giro.

Kerching!

seven's picture

posted by seven [125 posts]
22nd March 2014 - 13:46

8 Likes

Rich tea are sh!t and cost too much!

posted by kie7077 [661 posts]
22nd March 2014 - 14:03

13 Likes

kie7077 wrote:
My value scale for all polystyrene helmets:

£20 2-stars
£40 1-star
£60 and above 0-stars

CTC Helmet Debate

You need to work harder to get a better paid job then. Our take away last night cost about £60. £60 for a piece of safety equipment sounds fine to me, not 0 stars.

See what I did there? Its perspective isn't it? Don't like it, don't buy it. Just stop wasting our time ranting about things you cannot or want to afford.

Perhaps the website should only review lids from poundland/Lidl/Aldi all the time? Will that make you happy?

posted by indyjukebox [53 posts]
22nd March 2014 - 14:41

7 Likes

indyjukebox wrote:
You need to work harder to get a better paid job then.
Sounds a lot like Top Gear's embarrassing, boorish "Work harder and buy a car" line, designed to bully and infuriate by knowingly misrepresenting cyclists as poor and jealous (half of London's cyclists are architects and IT workers, as TG well knows, even if their less urbane fans won't). Let's not even start on the link you are suggesting between the low pay of groups like nurses and soldiers and their not working hard enough. Surprise

You could rebut this daft "poor value" point easily and cleanly - there's simply nothing wrong with people buying and enjoying upmarket pro-level bike gear - without going down that embarrassing, boorish road.

posted by vbvb [384 posts]
22nd March 2014 - 15:52

9 Likes

I have owned previous models of this helmet, I can`t see where this one is much different. I found it uncomfortable, the straps never positioned right, the retention system rubbed my neck and the padding was very thin.

I know fit is a personal matter but it felt cheap and after 18 months the retention system disintegrated.

I have no problem spending £200 on quality products but I can`t see £200 of value here.

Now I use a Kask helmet, still not cheap but 2/3 the price and very comfortable. the fittings are a different league in quality. It weighs 220g

posted by Carlosfoznango [9 posts]
23rd March 2014 - 15:00

1 Like

indyjukebox wrote:
kie7077 wrote:
My value scale for all polystyrene helmets:

£20 2-stars
£40 1-star
£60 and above 0-stars

CTC Helmet Debate

You need to work harder to get a better paid job then. Our take away last night cost about £60. £60 for a piece of safety equipment sounds fine to me, not 0 stars.

See what I did there? Its perspective isn't it? Don't like it, don't buy it. Just stop wasting our time ranting about things you cannot or want to afford.

Perhaps the website should only review lids from poundland/Lidl/Aldi all the time? Will that make you happy?

That a boorish prig - bet he's got a small penis as we'll?

gb901's picture

posted by gb901 [171 posts]
23rd March 2014 - 21:07

2 Likes

I don't normally post replies that much but I thought I would in this case...

I own an Aeon and I find it is the best helmet I have ever owned; if you buy it sensibly as I did I only paid £75 for it from CRC then it is most definitely the best on the market.

I have experience of helmets actually working in an accident; I still own an old S-works helmet that is flat on one side from a 28mph impact with a car and an Ionos which smashed the windscreen of another after I was sideswiped on a roundabout.

These were both expensive helmets with in-mould technology and I firmly believe that if they had not been then I would not be able to be sat here writing this.

Personally, I would pay as much as I happened to have spare at the time of needing a helmet but I would never scrimp on the quality. You don't always need this season's colourways, don't be a slave to fashion.

My opinion, may not be yours......

posted by cidercyclist [6 posts]
24th March 2014 - 14:22

8 Likes

seven wrote:
NeilXDavis wrote:
They all have to meet safety standards.

Sadly those standards are even weaker now than they were twenty years ago, thanks mostly to industry lobbying from the likes of - you guessed it - Giro.

Kerching!

Seriously? Do you honestly believe yourself when you type this? The bicycle industry lobbying to lower helmet safety standards? Do you even have a shred of evidence to support this bold claim?

posted by midschool [30 posts]
27th March 2014 - 19:43

5 Likes

midschool wrote:
seven wrote:
NeilXDavis wrote:
They all have to meet safety standards.

Sadly those standards are even weaker now than they were twenty years ago, thanks mostly to industry lobbying from the likes of - you guessed it - Giro.

Kerching!

Seriously? Do you honestly believe yourself when you type this? The bicycle industry lobbying to lower helmet safety standards? Do you even have a shred of evidence to support this bold claim?

Was it not just a side-effect of the EU's mania for 'standardizing' everything? (which often seems to ignore the way that context and conditions are different in different countries, but that's a whole other debate!)

I suppose the helmet manufacturers did have an interest in having the same product be acceptable across different markets, but I'd have thought that any weakening of standards in particular countries was just a side-effect of that rather than being the main purpose.

posted by FluffyKittenofT... [898 posts]
27th March 2014 - 20:49

2 Likes

I think there's something in the 'lower standards' argument. My 1980s helmet conformed with 'Snell B-90' standard, but apparently the current EN 1078 promoted by the helmet industry as a 'standardisation' measure has a lower impact test:

http://cyclehelmets.org/1081.html

drmatthewhardy's picture

posted by drmatthewhardy [531 posts]
27th March 2014 - 21:09

7 Likes