Jason Kenny gets nod over Sir Chris Hoy for Men's Sprint, but Hoy will defend Team Sprint and Keirin titles...

Jason Kenny will contest the Men's Sprint at the London Olympics next month after being given the nod ahead of Sir Chris Hoy, the current Olympic Chamion, when the final Team GB track line up was announced this afternoon.

Sir Chris will ride in the Team Sprint, along with Kenny and Philip Hindes with Ross Edgar named as reserve, and will be Team GB's representative in the Keirin in which he is also the defending Olympic Champion.

Sir Chris Hoy struck a supportive note when commenting the final selection:
“Whilst I’m obviously disappointed not to be defending all three of my 2008 Olympic titles in London, Jason thoroughly deserves this opportunity and has a great chance of success in the sprint. I’m now focussed entirely on the Keirin and Team Sprint and my goals for these two events haven’t changed.”

As expected Victoria Pendleton and Jess Varnish are the British pair for the Women's team spring, with Becky James named as reserve. Pendleton is alsoTeam GB's representative in the keirin. Ed Clancy rides the Men's Omnium and Laura Trott the Women's Omnium.

Speaking of the final selection, British Cycling Performance Director Dave Brailsford said: “We have now finalised our selection for the track events and in particular we have made the decision over who will ride the Sprint. Both Chris and Jason are on great form and that made it a difficult choice but we have decided to select Jason to contest the sprint and Chris will concentrate on the Keirin. We believe this gives us the strongest team possible going into the Games.

Jason Kenny is the form man in the sprint coming in to the Games, and rode to silver medal position in the Mens Sprint at the Track World Championships earlier this year, behind Frenchman Gregory Bauge, he replaced Bauge as world champion last year when the UCI disqualified Bauge following his banning by the French Cycling Federation for wherabouts violations. It goes without saying that Bauge will be the big threat to Kenny in London too.

Men’s Team Sprint
Philip Hindes
Sir Chris Hoy
Jason Kenny
(Reserve – Ross Edgar)

Women’s Team Sprint
Victoria Pendleton
Jess Varnish
(Reserve – Becky James)

Men’s Team Pursuit
Steven Burke
Ed Clancy
Pete Kennaugh
Andy Tennant
Geraint Thomas

Women’s Team Pursuit
Wendy Houvenaghel
Dani King
Joanna Rowsell
Laura Trott

Men’s Sprint
Jason Kenny

Women’s Sprint
Victoria Pendleton

Men’s Keirin
Sir Chris Hoy

Women’s Keirin
Victoria Pendleton

Men’s Omnium
Ed Clancy

Women’s Omnium
Laura Trott

Plucked from the obscurity of his London commute back in the mid-Nineties to live in Bath and edit bike mags our man made the jump to the interweb back in 2006 as launch editor of a large cycling website somewhat confusingly named after a piece of navigational equipment. He came up with the idea for road.cc mainly to avoid being told what to do… Oh dear, issues there then. Tony tries to ride his bike every day and if he doesn't he gets grumpy, he likes carbon, but owns steel, and wants titanium. When not on his bike or eating cake Tony spends his time looking for new ways to annoy the road.cc team. He's remarkably good at it.