Experience and youth feature in riders named for Apeldoorn

British Cycling has announced the team that will represent Great Britain at the UCI World Championships later this month in the Dutch town of Apeldoorn.

Sir Chris Hoy will defend his Keirin world title, while Victoria Pendleton will be looking to repeat her success of 12 months ago in the Women’s Sprint.

It is not yet known whether Ed Clancy, Britain’s other defending World Champion, will defend his crown in the Omnium, or whether he will concentrate on the Team Pursuit.

If the latter, then his place in the Omnium, a new event at the London 2012 Olympics, will go to the 18-year-old Sam Harrison, one of the latest new prospects to roll off the British Cycling talent production line.

Two other up-and-coming riders due to make their World Championship debuts in The Netherlands between 23 and 27 March are Dani King and Laura Trott.

Meanwhile, Jess Varnish will partner Victoria Pendleton in the Women’s Team Sprint, with Shanaze Reade reportedly having ruled herself out for selection, although the BMX star insisted earlier this month that she still has ambitions to compete in the event for the Olympics.

Also missing are Team Sky's Bradley Wiggins and Geraint Thomas as they focus on the road with the British ProTeam.

British Cycling’s Performance Director Dave Brailsford said: “These World Championships are a further stepping stone towards the Olympic Games in London, and whilst the team is building momentum there’s still plenty left in the tank. There’s a great mood in the camp and the riders are very much enjoying the process of competing.

“For us it’s a real positive to be going into the World Championships as the hunters rather than the hunted – the pressure is really on the Australians and the French to deliver, and it’s a nice feeling for us to be going out there as the challengers.”




Men’s Sprint

Matt Crampton

Ross Edgar

Sir Chris Hoy

Jason Kenny


Men’s Endurance

Steven Burke

Ed Clancy

Sam Harrison

Pete Kennaugh

Andy Tennant


Women’s Sprint

Becky James

Victoria Pendleton

Jess Varnish


Women’s Endurance

Lizzie Armitstead

Wendy Houvenaghel

Dani King

Joanna Rowsell

Laura Trott

Born in Scotland, Simon moved to London aged seven and now lives in the Oxfordshire Cotswolds with his miniature schnauzer, Elodie. He fell in love with cycling one Saturday morning in 1994 while living in Italy when Milan-San Remo went past his front door. A daily cycle commuter in London back before riding to work started to boom, he's been news editor at road.cc since 2009. Handily for work, he speaks French and Italian. He doesn't get to ride his Colnago as often as he'd like, and freely admits he's much more adept at cooking than fettling with bikes.