Camelbak Podium 610/710ml water bottle  £9.99

9/10

Big improvement with increased water flow and a more ergonomic bottle that's easier to squeeze.

Weight 83g   Contact  www.zyro.co.uk

by David Arthur   March 4, 2014  

Find a store

Camelbak has redesigned the long-running Podium bottle with a smoother shape and increased flow rate nozzle. The changes are a big improvement and make the bottle now much better than it's ever been.

The biggest difference immediately noticeable when you first use the new bottle is that it's easier to squeeze with one hand. The old bottle was quite hard to squeeze, but the changes in plastic and the elimination of the recessed top section makes it more squeezable.

The other big change is the improved Jet Valve, a unique design to the Podium bottle. It now offers a much larger flow of water, so you get a bigger mouthful more easily. The amount of water you get is easy to regulate. Comparing it to the old bottle design, it's quite a dramatic improvement. Another upshot of that updated design is that it's easier to clean, and the valve is removable as well.

No leakages is another bonus of the unique valve design. It's one-way for a start, and the twist-lock mechanism locks off the flow of water. That makes this bottle ideal if you're travelling and stashing the bottle inside your bag. A regular bottle is very likely to leak inside a bag or boot of the car, but the Podium just won't.

Visually the bottle shape has changed. It's a lot smoother and the recessed hand gripper section is gone. There are still indents around the collar to locate your fingers though. Even so, it's easier to hold in the hand, and the fact it's more squeezable makes it easier to grab; that's especially noticeable when you're riding hard and fast and you don't have much time to think about grabbing the bottle perfectly. The new bottles ar a tiny bit shorter compared to the old ones, but not so much that you'll actually notice.

There's no change to the volume; there are still 610ml and 710ml versions. There's also a new Chill version - but we'll review that one separately.

Verdict

A big improvement with increased water flow and a more ergonomic bottle that's easier to squeeze.

road.cc test report

Make and model: Camelbak Podium 610/710ml water bottle

Size tested: 610ml and 710ml

Tell us what the product is for, and who it's aimed at. What do the manufacturers say about it? How does that compare to your own feelings about it?

The CamelBak® Podium® bottle incorporates Jet Valve, a revolutionary self-sealing valve with a high flow rate. A wide-mouth opening for easy filling and removable Jet Valve for ease of cleaning clean.

Tell us some more about the technical aspects of the product?

BPA-Free TruTaste™ Polypropylene with HydroGuard™

Removable nozzle for easy cleaning

Innovative self-sealing Jet Valve™ eliminates splatters and spills

Positive lockout for leak-proof transport

Wide-mouth opening is easy to fill with ice and water and ease of cleaning

Rate the product for quality of construction:
 
8/10

The new construction makes it easier to squeeze compared to the old bottle. It's a big difference when compared side-by-side with the old bottle.

Rate the product for performance:
 
9/10

Massive water flow and there's no leakage like you get with other bottles. When you stop squeezing the water stops flowing.

Rate the product for durability:
 
8/10

Early days so far but if the old bottles are anything to go by, they will last years. The new nozzle being easier to clean is a good improvement.

Rate the product for comfort, if applicable:
 
8/10

Much easier and nicer actually to hold and use when cycling.

Rate the product for value:
 
8/10

Better performance than a regular water bottle.

Tell us how the product performed overall when used for its designed purpose

A great redesign makes this a quality product.

Tell us what you particularly liked about the product

Easy to use, large water flow, easy to clean. Even looks good.

Tell us what you particularly disliked about the product

Nothing to dislike.

Did you enjoy using the product? Yes.

Would you consider buying the product? Yes.

Would you recommend the product to a friend? Yes.

Anything further to say about the product in conclusion?

A huge improvement, this is the bottle the Podium should have been when it was first released.

Overall rating: 9/10

About the tester

Age: 31  Height: 180  Weight: 67

I usually ride:   My best bike is:

I've been riding for: 10-20 years  I ride: Every day  I would class myself as: Expert

I regularly do the following types of riding: road racing, time trialling, cyclo cross, commuting, touring, mtb,

 

20 user comments

Oldest firstNewest firstBest rated

Finally better water flow!

