Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Wheels, wheels, wheels

Hello everyone, sorry to ask 'one of those' questions but I need advice on a new wheelset.

The stock wheels that came with the bike have about had it and so i thought that with the summer round the corner I'll save up for 2-3 months for a new set. (i'm a student, yes, it will take that long to save).

I've set myself a budget of £300 ish, I know campy and Mavic offer some for about 320 so i could be swayed. They need to be hard wearing as the roads around me aren't exactly svelte.

At the minute the Fulcrum Racing 5s are most appealing but it looks to be a bit of a minefield.

Cheers in advance.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

28 comments

Tjuice | 11 years ago
0 likes

Good for you going for the Racing 5s. Great wheelset. Had a pair on my BMC until I replaced them with some PX carbon tubs. The Racing 5s are now on the winter training bike and are still as true as the day they came out of the shop.

OllieD | 11 years ago
0 likes

Thanks so much for all the advice guys, i had another look at my finances, which didn't take long, and saw that unless i wait until some point in august there'd be no way i could afford to put that by. SO i have bought and fitted a set of Fulcrum Racing 5s, put about 45 miles into them earlier and they're great! Considering how impressed i am with them i'm a bit depressed i couoldnt have afforded the Campys or some bespoke wheels, they muct be incredible.

Doesnt take much to impress me anyway.

Cheers again!

700c | 11 years ago
0 likes