Tickets still available for Friday pm session, live TV coverage on BBC

British Cycling has announced its squad for the opening round of the 2013/14 UCI Track Cycling World Cup Classics in its home city of Manchester, which takes place from 1-3 November.

With one exception – Katie Archibold, who British Cycling says will ride for her trade team in next month’s  event – the squad is identical to the one that came away from the European Championships earlier this month with eight medals.

Of those, three were gold, and they came in three events in which Team GB riders secured Olympic titles at London 2012 last year.

The men’s and women’s team pursuit squads both came away from those championships at Apeldoorn in the Netherlands with European titles – the latter setting a world record time of 4:26:453 for the new four-rider, 4km format.

A member of that successful women’s team pursuit quartet, Laura Trott, also won the Omnium at Apeldoorn.

In all, the team for Manchester includes seven riders who won gold in London last year as well as double world champion, Becky James.

British Cycling performance manager, Shane Sutton, commented: “We came home from the European Track Championships with three gold, two silver and three bronze medals, which has given us a solid start to the season.

“We’ll be looking to build on that over the next couple of weeks, and I’m hoping to see some good performances across the board at the World Cup in Manchester.

“To compete at an event at our ‘home’ velodrome is always a big boost to the team and it’s without a doubt our favourite venue to race at. All of the team are looking forward to racing with the support of a home crowd again.”

Tickets are still available for the Friday afternoon session, and there will be live TV coverage live on the BBC’s red button on Friday and Saturday and on BBC2 on Sunday from 1500-1750.

The full squad for Manchester is as follows:

Men’s Sprint
Matt Crampton
Kian Emadi
Jason Kenny
Phil Hindes

Women’s Sprint
Becky James
Jess Varnish
Vicky Williamson

Men’s Endurance
Steven Burke
Ed Clancy
Jon Dibben
Owain Doull
Sam Harrison
Andy Tennant

Women’s Endurance
Elinor Barker
Dani King
Joanna Rowsell
Laura Trott

Born in Scotland, Simon moved to London aged seven and now lives in the Oxfordshire Cotswolds with his miniature schnauzer, Elodie. He fell in love with cycling one Saturday morning in 1994 while living in Italy when Milan-San Remo went past his front door. A daily cycle commuter in London back before riding to work started to boom, he's been news editor at road.cc since 2009. Handily for work, he speaks French and Italian. He doesn't get to ride his Colnago as often as he'd like, and freely admits he's much more adept at cooking than fettling with bikes.