Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Hello from a newbie.....and some advice needed please

My first post, although I have been lurking here for a while now.

I've been commuting on my Cannondale Bad Boy for a couple of years now (fairweather only) around 8 miles down
railway walks and canal towpaths, but have recently started getting out on the back roads for 20/30 mile rides
and loving it. However, on these rides I do suffer from wrist/hand pain and numbness even stretching up my forearms to my elbows,
which is spoling the fun for me. Not much fun being continually past by much less fitter looking riders on their
shiny new road bikes either. I realise the alu frame and forks coupled with the flat bars don't help, so I'm thinking of getting a road bike.

I've been to my lbs who recommended a Giant Defy 3 as a good starter, but I'm worried about buying one only
to find I have the same problems. I've also been looking at buying an old steel frame bike just to try in the hope it will be a bit
kinder but still be more suited to roads than my Bad Boy. Maybe something like this....

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/mens-gents-raleigh-vintage-road-racing-bike-/4...

Any advice appreciated..and apologies for such a long winded first post!

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

15 comments

andy753 | 10 years ago
0 likes

In the short term - while you decide on a new bike - try changing the handlebar grips to ones with more cushioning. Are you wearing gloves? Try investing in some gel gloves. Also, how much pressure do you have in your front wheel? 50psi should be your maximum I would think. Lastly, try rotating the bars slightly - rise bars can sometimes put your hands in strange positions - try loosening off the brake levers and shifters and experiment with different angles. Good luck!

goldtop replied to andy753 | 10 years ago
0 likes
andy753 wrote: