Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Setup Help

So I'm new to road riding having spent the last 10 years riding DH and now more enduro type riding.

Story is that I had been running quite a bit, but was suffering from pain in my knees consistently. Never had any trouble on the mountain bike, so thought a road bike was a good place to go for more consistent fitness work. Had been looking at the usual £300-600 starter bikes and eventually got a killer deal on a 2013 Trek 1.2 off gumtree which was actually brand new.
I'm 5ft11 and would probably have naturally felt a bit more comfortable on a 56, but the deal on the bike was incredible and although it was a 58 I knew 56-58 was my recommended range and I thought that if it didn't work out I could always sell for what I bought it for.

Have had the bike for about a month now riding several times a week and have done rides from 15-30miles generally feeling good in my legs but have recently been suffering from a lot of pain in the back of my right knee/lowest point of the Hamstring. (Just spotted a thread on RCUK about Biceps Femoris which looks pretty much where I'm feeling it.) Not sure if I've just pulled something (lack of warmup, and then rode again probably without enough rest/recovery) or if its something from bad setup.

So setup and cleat position then -
I'm off for a proper setup next week to see if I'm in the right place. Sorry for the cack pictures - but just wondering if any of you setup masters think my positioning looks about right?
I think seat height is about right as far as I can tell, and the plumb-line tells me that I'm about right in terms of fore/aft.

Any thoughts?
Help would be great!

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

6 comments

Al'76 | 10 years ago
0 likes