Six Team Sky riders plus David Millar to support Mark Cavendish in his rainbow jersey bid in Copenhagen

British Cycling has confirmed the riders who will represent the country at the UCI Road World Championships in Copenhagen next week. Mark Cavendish, rumoured to be heading to Team Sky for 2012, is supported by six of its riders, plus Garmin Cervelo’s David Millar. The latter also contests the time trial, where he took silver last year, alongside Bradley Wiggins. Emma Pooley defends her rainbow jersey in the women’s time trial and also rides the road race alongside 2008 world champion Nicole Cooke.

Cavendish is bidding to become only the second British male professional cyclist to take the rainbow jersey in the road race, a feat achieved by the late Tom Simpson in 1965. Millar won the time trial world championship at Hamilton, Canada in 2003, but was stripped of his title after he was banned for doping.

With only two places available in the men's time trial, there's no place for Team Sky's Alex Dowsett, and the 22-year-old from Essex also misses out on a place in the road race team.

Besides Pooley and Cooke, the women's road race line-up also features 22-year-old Lizzie Armistead, a multiple world champion on the track and now also enjoying success since switching to the road, including a silver medal in the Commonwealth Games in Delhi last year behind Australia's Rochelle Gilmore.

The line-up confirmed by British Cycling for all events is shown below, and full details of next week’s championships can be found on the Copenhagen 2011 website.

Elite Men’s Road Race

Mark Cavendish

Steve Cummings

Chris Froome

Jeremy Hunt

David Millar

Ian Stannard

Geraint Thomas

Bradley Wiggins


Elite Men’s Time Trial

David Millar

Bradley Wiggins


Elite Women’s Road Race

Lizzie Armitstead

Katie Colclough

Nicole Cooke

Catherine Williamson (nee Hare)

Sharon Laws

Lucy Martin

Emma Pooley


Elite Women’s Time Trial

Emma Pooley


U23 Men’s Road Race

Mark Christian

Andy Fenn

Luke Rowe

Erick Rowsell

Scott Thwaites

Simon Yates


U23 Men’s Time Trial

Mark Christian


Junior Men’s Road Race

Owain Doull

Jon Dibben

Matthew Holmes

Sam Lowe

Alistair Slater


Junior Men’s Time Trial

Owain Doull

Jon Dibben


Junior Women’s Road Race

Elinor Baker

Hannah Barnes

Lucy Garner

Amy Roberts


Junior Women’s Time Trial

Elinor Barker

Hannah Barnes

Born in Scotland, Simon moved to London aged seven and now lives in the Oxfordshire Cotswolds with his miniature schnauzer, Elodie. He fell in love with cycling one Saturday morning in 1994 while living in Italy when Milan-San Remo went past his front door. A daily cycle commuter in London back before riding to work started to boom, he's been news editor at road.cc since 2009. Handily for work, he speaks French and Italian. He doesn't get to ride his Colnago as often as he'd like, and freely admits he's much more adept at cooking than fettling with bikes.