Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Mavic wheel upgrade - entry level bike

I'm a bit of noob (both to the forum and to road cycling) so go easy on me.

I ride a 2010 Giant Defy 3 as my general road, also now my part time commuting bike and am doing my first sportive next month.

I'm thinking about upgrading my wheelset. Am I going to experience much difference at all over my stock Giant wheels by upgrading to Mavic Askiums? Or if I can scrape the money together is it worth me going for something like the Ksyriums? Obviously I'd notice more with the more expensive Ksyriums but money is very tight, so will I notice a positive difference with Askiums or not really?

Thanks

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

10 comments

thelostboy | 10 years ago
0 likes

Thanks for all the advice and help guys, appreciate it. Will either put some money aside soon for an upgrade or might wait until end of the year and try and explain the n+1 theory to the missus again!

SevenHills replied to thelostboy | 10 years ago
0 likes
thelostboy wrote:

or might wait until end of the year and try and explain the n+1 theory to the missus again!

Best of luck with that one mate. I tried it and my missus just doesn't get it!

bigmel | 10 years ago
0 likes

"I wouldn't bother upgrading your Giant wheels unless you are going to go beyond the Aksiums as I don't think you will get enough out of it to warrant a change."

My mate also has the excellent Defy3 and the wheels are pretty good on it. Getting Aksiums is not enough of an advance over the original wheelset to justify you spending the money.

Save your £££ for the moment until you can buy a wheelset like the Ksyrium or equivalent.
THEN you WILL notice the improvement.

Sniffer | 10 years ago
0 likes