Boonen and Boassen Hagen among cycling's new national champions (+ list)

Brammeier hat-trick in Ireland, Pellizotti back from ban to win in Italy

by Simon_MacMichael   June 25, 2012  

Flags of Europe

Tom Boonen and Edvald Boasson Hagen are among the riders who will be sporting new national champion’s jerseys for the forthcoming year after a hectic weekend’s racing in Europe and beyond, those riders regaining their titles in, respectively, Belgium and Norway.

Among other performances worthy of note are Liverpool-born Matt Brammeier, pretty much the first to congratulate former British Olympic Academy alumnus Mark Cavendish on his world championship victory last September, winning the Irish championship for the third year in a row.

Meawhile, his Omega Pharma-Quick Step colleague Niki Terpstra took on most of the Rabobank team single-handedly – 18 entrants were registered either to the ProTeam or its development team – to win back the Dutch road race title he had previously won in 2010.

Elsewhere, on a very tough course in Italy, Franco Pellizotti, who only last month returned from a two-year ban imposed as a result of biological passport irregularities, is the new Italian champion after launching the Androni Giocattolo rider launched a solo attack in the last lap of the race in Borgo Valsugana.

Here’s an updated (though not exhaustive) list of the current national champions in both the road and time trial disciplines.

National road champions

Australia: Simon Gerrans (GreenEdge)
Belgium: Tom Boonen (Omega Pharma)
Canada: Ryan Roth (SpiderTech)
Croatia: Vladimir Miholjevic (Acqua & Sapone)
Czech Republic: Milan Kadlec (ASC Dukla Prague)
Denmark Sebastian Lander (Glud & Marstrand)
Estonia: Tanel Kangert (Astana)
France: Nacer Bouhanni (FDJ-BigMat)
Germany: Fabian Wegmann (Garmin)
Great Britain: Ian Stannard (Sky)
Ireland: Matthew Brammeier (Omega Pharma)
Italy: Franco Pellizotti (Androni)
Kazakhstan: Assan Bazayev (Astana)
Latvia: Aleksejs Saramotins (Cofidis)
Luxembourg: Laurent Didier (RadioShack)
Moldova: Alexandr Pliuschin (Leopard)
Netherlands: Niki Terpstra (Omega Pharma)
Norway: Edvald Boasson Hagen (Sky)
Poland: Michal Golas (Omega Pharma)
Russia: Eduard Vorganov (Katusha)
Slovakia: Peter Sagan (Liquigas)
South Africa: Robert Hunter (Garmin)
Spain: Francisco Ventoso (Movistar)
Switzerland: Martin Kohler (BMC)
Ukraine: Andriy Grivko (Astana)
USA: Timothy Duggan (Liquigas)

National time trial champions

Australia: Luke Durbridge (GreenEdge)
Canada: Svein Tuft (GreenEdge)
Czech Republic: Jan Barta (Netapp)
Denmark: Jakob Fuglsang (RadioShack)
Estonia: Rein Taaramae (Cofidis)
France: Sylvain Chavanel (Omega Pharma)
Germany: Tony Martin (Omega Pharma)
Great Britain: Alex Dowsett (Sky)
Italy: Dario Cataldo (Omega Pharma)
Latvia: Gatis Smukulis (Katusha)
Luxembourg: Bob Jungels (Leopard)
Netherlands: Lieuwe Westra (Vacansoleil)
Russia: Denis Menchov (Katusha)
Spain: Luis Leon Sanchez (Rabobank)
Switzerland: Fabian Cancellara (RadioShack)
Ukraine: Andriy Grivko (Astana)
USA: David Zabriskie (Garmin)

6 user comments

Oldest firstNewest firstBest rated

WOW, at least someone put all of the results together. Thank you Big Grin

posted by CyclingJamil [9 posts]
25th June 2012 - 11:58


Irish TT Champ...can you not mention another journalists name or something? Dr Hutch!

posted by Farky [186 posts]
25th June 2012 - 12:55


OPQS Have a great wealth of National Champs!

posted by Darthshearer [141 posts]
25th June 2012 - 14:28


Ummm Boonen's not going to the Tour de France this year! Devil

'Don't look back. Something might be gaining on you'

livestrongnick's picture

posted by livestrongnick [2198 posts]
26th June 2012 - 9:59


Boasson Hagens victory was fun to watch.. Nordhaug (sky) pulled him along until it was just the two of them, and just gestured him (EBH) to go first becasue:

"It was important to get the norwegian national jersey to Tour de France"

That is what I call a team player! Nordhaug for TdF 2013!

seabass89's picture

posted by seabass89 [235 posts]
26th June 2012 - 16:22


Haha thats class.

It has been great watching the National Jersey in the manjor races over the past couple of years I must say.

Long may it continue! Its a jersey that should be battled for and should be considered an honour to wear.

posted by Darthshearer [141 posts]
26th June 2012 - 17:03