Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Canyon or Ribble?

I'm a newbie to the forum but looking for a bit of advice. I have about £1700 to spend on a new bike and have my eye on either a Ribble R872 or a Canyon CF 8.0. The canyon has a slightly higher groupset but unsure about ordering online with regards to sizing. The Ribble place is only an hours drive. Basic specs:

Ribble R872 (Full carbon)
Campagnolo Centaur carbon groupset
Mavic ksyrium elite wheels

Canyon CF 8.0 (Full carbon)
Campagnolo Athena 11spd groupset
Mavic ksyrium elite wheels

Think the Ribble is about £50 cheaper and looks pretty stealthy too, but still really like the canyon and think its lighter too. All ideas welcome. Ideally want as much for money as possible.

Cheers

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

18 comments

ollie252 | 11 years ago
0 likes

Hi all, i bought a Canyon SLX last year and absolutely love it. Sizing was a concern but i found this website was great for calculating my size. http://www.competitivecyclist.com/za/CCY?PAGE=FIT_CALCULATOR_INTRO

This came up with a 54 frame which fits is perfectly. Canyons fit calculator came up with a 52 which would have had too smaller top tube.

I like to help my LBS when i can but you can't beat canyons value for money.

Dutch25 | 11 years ago
0 likes

Cheers for the help again. I've measured up my current bike(wilier) and it pretty much fits the geometry of a 56 canyon. Will probably go and check out the ribble as its not that far away but the canyon still seems to be winning with customer service, spec, rideability and general value. Can't really ask for more than that.

koko56 | 11 years ago
0 likes

The canyon has a really good frame - really stiff and direct but is actually good with bumps. The bike feels firmer but less harsh than my Allez 2010.