Canyon Roadlite Centaur/ Veloce groupset, Shamal wheels

Miles253's picture

posted by Miles253 [203 posts]
4th March 2014 - 8:05

13 Likes

…but this is yet another bottle that does nothing to prevent you getting the skits from road dirt getting into the hygienic nipple.

Why can't they design a little hood for the nipple so that dog crap/horse dung from the road is kept off the parts you touch with your lips? Its no wonder gastro enteritis runs rife in the peloton.

If they labelled it "Roubaix" they could even charge another fiver for it!

posted by Trull [63 posts]
4th March 2014 - 8:40

18 Likes

Trull wrote:
…but this is yet another bottle that does nothing to prevent you getting the skits from road dirt getting into the hygienic nipple.

Why can't they design a little hood for the nipple so that dog crap/horse dung from the road is kept off the parts you touch with your lips? Its no wonder gastro enteritis runs rife in the peloton.

If they labelled it "Roubaix" they could even charge another fiver for it!

Caps over valves are a pain in the backside, I've tried it. It's far easier to squirt it in to your mouth without touching lips with these bottles than traditional ones. And then there's mudguards for when the lanes are slurry filled.

G-bitch's picture

posted by G-bitch [310 posts]
4th March 2014 - 9:32

12 Likes

HTFU !

Blandman

posted by Blandman [8 posts]
4th March 2014 - 9:35

20 Likes

A problem with the old ones is the half inch of drink left in the bottom that you can't squeeze out. Any change here?

nowasps's picture

posted by nowasps [256 posts]
4th March 2014 - 10:13

12 Likes

The best bidons out there, bar none.

posted by Yennings [224 posts]
4th March 2014 - 10:44

13 Likes

I loved the old style. Looking forward to getting my hand on the new style.

posted by laterrehaute [18 posts]
4th March 2014 - 11:01

14 Likes

Trull wrote:
…but this is yet another bottle that does nothing to prevent you getting the skits from road dirt getting into the hygienic nipple.

Why can't they design a little hood for the nipple so that dog crap/horse dung from the road is kept off the parts you touch with your lips? Its no wonder gastro enteritis runs rife in the peloton.

If they labelled it "Roubaix" they could even charge another fiver for it!

It's easy. You don't suck on the nozzle. When I did R&D in various countries. I noticed that the locals when drinking bottled water/fizz bought from a shop they would tip their head and pour the drink into their mouth. The bottle was never brought into contact with their mouths. Same as drinking fountains. Why do you think there is a mouth guard there (mind you, can't remember the last time I saw a drinking fountain in the UK)

Have used the camel backs for years now. Open your bake and squirt the liquid in. No contact with nozzle and mouth. And guards help prevent crap being thrown onto your bottle as well. Looking forward to trying out the new one.

giff77's picture

posted by giff77 [1059 posts]
4th March 2014 - 11:28

10 Likes

nowasps wrote:
A problem with the old ones is the half inch of drink left in the bottom that you can't squeeze out. Any change here?

Yes, that doesn't happen with the new design bottle. A big improvement all round

David Arthur's picture

posted by David Arthur [1605 posts]
4th March 2014 - 11:39

12 Likes

BPA free?

BPA

posted by kie7077 [506 posts]
4th March 2014 - 12:22

10 Likes

Being the sucker that I am, I splashed out a fiver on the CamelBak Mud Cap: http://shop.camelbak.com/podium-mud-cap/d/1044

posted by thelimopit [119 posts]
4th March 2014 - 13:15

13 Likes

kie7077 wrote:
BPA free?

BPA


Of course, like any bottle made of polyethylene. BPA is used in production of polycarbonate. And by the way, it's already banned in the EU so there's no risk you'll buy any bottle with BPA.

