Italian champ's ride for 2013

Here’s Italian road race champion Franco Pellizotti with the new Bianchi Sempre Pro bike that his Pro Continental Androni Giocattoli-Venezuela will be riding this year. We’ll be showing you a whole load more 2013 pro bikes over the next few weeks.

The latest evolution of the Sempre model, the Sempre Pro carbon monocoque frame is part of Bianchi’s B4P (Born for Performance) range, the bikes being built to the brand's racing geometry.


Bianchi use Carbon Nano Technology here. They add Nano material into the carbon fibre to reduce empty spaces and avoid micro cracks in the carbon laminate, and so increase toughness and resistance to fatigue.

The Sempre Pro comes with an Ultra Thin Seat Stay (UTSS) design at the back – like the Oltre XR that we reviewed recently – the idea being that those stays will absorb shock.

“I tested my new Sempre Pro frame in December and the main thing I appreciated was the stiffness of the bike, something which is also visible from the larger diameter of the new massive down-tube and the oversized chainstay,” Pellizotti said.


Pellizotti’s Sempre Pro is matt black with aggressive tricolore inserts to match his Italian Champion jersey. The rest of the Androni Venezuela team ride a Celeste model shaded red and black.

Team Androni Giocattoli Venezuela ride in 2013 Campagnolo Super Record groupset, combined with FSA K-Force chainset and new SL-K brakes.
We’ll shortly be running a story showing you all the bikes used by the World Tour teams this year.

Mat has worked for loads of bike magazines over 20+ years, and been editor of 220 Triathlon and Cycling Plus. He's been road.cc technical editor for eight years, testing bikes, fettling the latest kit, and trying out the most up-to-the-minute clothing. We send him off around the world to get all the news from launches and shows too. He has won his category in Ironman UK 70.3 and finished on the podium in both marathons he has run. Mat is a Cambridge graduate who did a post-grad in magazine journalism, and he is a past winner of the Cycling Media Award for Specialist Online Writer.