Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

New tyre time, please help...

Hello

So as we're heading into Spring (no really), I need some new tyres for the year. Light, fast-rolling and durable.
For general riding. Usually ride 23mm, and happy with that.

Recommendations please  1

Not too fussed about budget, within reason  3

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

26 comments

pughster49 | 11 years ago
0 likes

Normally always GP4000 rear but go cheaper for the front gatorskin etc, rear tyre has to be the best money can buy. Front sees no where near as much ware. Over time this saves a fair amount.

700c | 11 years ago
0 likes

Good choice Karlos!  3

colinth | 11 years ago
0 likes

Vredestein Fortezza Tricomp Slick - lighter than GP4000, grippier in all conditions and suprisingly durable. I've been using them for 2 years and have had 1 puncture.

_Karlos_ | 11 years ago
0 likes

I went for the Michelin Pro 4s due to price.

Only done one ride with them (in the dry), but they seem to roll very quickly and cornering was an improvement (on the cheapo bonty tyres that came with my Madone).

We shall see re durability  39

Thanks all.

velo pixie | 11 years ago
0 likes

Thought about Conti GP 4 Seasons?

Probably fast enough all year round for most average riders and very durable/puncture resistant. Easily capable of being an excellent all year round choice.

Have got them in 23c and 25c on bikes at the moment, wouldn't bother with 25c as it is physically not much larger than a 23c GP4 Season.

However for what its worth I've also got GP400S on a set of wheels as well  3

Tour Le Tour | 11 years ago
0 likes