Wiggins and Romero return to track for Manchester World Cup Classics

Team GB targeting Olympic qualification points ahead of next month's World Championships

by Simon_MacMichael   February 1, 2011  

Team GB women's team pursuit at Euro Trackls 2010 (picture credit LangTeam).jpg

Olympic champions Bradley Wiggins and Rebecca Romero are set to return to the track in British colours after being named in a strong squad of 27 riders for the final round of this season’s UCI Track Cycling World Cup Classics, which takes places from 18-20 February at the Manchester Velodrome.

Other Olympic gold medal winners lining up for Great Britain at the event include Sir Chris Hoy, Victoria Pendleton and Jason Queally. Also in the squad are Sarah Storey, who has two Paralympic cycling golds but is looking to also compete in the Olympic Games in London, and Shanaze Reade, the current World BMX Champion and, with Pendleton, past World Champion at the team sprint, Shanaze Reade.

British Cycling’s Performance Manager Shane Sutton said: “We have selected the strongest squad possible for the final round of the World Cup season and we are looking to score as many qualification points as possible before we go to the World Championships next month.

“The Academy riders did us all proud out in Beijing and we’re all happy with how we are performing at this stage in the Olympic cycle. The Manchester World Cup is an event that the riders really enjoy and the support of a sell-out home crowd is always appreciated.”

The event takes place a month before the World Championships at Apeldoorn in Holland, with action broadcast on the BBC website and via the red button, as well as live on BBC2 from 1.30pm on Sunday 20 February.


Men's Sprint: Matt Crampton, Ross Edgar, Sir Chris Hoy, Jason Kenny.

Men's Endurance: Steven Burke, Ed Clancy, Sam Harrison, Peter Kennaugh, Jason Queally, Luke Rowe, Ben Swift, Andrew Tennant, Geraint Thomas, Bradley Wiggins.

Women's Sprint: Becky James, Victoria Pendleton, Shanaze Reade and Jess Varnish.

Women's Endurance: Lizzie Armitstead, Katie Colclough, Claire Galloway, Wendy Houvenaghel, Dani King, Rebecca Romero, Joanna Rowsell, Sarah Storey and Laura Trott.

1 user comments

Oldest firstNewest firstBest rated

Looking forward to it!

djcritchley's picture

posted by djcritchley [154 posts]
1st February 2011 - 12:07