Corley Cycles announce 2010 line-up

New signings for Milton Keynes-based outfit introduce an element of sibling rivalry

by Simon_MacMichael   December 18, 2009  

Corley Cycles.jpg

Team Corley Cycles has announced its line-up for 2010. As last year, the Milton Keynes-based team, whose season will include racing in the Premier Calendar series, the Elite Criterium series and, subject to invitation, the Tour Series, will be riding Shimano-equipped Cervélo frames supplied by Madison Cycles.

New signings include Steven Higgins, formerly of JE James RT and a past fourth-place finisher in the Elite Crit series, who joins his brother Matt on the team, who said: “I’m sure there’ll be some brotherly rivalry; it’ll provide me with extra incentive to be in the right position at the line.”

Joining him will be Jamie Newall, current South-East Cyclo-Cross Champion, and Ashley Cox, who shot up the rankings from fourth to first category rider this season. A former motocross rider, Cox took up cycling after a series of knee problems forced him to give up that sport. The final signing is Michael Smith, winner of the Bec Hill Climb this year and fourth in the National Hill Climb Championship.

Team leader Simon Gaywood, a past winner of the Elite Crit series and the winner of the Archer Grand Prix last season, said: “I’m very excited about the guys we’ve signed for next year and hopefully we can improve on our successes of 2009. Steven and Jamie will add experience to the squad and will be vital during the crits. Whereas Ashley and Mike are new talents who I’ll be encouraging to show everyone what they’re capable of.”

During 2010, the team will continue to seek to raise funds for the Willen Hospice. This season, placings and points gained by the team’s riders translated into a £7,000 boost for the charity.

The full team roster for 2010 is:

Simon Gaywood
Roy Chamberlain
Matthew Higgins
Richard Cartland
Chris McNamara
Nick Jones
Steven Higgins
Jamie Newall
Ashley Cox
Michael Smith