Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Mont Ventoux next weekend

Hi there,

I'm going to be in Bedoin next weekend and early next week on a business trip and as luck would have it I've got a conveniently placed hotel bang on le route de mont ventoux, approx 22km from the summit!

Seems rude not to take my bike and I have a few days free, so I'm going to do a bit of riding and obviously attempting Ventoux.

Firstly, anyone else around there fancing joining me? I'm a track sprinter so by nature I'm not going to be setting any endurance records - I'll be going up there at a super slow pace.

Secondly, this is my first time up there so has anyone got any good tips in terms of preparation (gear, weather conditions etc)?

Look forward to your replies.

Alex

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

12 comments

al10587 | 10 years ago
0 likes

Right then, first ride done today! I did the Route De MV, approx 21km. Took me 2 hours 10 mins, which considering I'm a track sprinter by trade I'm quite impressed with!

My bike is a Lemond Aple Dhuez with a 52/39 chainset and 12-27 cassette. Honestly, I found it to be a bit overgeared, didnt get me to a reasonable cadence on the steep bits by any means so I was having to stand and stomp way too much. I would definetly recommend a compact chainset and a 28t cog would have been nice too. I met a few cyclists on the way up and they were mostly riding triples if not compacts, so this would seem the way to go. One bloke had stuck his mountain bike gears on there and he was practically strolling up there, he could have been twirling a cane he made it look that easy!