Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

New to cycling

Hi, Im new to this road biking thing... I recently bought a 2003 Trek 1200 from a family member as a starter bike. The frame is a little large for me as its a 56cm one and im only 5ft 6 so stretching a little and killing me when cycling distances. Im not sure whether its worth buying a new bike or just getting hold of a smaller frame. The Trek has the following set up:

Group Set: Shimano Tiagra -
Brakes: Flight deck Shifters
Wheels: Front - Mavic Cosmic Elite
Back - Mavic CXP30
Headset: FSA

I know when im looking the Tiagra set is on the bikes that are £700 plus.....

Is is worth just getting hold of a smaller frame and moving the stuff across??

Cheers Guys any help is appreciated.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

17 comments

Steakie75 | 10 years ago
0 likes

Thanks for everything on this...gonna put the trek on ebay.....looking at the specialized Allez or maybe the secteur triple as its on at a decent price......need to go try them out but under 600 and worth a go..

Not thought about the ride to work scheme, thanks for that as I may even look at increasing the budget now..

Cheers for the advise regarding frame/wheels/gearing it looks like sound advise and I will use it when choosing a new bike.

Only got the Trek as family member was selling it cheap and thought it was a good way to get into cycling...never even gave the size a thought until started riding it....  1 not as easy as I thought....!  7

Joselito | 10 years ago
0 likes

+1 with Simon E.
Sell the 56" bike, I'm your size-ish and 56" is too big.

If you want start getting out riding regularly and soon, I would recommend you buy new.