Last chance to nominate candidates for British Cycling Hall of Fame

Nominations close this Friday, with 250 names put forward for 50 places

by Simon_MacMichael   November 25, 2009  

British Cycling Hall of Fame.jpg

British Cycling President Brian Cookson says that “nominations have been flooding in” for the initial 50 inductees to its new Hall of Fame, with more than 250 candidates so far put forward by members of the public.

The scale of the response means that the panel tasked with coming up with the first 50 members of the Hall of Fame, which seeks to recognise people for the contribution they have made to cycling in this country, may face some difficult decisions when it meets in Manchester next week.

Besides Cookson, the panel comprises British Cycling Executive Director Peter King, World and Olympic Champion Victoria Pendleton, Guardian Cycling Correspondent William Fotheringham, BBC commentator Hugh Porter and Cycling Weekly Editor Robert Garbutt.

British Cycling said that those nominated included volunteers and coaches as well as leading athletes, and said that ‘The panel will recognise those who have made the biggest contribution to the sport, whether it is through a sporting achievement, a significant personal contribution or their role in progressing the sport to a new level.”

If you haven’t made a nomination yet, now is your last chance to do so. Nominations close this Friday 27 December, and can be made by emailing

Cookson said: “We are delighted that the Hall of Fame has captured the imagination of the British cycling community. Cycling is blessed with so many talented, committed and remarkable people, many of whom deserve a place in the Hall of Fame, so there’s no doubt a lively debate will ensue within our panel next week.”

3 user comments

Oldest firstNewest firstBest rated

With that panel there is no point nominating George Berwick, Steve Abrahams, Mark Rigby or any of the other people I find inspirational. All the panel are all from a racing background.

George had the national 24 hour title and the UK 24 record back in the 70s but is still riding. Steve Abrahams is the AUK all time points record holder. More importantly he is tremendously encouraging to new long distance riders. Mark Rigby has organised the "Bryan Chapman Memorial" 600km audax for the last 10 years. It's a fabulous event and this marvelousness is mostly due to his efforts.

vorsprung's picture

posted by vorsprung [298 posts]
26th November 2009 - 12:52

1 Like

you should nominate them anyway. if you don't buy a ticket and all that

purplecup's picture

posted by purplecup [233 posts]
26th November 2009 - 13:41


I think it's a positive that British Cycling have thrown nominations open to the public - a lot of times these things are decided by a committee behind closed doors, with no-one else having a say.

By inviting the public to contribute, I imagine they were hoping to get an idea of the unsung heroes that should be honoured, as well as the usual suspects.

Simon_MacMichael's picture

posted by Simon_MacMichael [9507 posts]
26th November 2009 - 13:57