When it comes to the bottle, the first version was just so amazing functionally. The only problem that I experienced was that the bottle started to turn opaque and yellowish after some months of use. I'm pretty sure it wasn't toxic in any way, but wasn't a nice sight either.

blog rowerowy - my blog about bicycles (written in Polish, but feel free to visit me! Smile )

mikroos's picture

posted by mikroos [186 posts]
4th March 2014 - 18:26

8 Likes

mikroos wrote:
kie7077 wrote:
BPA free?

BPA


Of course, like any bottle made of polyethylene. BPA is used in production of polycarbonate. And by the way, it's already banned in the EU so there's no risk you'll buy any bottle with BPA.

When it comes to the bottle, the first version was just so amazing functionally. The only problem that I experienced was that the bottle started to turn opaque and yellowish after some months of use. I'm pretty sure it wasn't toxic in any way, but wasn't a nice sight either.

Actually BPA is only banned in baby bottles and products aimed at children in the EU - however it does say it is BPA free.

posted by allezrider [78 posts]
4th March 2014 - 18:58

15 Likes

Allez has it covered ^

Thanks all

posted by kie7077 [506 posts]
4th March 2014 - 20:31

7 Likes

allezrider wrote:
Actually BPA is only banned in baby bottles and products aimed at children in the EU - however it does say it is BPA free.

That seems to be correct - thanks for the clarification.

blog rowerowy - my blog about bicycles (written in Polish, but feel free to visit me! Smile )

mikroos's picture

posted by mikroos [186 posts]
4th March 2014 - 22:55

7 Likes

thelimopit wrote:
Being the sucker that I am, I splashed out a fiver on the CamelBak Mud Cap: http://shop.camelbak.com/podium-mud-cap/d/1044

Ah ha - now that looks much more like it, and much more likely to keep pathogens out of my digestive system.

posted by Trull [63 posts]
5th March 2014 - 7:51

10 Likes

David Arthur wrote:
nowasps wrote:
A problem with the old ones is the half inch of drink left in the bottom that you can't squeeze out. Any change here?

Yes, that doesn't happen with the new design bottle. A big improvement all round

That's answered the major question for me; thanks! I'm off to upgrade right now.

posted by pwake [307 posts]
5th March 2014 - 17:04

8 Likes

allezrider wrote:
however it does say it is BPA free.
Worth noting that some plastics have secret ingredients. Don't presume those are nicer than BPA. Plastic milk jugs and the soft cycling bottles (marked PE or 2 in the triangle) are safe as houses. The more brittle big brand see-through (often nicely coloured) plastic water bottles marked 7, often with BPA-Free printed on side, not such a great bet, imho.

posted by vbvb [256 posts]
3rd May 2014 - 9:10

2 Likes

You still can't get the last bit of liquid out without taking the lid off. I still like them better than the old ones.

posted by durrin [17 posts]
4th May 2014 - 1:53

0 Likes

"A problem with the old ones is the half inch of drink left in the bottom that you can't squeeze out."

and I thought the problem was user error on my part Confused
nice tip on the covers might give it a go - though I did once buy several "ordinary" bottles with flip of caps and found them a pain but other than hard to clean valve the old podiums are first choice every time for me

?? looking at the pic - is the open/close opposite to the old ones??

posted by antigee [165 posts]
4th May 2014 - 9:48

0 Likes

road.cc reviews

Latest reviews

9/10
£14.99
June 11, 2014
5/10
£1000.00
June 11, 2014
7/10
£24.99
June 10, 2014
8/10
£45.00
June 9, 2014
2/10
£89.99
June 9, 2014
7/10
£99.99
June 9, 2014
7/10
£8500.00
June 8, 2014
9/10
£120.00
June 8, 2014
8/10
£55.00
June 7, 2014
8/10
£14.99
June 6, 2014
5/10
£99.99
June 4, 2014
8/10
£25.00
June 3, 2014
7/10
£24.99
June 2, 2014
9/10
£379.99
June 1, 2014
7/10
£49.99
May 31, 2014
8/10
£10.99
May 30, 2014
7/10
£6.00
May 29, 2014
6/10
£69.99
May 28, 2014
 
1