Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

FSA Vero upgrade

Hi,

I'm new to cycling and recently bought a cannondale synapse 2300 for commuting to work. I've had a few issues with the gears needing adjusting and had it back to the shop I bought it from a few times. I assumed this was part of the bedding in process.

Last weekend i needed to have the gears looked at but couldn't get to the shop I bought it at. Taking it to a different shop the technician said the issue was with my bottom bracket and crankset...

My bike has an FSA vero crank with an FSA bottom bracket. The rest of the gearing is shimano 2300. The technician said the bottom bracket was quite wide, the chain was straight it the highest gear, he said this would mean the chain would be at a high angle in many gears and would rub on the derailleur. He also said the fsa crank was fairly low quality and may need replacing as the teeth aren't great and this makes shifting harder.He tried to shape the teeth by filing the ends of them.

Does anyone have any advice on this, i have been getting gear jumping issues in low 1st and 2nd gears. Should I replace the bracket or just the crankset (he suggested Sora but that I should see how I go with the adjustments he made). Don't want to throw cash at replacing components that won't be much different.

Apologies for the essay of a post!

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

9 comments

joeegg | 10 years ago
0 likes

I've got a Vero chainset on my hack bike mated to Shimano components and have never had a problem in the 4 years its been in use.
Sounds like your drivetrain just needs setting up properly.As someone mentioned you will get chain rub if the chain becomes crossed.

Simon E | 10 years ago
0 likes