Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

right tyre pressure

Hi I've been riding for about 2 years now and always have my tyre pressure at 105psi.should I have more in there

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

19 comments

700c | 10 years ago
0 likes

Calculator is all well and good if you have decent tyres which will handle , for example, 140 psi on the rear, but when that exceeds the manufacturers recommendation, or even that specified for the rim, it's probably not a good idea

Handmade tubular type with high thread count will work, but not much else

And no, I don't think going up to a bulging 25 or 28 is what I want to do when I've spent loads on an aero wheelset!

Still,, seems to justify my high pressures for the rear, though says my front needs to be reduced

paulfg42 | 10 years ago
0 likes

I'm bemused by the science and the calculator.  2

I currently inflate both tyres to 90. What am I doing wrong?

Shanefutcher | 10 years ago
0 likes

It says that you should change the tyres.i slid off my bike with giant p-slr tyres and think they're awful in wet conditions

Sensible replied to Shanefutcher | 10 years ago
0 likes
Shanefutcher wrote:

It says that you should change the tyres.i slid off my bike with giant p-slr tyres and think they're awful in wet conditions

What is it that says I should change my tyres?

I have only done 800 miles on them and they are almost worn down to the indicator, so will change them in the next few months anyway. Going to get Conti GP 4000S, having seen good reviews.

I have just worked out what my pressures should be using the 15% drop chart. It saysvI should have my front at 90 and my rear at 140. Considering tge max is 120 I wont be going to 140.

Sensible | 10 years ago
0 likes