Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

New to cycling

Hi guys, I'm relatively new to cycling as I never learnt as a kid due to knee problems, any advice on training or how to build up my legs and endurance?

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

13 comments

Ashleyhoaken | 10 years ago
0 likes

Hi. Gray Booker

Welcome to the world of cycling. On any type of cycling you need to start gradle by working from a foundation, You cannot build a wall without a foundation or it will claps, start from a basic point I do not know your fitness levels, so I will start at basics.

1.Find the right bike shop: The costumer – businesses relationship in cycling is very import, a good mechanic will explain about what the bike dose and fix’s it for you.

2.Fined an accredited cycling coach with lots of good feedback – these people can be a god send , the best coaching relationships are the ones where the coach can almost tell when a rider is tired, needs to be pushed or is keeping right on track with the goals they have in mind.

3.Find a cycling club-so about mid-march find club near you and contact the club secretary to get an idea of where the club's focus lies and how much this suits your aspirations. there is a huge amount of clubs that race and will drop you on the rides if you are not up to stand, so prepared to get dropped and abused, if you do not have the right bike or kit ( Do not by club kit or membership until you are settled in and feel welcome) . I have recently been abused in a cycling club for not riding with them , And not helping the club one is medical and the other is time .

This Is a tip from my coach for training
http://www.beginnertriathlete.com/cms/article-detail.asp?articleid=1671

sm | 10 years ago
0 likes