Downing take sprint stage win in morning and Millar wins time trial in the afternoon

British riders David Millar (Garmin Transitions) and Russell Downing (Sky) both enjoyed success on the final day of the Criterium International yesterday in Corsica, with Millar winning the time trial and Downing taking the final sprint stage, the overall win went to the French rider Pierrick Fedrigo (Bbox Bouygues Telecom) . The two biggest stars in the field however failed to shine with Alberto Contador finishing 15th overall and Lance Armstrong 47th over five minutes down on Fedrigo.

Both British riders can take enormous satisfaction from their performances in Corsica, as Fedrigo pointed out afterwards this was the strongest field for a stage race so far this season. For Downing who's first season this is racing in such illustrious company stepping up a level and winning should be a major confidence booster – although he proved with his display in last year's Tour of Ireland that he can compete and beat the best.

Millar's win in the time trial moved him up to finish in fifth place overall and comes on the back of a good performance at Paris Nice where he finished 13th. Millar beat Alberto Contador, the pre-race favourite by two seconds in the time trial.

For the 31 year-old Fedrigo, blessed with one of road cycling's best nicknames “The nose of Marmande” this win if it doesn't eclipse the best win of his – Stage 14 of the 2006 Tour de France, it's certainly right up there with it.

Fedrigo laid the foundation for his overall success by winning Saturday's 175.5Km stage from Porto Vecchio in to the Corsican mountains, built on it with third place behind Downing in yesterday's 75Km dash around Porto Vecchio, and sealed the win with 13th place finish in the final 7.7Km time trial 17 seconds behind Millar.

Top 10 Final Standing 2010 Criterium International

1) Pierrick Fédrigo       (BboxBouygues)      (7:11:59) 

2) Michael Rogers         (HTCColumbia)           (+14) 

3) Tiago Machado          (RadioShack)            (+15) 

4) Samuel Sánchez         (Euskaltel)             (+19) 

5) David Millar           (Garmin)                (+19)

6) Cadel Evans            (BMC Racing Team)       (+22) 

7) Chris Horner           (RadioShack)            (+25) 

8) Maxime Monfort         (HTCColumbia)           (+26) 

9) Ben Hermans            (RadioShack)            (+35) 

10) Beñat Intxausti       (Euskaltel)             (+39)

Plucked from the obscurity of his London commute back in the mid-Nineties to live in Bath and edit bike mags our man made the jump to the interweb back in 2006 as launch editor of a large cycling website somewhat confusingly named after a piece of navigational equipment. He came up with the idea for road.cc mainly to avoid being told what to do… Oh dear, issues there then. Tony tries to ride his bike every day and if he doesn't he gets grumpy, he likes carbon, but owns steel, and wants titanium. When not on his bike or eating cake Tony spends his time looking for new ways to annoy the road.cc team. He's remarkably good at it.