Tour of Britain Stage 4

Norwegian rider Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Columbia) claimed Stage 4 of the Tour of Britain today coming from behind on the uphill finish to edge out Giairo Ermeti on the line. Danilo di Lucca (LPR Brakes) finished third. Yesterday's stage winner, and the overall leader going into today, Emilien Berges surrendered his overall lead to Agritubel team-mate Geoffroy Lequarte following a puncture. It was a good day for British rider's with Steve Cummings seventh place stage finish enough to move him up to second overall, another Brit, Dean Downing (Rapha-Condor) finished a place ahead in sixth. In the other competitions Roger Hammond (Columbia) continues to lead the points race and although Kristian House relinquished his lead in the King of the Mountains competition it was to Great Britain rider, Ben Swift who goes into his home town stage (the 168Km run from Hull to Dalby Forest) tomorrow in the polka dot jersey. Tour of Britain stage four results: 1 Edval Boasson Hagen (Norway) Team Columbia 3hrs 36 mins 11secs 2 Giairo Ermeti (Ita) LPR Brakes, at same time 3 Danilo di Luca (Ita) LPR Brakes, at 4secs 4 Julian Dean (NZ) Garmin, at same time 5 Kristof Goddaert (Bel) Topsport, at same time 6 Dean Downing (GB) Rapha-Condor, at 7 secs 7 Steve Cummings (GB) Barloworld, at same time 8 Daniel Lloyd (GB) An Post, at 9 secs 9 Geoffroy Lequarte (Fra) Agritubel, at same time 10 Matthew Goss (Aus) Team CSC-Saxo Bank, at same time Selected others: 11 Roger Hammond (GB) Team Columbia, at 12secs 23 Ian Stannard (GB) Great Britain, at same time 30 Jonny Bellis (GB) Team CSC-Saxo Bank, at same time 31 Ben Swift (GB) Great Britain, at 21secs 32 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) LPR Brakes, at same time 48 Rob Hayles (GB) Great Britain, at 1min 8secs 55 Emilien Berges (Fra) Agritubel, at 1min 13secs 65 David Millar (GB) Garmin, at 1min 32secs 68 Bradley Wiggins (GB) Team Columbia, at 1min 42secs 76 Geraint Thomas (GB) Barloworld, at 2mins 15secs General classification (after four stages): 1 Geoffroy Lequarte (Fra) Agritubel 13hrs 43mins 6secs 2 Steve Cummings (GB) Barloworld, at 6secs 3 Gabriele Bosisio (Ita) LPR Brakes, at 10secs 4 Ian Stannard (GB) Great Britain, at 11 secs 5 Daniel Fleeman (GB) An Post, at 13secs 6 Benny de Schrooder (Bel) An Post, at 14secs 7 Daniel Martin (Ire) Garmin, at same time 8 Frederik Veuchelen (Bel) Topsport, at 23secs 9 Emilien Berges (Fra) Agritubel, at 35secs 10 Giairo Ermeti (Ita) LPR Brakes, at 1min 3secs Selected others: 12 Roger Hammond (GB) Team Columbia, at 1min 40secs 15 Jonny Bellis(GB) Team CSC-Saxo, at 1min 49secs 38 Ben Swift (GB) Great Britain, at 12mins 51secs 48 Rob Hayles(GB) Great Britain, at 13 mins 34secs 62 David Millar (GB) Garmin, at 14mins 6secs 71 Geraint Thomas (GB) Barloworld, at 14mins 49secs 75 Bradley Wiggins (GB) Team Columbia, at 15mins 2secs

Plucked from the obscurity of his London commute back in the mid-Nineties to live in Bath and edit bike mags our man made the jump to the interweb back in 2006 as launch editor of a large cycling website somewhat confusingly named after a piece of navigational equipment. He came up with the idea for road.cc mainly to avoid being told what to do… Oh dear, issues there then. Tony tries to ride his bike every day and if he doesn't he gets grumpy, he likes carbon, but owns steel, and wants titanium. When not on his bike or eating cake Tony spends his time looking for new ways to annoy the road.cc team. He's remarkably good at it.